Wee Ka Siong says GST should be reintroduced in Malaysia, claims businesses dodging taxes with SST

MCA president and ex-transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong has called for the goods and services tax (GST) to be reintroduced, reports The Star. We’ve covered the impact of GST on the automotive industry and car prices in the past, which you should check out to better understand the mechanics of both taxation systems.

“We cannot delay the taxation system that will benefit us in the long run. We have the same opinion as other chambers of commerce that we should bring back the GST,” he said. Wee added that the reintroduction of the GST could be done along with several improvements such as the introduction of an exemption list, zero-rated supply and giving financial aid to the poor with increased government revenue.

“In the past, it was said that the 6% rate was too high. But bear in mind, it can always be reduced to 4% and increased gradually after a certain period of time. Also, have proper planning so that industry people can be better prepared,” Wee said after chairing the Institute of Strategic Analysis and Policy Research (INSAP) 2024 National Budget Roundtable Discussion.

One complaint of the GST when it was implemented during the previous Barisan Nasional government was refund delays, which Wee said should have an improved mechanism. “Refunds are very important so that the cash flow of businesses will not be affected,” he said.

Wee also acknowledged the GST was criticised by the Pakatan Harapan government, but said it was time for everyone to move on from that episode. “If you don’t like the name GST, then change it to any name you want. To me, this is a better way,” said Wee.

The GST replaced the sales and service tax (SST) in April 2015, but was then scrapped in favour of bringing back SST in September 2018 when the Pakatan Harapan government took over the reins. According to Wee, many businesses were dodging taxes under the present SST system, resulting in reduced revenue for the government.

“For the GST, there is nowhere you can run,” he said. “Throughout the world, 174 nations have already implemented the GST. So, we have to make a bold decision and forget about the past and move on,” Wee added. He also said the GST should be brought back next year along with the implementation of an electronic invoicing system (e-invoicing).

Earlier in March this year, prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim reiterated that Malaysia will not reinstate the GST or any other broad-based consumption tax, at least not in the near future. According to Anwar, the country was simply not ready for the reintroduction of GST.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Anonymous 6769 on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:02 pm

WKS .. you are in the Govt from 2020 to 2022, why dont you voice out during that time !!! You drop your balls during that time or sleeping ? Talk so much now a days proof you are sleeping when you are in Govt from 2020 to 2022.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • awaKL on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:31 pm

Honestly the only thing we remember him about is how suck he is at his transport job and then try to shove the drink driving penalty thinking he has done well to his masters only for Police to inform Drink Driving is the lowest cause of fatal accidents here over the last 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Dah Menang Semua on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:47 pm

Problems previously not with the GST system.

It was the abuse of power and channelled quick money to cover the huge debts digged up by 1MDB. People gotten their refunds only after 2018 (MoF-LGE cleansed the shit).

I support the reintroduction of GST with a lower rate (i.e. 3%-4%) because that will help country broaden the tax comprehensively.

Spend more. Pay more. Baru Fair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
      • Start Gst 3%... on Sep 07, 2023 at 8:44 pm

I also think 3% gst for a start, and review after 4yrs, by slowly increase 1%. Even if only 3% gst, i believe gment can get more tax compare to sst, since it fairly tax almost everything.

• Ghani on Sep 08, 2023 at 10:45 am

Easy to propose GST back, if PH Gomen restarts this the rakyat will belip what they said last time and vote them out next GE. If they don’t bring back GST, they will soon run out of money in vain trying to fulfill their fantastic GE15 promises which are eating them.

Everything is going according to plan.

• Lolwhut? on Sep 08, 2023 at 10:39 am

LOL previously we had covid during 2020-2022 and everyone was suffering or did you forget that? Which hole did you creep out from?

• Tax Runner on Sep 08, 2023 at 4:36 pm

All these people triggered everytime GST comes up….

In the end we realize why when they complain about slow refund.

Bro, you know very well your refund didn’t go through because you tried to run tax.

Stop being a hypocrite thinking you’re a saint simply supporting a government that claims they are a saint, in the end they are nothing but people who slept with every party in Malaysia before.

• Kea Was on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:03 pm

Glad you realised the previous government where you are part off purposely delay the refund and knowingly move it around your own department due to the 1MDB issue. Bravo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • GST was actually good. It help lower car prices. But thanks to PH fake news campaign they have brainwash the rakyat to hate GST and now we cannot go back anymore to reimplement it again. This is what happens when their fake news has bit their arses.

• Bro your delusion has lead your mind … i wish u and your family well abd hopefully one day u can think without hate and the lessons you teach yoyr younger generations will not affect their future… because if they grow up like you i really pity them….
      Your younger generations will go through hell because of your hypocrisy, your hypocrisy has affected the economy perpetually, they will not know why, they will continue hate and they will continue to tell their generations the same thing…
      Imagine 3 generations, what will happen to your ancestral name? Perhaps one day in your tomb, youll ponder what 1mDB really happened.

On that day, DAP wouldnt even know what’s your family name neither could they be bothered if your family lives in eternal hate and misery. All they care is to be in power, and they can sleep with UMNO but not you.

Sing all you want about DAP, but dont forget how it will cost you and your family.

• PHBN Korup on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:11 pm

Nothing is impossible under this corrupt government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
    • Sotong Unity on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:53 pm

Muhyiddin era busy skipping parliament
      What also no do act Santa Claus only
      Racked up debts from 1.0T to 1.5T
      Terima kasih banyak PN!!!
      Minyak RM1.20 pon x bg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Janji dicapati on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:12 pm

Refer my name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
    • No capati at PT on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:38 pm

Refer Restoran Jai Hind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Sep 08, 2023 at 10:46 am

Time to kick PH out of the restoran

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
        • No capati at PT on Sep 08, 2023 at 11:55 am

After reading your comment, the Restoran Jai Hind boss said that he doesn’t care whether the paying customers who eat at his premises are supporters of whatever political parties, but if you attempt to kick any of his customers out his restaurant, he & his men will shove your manifesto down your throat & kick your @$$ out into the street.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • ROTI CANAI on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:34 pm

SAY TAKNAK TO GST AND SST. SAY YES TO CATCHING ALL THE TAX DODGERS (UR DATUKS AND TAN SRIS).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • All of these datos & tan sris that supported PH which had made them come into power even possible. You think PH will harm their *ahem sponsors* rice bowls?

• GST for sure collect more Tax on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:56 pm

Final Price will increase significantly

• EV Car Mafia on Sep 07, 2023 at 3:37 pm

provided they slash the gst starting with 3% and progressively increasing every 3 years

• Sohai on Sep 07, 2023 at 2:57 pm

This Wee wee is really out of touch…
    Is he a trojan horse, only not the stealthy type?
    You are in the government, why can’t you have those dialogs with your fellow collegues than to air it out in public?
    You will talk to your collegues if you are sincere in implementing something good for the rakyat. Is more effective that way.
    But airing out in public is really just showing you are trying to gain political mileage.
    Please dont sound like an opposition. You belong to the unity government and the deputy MOF is from BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Kea Was on Sep 07, 2023 at 3:09 pm

Guess he is still very bitter didn’t able to form PN government last year after being the first to sign up but happily forgotten his terrible job at inflating all our ECRL, MRT & LRT3 projects while new MRT project also faced with breakdowns and he just Zzzz away without any solutions or better yet call the profession to solve it on behalf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • PHohai on Sep 08, 2023 at 5:12 pm

Another DAP PHOHAI triggered each time GST is mentioned….. deep down inside you know your party misled the public with all the rhetorics and misled information. I am very certain you are one of those which misled everyone including your mother and father that GST is a double-taxation method.
      I hope your parents are still around for you to apologize.

• Mr Tulan Liow on Sep 07, 2023 at 3:20 pm

Ahweekor..quietly signed SD to become greenie,until Zahidkor rounded up all those recalcitrant trojan horses,and joined Anwarkor.
    Wee Wee is the defacto opposition champion,while hanging by a thin thread in BN.
    Next,GE 16…he is joining Doominic to become full fledged Greenie.Perhaps ,he will dye his whitish hair GREEN,by GE16.
    For now,just ignore his tokok on GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • munkay on Sep 07, 2023 at 7:28 pm

ok, but before re-introduction of GST – first flat rate minister pays, YB YB allowances to 3,000.00 a month.

• Curious on Sep 07, 2023 at 7:36 pm

Tis fella wan to score point for himself n at the same time smack the current government. Maybe he can consider abolish mca n rename pnca.

• Curiously Stupid on Sep 08, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Only a 5 year old like you will be concerned about scoring points.
      Let go your ego and admit you were wrong about GST.
      Atleast that way your life can move on instead of being a DAP lap dog keybouard warrior.

• Embezzlement, fraud & bribe oso can escape. You think they cannot escape GST?