How many grey import Teslas are there in Malaysia?

Tesla Malaysia is only expected to put the first officially imported Teslas on the road later this year with the Tesla Model 3 Highland, but there are already a lot of Teslas running around on Malaysian roads thanks to both parallel importers and MGTC’s Tesla leasing program.

But how many exactly are there? Well thanks to MAMPU’s data.gov.my portal, we now know exactly how many there are running on the road thanks to JPJ registration data.

Here’s how many grey import Teslas there are in Malaysia as of August 2023:

• Tesla Model 3 – 337 units
  • Tesla Model Y – 227 units
  • Tesla Model S – 43 units
  • Tesla Model X – 55 units
  • Total – 662 units

It isn’t a surprise that there are more Model 3 running around than the Model Y, as the Model 3 is a cheaper car. The Model 3 also looks more like a traditional sedan than the Model Y looks like a traditional SUV – it instead looks more like a bloated Model 3, much like what a Golf Plus/SV is to a Golf.

What surprised us is the fact that there are more Model X running around compared to Model S. I guess people are really attracted to the fancy falcon doors that the Model X offers.

We should see the amount of Model S and X slowly taper off in the next few years as Tesla has stopped making right hand drive versions of the car, unless of course it is reintroduced.

Here are the screenshots of the JPJ registration charts. You can head onto the data.gov.my portal to play around with the dashboard yourself.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Frankc on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:22 pm

Matured product sells better…

• Sohai on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:21 pm

Grey Import tunggu mati not only Tesla but included 3star BMW Audi ToyotaVan etc… AP abolished scheduly start 2024…

• SmartRakyat on Sep 14, 2023 at 9:06 am

AP abolish in 2024?? How is that possible?? We don’t have smart leaders to replace that easy AP revenue by investing in foreign countries etc. Makes no sense.We do not have that kind of IQ in our parliament bro. Stop dreaming. People that clean their poop with their hands will not have that kind of IQ. No offense but that is a fact. Even monkeys knows that is wrong. Google global IQ rank and see the pattern

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Matthias Watson on Sep 13, 2023 at 7:34 pm

How do you scraps those gray import tesla once batteries expired?

• The batteries don’t expire. There are older EVs on the road with perfectly-working batteries. Honestly, the statement that “EV batteries will expire / will require replacement after 8/10/15 years” needs to be retired. It’s simply not true. There is now a lot of real-world data to support this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Corolla Salib on Sep 14, 2023 at 4:00 pm

All current battery technology suffers ageing and degradation. Nothing last forever.

• Charleston Hee Sin Seng on Sep 13, 2023 at 9:36 pm

Put AAA and give your kids losers