data.gov.my now offers JPJ registration data – check out how popular your car is by monthly registration

MAMPU’s data.gov.my portal now has JPJ registration data by make and model, monthly all the way from the year 2000 to the latest August 2023 data.

A few things to note – the data reflects the month and year that a particular car make and model was registered with JPJ. It doesn’t reflect the year of manufacture for the car, so parallel import units may change the data a little, as a car with a significantly different year of manufacture may be registered at JPJ at a totally different year.

The best selling national and non-national cars

For 2023 year to date, the Perodua Bezza seems to top the charts as the true ‘car king’ of Malaysia, beating its siblings the Myvi and Axia which come in second and third place respectively. Fourth place goes to the Proton Saga. Malaysia is truly a country where affordable sedans rule.

Kudos to the Honda City and the Toyota Hilux though, for being the sole two non-national models to break into the top 10 list. This means the Honda City is the best-selling non-national car.

As for the Perodua Myvi, JPJ registration data seems to indicate its popularity peaked in 2013 when over 98,000 units of the Myvi was registered with JPJ.

We checked our archives for what happened to the Myvi in 2013 but saw nothing particularly significant other than the fact that it was the year an ‘S-Series’ version of the Myvi was launched, but it was launched together with S-Series versions of the Viva and Alza.

Just for fun, we throwback to the year 2000 which is the oldest year available in the dataset. The top seller in 2000 was the Proton Wira, with second place going to the Perodua Kancil and third place to the Iswara.

Things weren’t so different back then – only two non-national models broke into the top 10 as well, with the Toyota Unser at 9th place and the Nissan Vanette at 10th place.

The site also tells us that Malaysians have put an extra 526,454 cars on the road this year, and 447,428 motorcycles.

Click here to access the dashboard and tell us what interesting things you have found!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sohai on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:14 pm

Mercedes beat out Nissan?? TC you better close shop lah.

• TADAS on Sep 13, 2023 at 5:53 pm

Vios with 5 stars ncap not in the list?

• Peppa on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:10 pm

I honestly think people would rather buy Veloz over Vios despite the different segment

• 5.5G users on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:39 pm

Same goes to 5stars aseancap Corolla Salib not in the list? Sum more claims its best selling SUV in bolehland?

• Huck Phin on Sep 13, 2023 at 6:52 pm

It’s not hard to identify why Myvi registration top out in 2013 if I’m not mistaken… cause in 2014 Perodua’s own Axia because a viable alternative.

Where as the Viva was a downgrade compared to the Myvi in every regard, it’s wasn’t so simple with the Axia which more like trade blows with each other.

• Wonder who is responsible for Perodua Iswara and Perodua Juara

• Can use the site to know how many Nauticas exist

• Peppa on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:08 pm

BMW fans gritting their teeth seeing Mercedes registration outnumbered BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Cause combination of new/recon/used cars, thats the reason why Mercedes sells higher than BMW. Take out recon/used cars sales but new car sales, sales will be otherwise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Isaac on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:31 pm

Thanks for advising him, since he dunno more a bit

• Peppa on Sep 14, 2023 at 8:02 am

Wait what? Since when used car is consider as a new registration? And who the hell buy recon conti these days? You guys are delusional

• Mango on Sep 14, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Ok now let me question about you, how come total number of sales for toyota is 83k but not 67k. Let me ask you question. You are brainless bro. 67k is based on new UMWT sales while another 20k sales from recon sales. So telling me, are you giving people and them that reply to you misinformation. Also read on what Paul Tan mentioned below before you comment. Sorry la mercedes salesman

• Isaac on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:32 pm

For new cars, bmw sales are higher than mercedes

• Junkies otr on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:54 pm

Pls scrap cars above 20yrs. So many bc bruk

• Aiyaa..this because of combination of used/recon/new cars sales

• Paul Tan on Sep 13, 2023 at 8:23 pm

recond yes, used no. car is only registered once, transfer ownership does not count.

• hazri on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:30 pm

if used car want to transfer new plate number, still consider new registration or not?

• hazri on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:43 pm

honda city is including honda city hatchback, or just sedan? interestingly 2023 perodua outsell proton by 100k. winner and runner up different is 100k. proton should be grateful to geely for x50 and x70. if not, they still below honda and toyota. and toyota should be grateful they sell pickup hilux, which honda lack of. and with existence of corolla cross, honda should beware. hrv day by day losing to x50 and c.cross. and crv? high competition with cx-5. and your price might make buyer looking for recond harrier or contis.

• Peppa on Sep 14, 2023 at 8:04 am

Mazda buyers are not in the same league with Toyota buyers. People buy a Mazda because they want a Mazda. Look at some of Mazda forums

• hazri on Sep 14, 2023 at 2:58 pm

wah, very syok sendiri mazda taksuber. you know since when mazda sale especially cx5 increase? since bermaz give free 5 years maintenance service free. thats all. peugeout and kia also follow. if not, matsuda sale will sendu. honda and toyota dont give free maintenance pun sales very high. imagine they also give what matsuda give.

• I think we can conclude the data excludes company commercially registered cars/vans as surely there is more than 250 Gran Maxs and 33 NV200s

• So fetch on Sep 14, 2023 at 8:11 am

Part of me think that Perodua might discontinue the Aruz once it reach the end of its lifecycle.

• Ativa above X50? Cannot be. Proton always say it’s holding top stop in SUV.

• Husmainem on Sep 14, 2023 at 10:24 pm

This data reflects that malaysian getting poorer as the only car they can afford is perodua and proton. The nameplate that familiar with a name from 3rd world countries from unknown car manufacturers. Sad but true

• Actually demand for myvi and axia are higher than bezza, but production for these two model are still got problem. That’s why volume for bezza higher than this 2 models

• newbie on Sep 15, 2023 at 3:18 pm

Pls edit

data.gov.my from MAMPU, not Department of Statistics Malaysia (DOSM)