Tesla to invest in battery materials production in Indonesia, announcement in coming months: minister

Malaysian launch of Tesla Model Y

Tesla plans to invest in the manufacture of materials for electric vehicle batteries in Indonesia, and the American electric vehicle maker is expected to make an announcement in the coming months, according to a Reuters report.

Indonesian coordinating minister of maritime and investment affairs, Luhut Pandjaitan said in an Instagram post that he led an Indonesian delegation that held a meeting with Tesla CEO Elon Musk in a recent trip to San Francisco, when Musk told the minister about the investment plan.

“He wants to invest in the manufacturing of materials for lithium batteries. The investment will be quite big. Let’s wait for Elon to come [to Indonesia] around the end of September or October this year,” the Indonesian senior minister said.

Last week, Indonesia announced that it would give automakers a further two years to qualify for EV incentives, following investment commitments by Neta and Mitsubishi, a separate Reuters report wrote.

Joko Widodo and Elon Musk, 2022

The relaxed investment rules state that automakers need to commit to producing at least 40% of their EV content in Indonesia by 2026, or two years later than the initial target. The 40% content threshold had been set to encourage local battery production, according to the report.

Indonesia has been courting Tesla to invest in the country since 2020, where initial talks of a potential investment surfaced in October that year. The republic revealed in February 2021 that it received a proposal from Tesla with a focus on EV battery manufacture, though plans for a battery factory in the country did not materialise.

More recently in February this year, Indonesian president Joko Widodo expressed confidence that Tesla would still invest in Indonesia, following reports prior in that month that the EV maker was close to a preliminary deal for the setting up of a production plant in the country.

With the official Malaysian launch of the Tesla Model Y last month came the EV maker’s formal announcement of its expansion plans into the Malaysian market, with core elements being the setting up of an office and Tesla Experience and service centres as well as the setting up of a Supercharger network, as outlined in the ministry of investment, trade and industry’s (MITi) BEV Global Leaders programme.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Peppa on Aug 15, 2023 at 7:36 pm

The minister himself is delusional. One time he literally says his country is doing fine without Tesla but also begging for Mas Elon to invest in the country. Much worst, Malaysia got the blame and hate by our lovely neighbour in the end. If Tesla did not intend to invest in any manufacturing-related in indonesia, shame on the whole country then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Goosdur on Aug 15, 2023 at 8:39 pm

Tesla battery factory – Indonesia

Tesla car ckd factory – Malaysia

Win win situation all happy, jgn gaduh gaduh ok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • :kookoo:
        Pakatan peeps went in full retard mode with their delusions. They will feel the pain in the coming years.

• tiktokkok on Aug 18, 2023 at 11:38 am

You must be the bird (brain) that dropped from someone’s cuckoo clock

• Fake News on Aug 16, 2023 at 8:28 am

So all that brouhaha from Anwar about tesla coming Malaysia and not Indonesia was fake news and Im not surprised since that comes from the master of fake news.

What are PH macais gonna say now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 34
      • It's no surprise that on Aug 16, 2023 at 12:38 pm

you have outdone yourself again in the fake news creative department.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Peppa on Aug 16, 2023 at 1:06 pm

What tf are you talking about? They are literally already operate in Malaysia. You can download the official Tesla app and Tesla Malaysia website is already available. Tesla is the one who bring the Model Y to Pavilion Kuala Lumpur and Setia Alam Convention Centre, not Malaysian distributor. Keep your stupidity to yourself and your bloodline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Unknown on Aug 16, 2023 at 6:15 pm

Eleh.. open sales office and already crowing to the world talking so big. Padahal Jokowi is bringing real manufacturing for Tesla FDI jobs to his country and yet remaining humble unlike our glamour seeking PM.

This is the difference of a leader that can perform and a useless leader who can only let loose his running dogs into the web.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Peppa on Aug 16, 2023 at 7:07 pm

If i remember correctly, Malaysia never once brags about Tesla began sales in here. Not even Anwar himself. Since we crowing to the world? If you are Malaysians but hate Malaysia so much, get the f out from here. The exit door is always open for ungrateful snowflakes like you. Idiot

• Don’t make me bring out the front page headlines of all mainstream newspapers and online media outlets the day after Anwar’s Zoom Meeting with Musk.

Reading all that hype you’d think it was legit the next best thing after sliced bread but no it was purposely orchestrated by his Comms Minister aka Banhammer Mentri aka Fahmi Fadzil to paint a rosy picture.

• Come on lah on Aug 18, 2023 at 11:48 am

It’s not much different from how the media had provided positive coverage on how the government dealt with COVID-19 pandemic during abah’s administration & tok mail’s administration.

• PN Cybertroopers Sdn Bhd on Aug 16, 2023 at 6:15 pm

If u want to lie also, at least be more reasonable.

• Nurul Izzah on Aug 15, 2023 at 8:07 pm

Anwar menang, investment mari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Angry Voters on Aug 16, 2023 at 2:02 pm

Is Anwar PM of Indonesia? No wonder the majority rejected him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • you are thinking of chickening out to this neighbouring country..

• Madani syok sendiri on Aug 15, 2023 at 8:10 pm

There is no EV manufacturers willing to invest and open factory in Malaysia due to our useless government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
  • Ex Anwar Supporter on Aug 15, 2023 at 8:12 pm

Do you want to know why Thailand and Indonesia got so many EV investments? Because they don’t have PH and formula man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 34
    • 4GR-FSE on Aug 16, 2023 at 11:39 am

Indonesia say it is still in discussion, nothing confirmed pun, and they have been discussing for years. So far only the first Indonesia minister syok sendiri making his own statement.
      Where as in Msia, at least Tesla already bought a building in Cyberjaya as their HQ office. Although no manufacturing yet, but a step closer than where Indonesia is right now. Msia ESG is way ahead than Indonesia that gives us an advantage over them.

Interestingly Tesla announced that they will be moving to LFP slowly, and that might not give Indonesia much advantage with their nickel reserve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
      • PH Supporter on Aug 16, 2023 at 2:07 pm

Rich & influential people like Elon won’t be meeting face to face with Jokowi if nothing big is around the corner, and yet we have a PM that was trumpeting his socalled successful meeting Elon and the truth was just a Zoom Meeting that did not even last 1 hour.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • 4GR-FSE on Aug 16, 2023 at 3:19 pm

You have not seen a bigger picture why Tesla is still not willing to invest in Indonesia after many years of discussion. Indonesia’s foreign investment policies are not friendly and still a lot of favoritism that foreign investors are not comfortable with.
          Even Tesla is giving up of trying to get their nickel resources and switch to LFP instead for their standard range models. That shows how determine Tesla is not to rely on countries like Indonesia for their battery mineral resource.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Unknown on Aug 16, 2023 at 6:20 pm

You call what Tesla setting up a sales office here as investment? Go and look at what Indonesia & Tesla are cooking up. Real investment initiative takes time and Tesla’s interest there is far more genuine that what they have.

If sales are not good, they will just up and leave the next day, it is that easy. Not so if they have a manufacturing plant, which they are doing in there, so Tesla will have more vested interest as compared to here.

Don’t just bulat eat what Anwar is feeding you. Grow a brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
          • You prefer to be on Aug 17, 2023 at 2:01 am

spoon fed by MY.

• hyin21 on Aug 16, 2023 at 1:39 pm

In the case of Thailand, they basically do not have a govt since the last general election….hahaha

• EV Roadmap for Malaysia on Aug 16, 2023 at 2:56 pm

In May 2021, Thailand revealed its EV roadmap while Malaysia had yet to do so. Maybe PM8 needed more time but in August 2021, he had lost support & had to step down. PM9 took over but it was later found that he was more interested in building drag race circuits through out the country.

• Unknown on Aug 16, 2023 at 6:22 pm

And what is PMX interest? Oh wait, he is fighting for his survival. No time to bother with Malaysian concerns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
        • vi.02xx23 on Aug 16, 2023 at 8:15 pm

Is that the only thing you know? Grow a brain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • fight for survival on Aug 17, 2023 at 1:57 am

the same thing happened to pm8 in 2021.

• Lets See on Aug 17, 2023 at 5:55 pm

PM8 had to fight a global pandemic the world has never seen before. What does PMX has to fight? Oh wait, his own principals, promises, speeches, and hopes that people put onto him. Basically he is fighting himself.

• Did u forget on Aug 17, 2023 at 10:00 pm

PM8 had help from Dr. Noor Hisham & KJ in the fight against COVID-19 pandemic. PM10 has to fight disinformation from the likes of you.

• PHBN Korup kalah teruk PRN on Aug 15, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Well done to our neighbour, Indonesia. It seems like our politicians can learn something from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
    • 4GR-FSE on Aug 16, 2023 at 3:12 pm

Has Tesla confirm to setup in Indonesia already, or just the Indonesia side syok sendiri announce themselves? Not forgetting Indonesia has been issuing multiple statement about Tesla’s investment for last few years but nothing happened.
      Yet in Malaysia, only one online 30 minutes call with PMX already enough for Tesla to setup a HQ here and providing Starlink access. Bapa Jokowi met Musk face to face while PMX just met Musk for the first time online, so what else we have to learn from our neighboring country?
      Malaysia has a stronger ESG policy than Indonesia which makes use in a better position to attract foreign investor , and that was even mentioned by international media. So who should learn from who?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • PN Cybertroopers Sdn Bhd on Aug 16, 2023 at 6:17 pm

Indonesian government is liberal/secular. tak blh sokong la….

• Ben Yap on Aug 16, 2023 at 8:24 am

when your company is successful and you are one of the richest in the world, everyone comes to you. if you are no one, no one cares about you.

• Nothing much Elon Musk can do. He has eaten their Kopiko. Its time to payback.

• pika-you on Aug 16, 2023 at 10:43 am

good job, if some Green guy took over tesla withdraw all investments instead >.<

• ilon mouse on Aug 17, 2023 at 3:37 am

Yeah, since pmx met elon via…… Zoom? Hahaha. So malaysia is only target market not even considered a prime investment in manufacturing and only selling and safrol is syok sendiri also. While indonesia at least meeting face to face continuously with some follow up meetings. Whats with those comments bragging tesla already here, yeah tesla also in thailand too, it is okay to give you some “meeting” then i will sell my products to your country. Lets accept the bitter pills that tesla intends only in selling here, dont be another naive msian? swallow your pride hahaha

• Peppa on Aug 17, 2023 at 12:08 pm

You sound very uneducated. Impose your outdated kampung mindset elsewhere sweetie

• Lets See on Aug 17, 2023 at 5:52 pm

At least kampung mindset have some brains. You PH fellas have no brains and just fill what Anwar shits into that empty skull.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • And likewise, on Aug 17, 2023 at 8:41 pm

abah also defecates into the empty skulls of PN fellas.

• Awa Buwaro on Aug 19, 2023 at 2:59 am

Nice

• Haha