Do EVs need special tyres? Strictly speaking, no. But electric vehicles can definitely benefit from tyres that are specifically designed for them, and there are a couple of areas that a tyre can focus on to best match the characteristics of EVs.
If you’re jumping into an EV for the first time, the most obvious difference for you will be the lack of familiar sounds from an internal combustion engine, replaced by a ‘woooo’ acceleration sound and then near silence from what otherwise would be the engine bay. After awhile, you might notice that the lack of engine sound means wind and road noise come to the fore. With road noise more apparent, an EV tyre has to work harder to combat that.
Another signature EV trait is max torque from standstill. That instant burst of acceleration is something that EV tyres will have to cope with, along with the high speeds that performance EVs are capable off. Therefore, it’s not as simple as making a quiet tyre in touring fashion, as performance matters greatly too.
EVs are heavy; there’s no running away from that. Battery packs cause EVs to be around 25-30% heavier that equivalent ICE cars and this is also taken into account by tyremakers. Of course, efficiency is important – the less rolling resistance, the more miles you’re going to get. Range is a big deal when it comes to EVs, so it’s a case of the more the merrier here.
While EVs are gaining a lot of prominence and every OEM is on the bandwagon now, you don’t hear much about EV tyres, do you? Hankook sees a gap and has come up with the iON sub-brand for EV tyres, which is now officially in Malaysia. Seen it before? Hankook is the official tyre supplier to Formula E, the pinnacle of EV racing, the electric equivalent of Formula 1.
Hankook says that the iON evo and iON evo SUV road tyres feature much of what’s good on its Formula E tyre, and that it has 58 exclusive technical patents (in profile/structure, pattern and compound) for EV tyres. To boost handling and grip needed for high-torque EVs, a high-concentration silica compound and 3D ‘GripKontrol’ sipes do their part.
Hankook’s ‘EV Contour Technology’ increases cornering stiffness by 10%. Also, a reinforcement belt mixed with the advanced Aramid fibre is applied to improve steering performance and to maintain an optimised shape during high-speed driving. Additionally, the pattern block rigidity was further optimised to prevent slippage caused by high torque, with extended outside shoulder blocks for maximum road contact.
The iON’s optimised ground pressure distribution feature reduces rolling resistance for more range, and as we all know, the more even the pressure, the better it is for wear. Speaking of wear, Hankook says that EVs will have 20% faster tyre wear compared to ICE cars – EV owners who have done substantial miles, what’s your experience?
See the layer of ‘sponge’ inside the tyre? That’s the Hankook Sound Absorber, an acoustic foam that optimises multi-pitch sequencing by minimising tread pattern noise. That may sound complicated, but the desired outcome can be easily experienced – a quiet and pleasant ride at all speeds.
Hankook says that when compared to regular high performance tyres, the iON boasts a significant 18% reduction in noise, 15% longer tread life, 6% increase battery range from the low rolling resistance, plus 10% better driving stability.
The South Korean company engaged Germany’s TUV SUD to test the iON with regular UHP rubber from Bridgestone (Potenza Sport), Goodyear (Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5) and Michelin (Pilot Sport 4 and Pilot Sport 4 Acoustic) and got a scoresheet that it wanted.
The average score of the competitors mentioned was higher than the iON in only two areas – wet handling (101.2% if the iON is 100%) and aquaplaning straight line (103.1% vs the iON’s 100%). The EV tyre came out tops in rolling resistance, wet braking, dry braking, dry handling and rolling noise categories. The breakdown of the scores are in the graphic below, which also shows the iON trumping the revered Michelin PS5 in Auto Bild’s tyre test. Sounds good.
“The introduction of our iON tyres is to meet the unique demands that high-performance EVs place on tyres. Hankook has extensive experience in developing tyres dedicated to EVs that are already being used by leading global automotive brands,” Seunghyun Kim, team manager of consumer marketing at Hankook Tire Malaysia, said at the iON recent launch event in Petaling Jaya.
“The iON tyres push the limits of performance EVs with class-leading handling, secure wet grip and enhanced mileage while delivering the low rolling resistance, safety and comfort that EV drivers appreciate,” he added.
The Hankook iON evo is currently available in sizes ranging from 18 to 21 inches in Malaysia, while the iON evo SUV is available in sizes ranging from 19 to 22 inches. As Hankook Tire Malaysia plans to cater to all battery-powered cars sold in our market, expect the size list to grow along with EV offerings.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
The chic uniform very ok ^^.
Should consider this tires
Together with PS4, F1A5
Me patiently waits for ball shape tyres
a quick comparison and hankook’s cost is about RM1400 versus conti RM2600 for my tyre. If the tyre is good, i’ll definitely switch when the time comes.
I need to see the tyres not attention-seeking sluts
Then go to the tyre shop instead. Problem solve. smh
Woman empowerment my ass
Not even close. You must be a very angry person that a simple picture in an article will triggered you. You should go back to your cave lol
Mind if i put it on my fuel car, that would be so good
Can, but it is too stiff, i think not comfortable like normal tyre.
If continental car from runflat change to EV tyre isn’t any issue. But for other car maybe feel little bumpy.
need special tyres, special this and that for EV. so how to save money and save the environment by driving EV? absolute nonsense.
If you use normal tyre in EV then it worn faster. Mean you are spending more and also damaging environment more frequent. This article already said using normal tyre is faster worn in EV car by 20%. EV is far saver since almost maintenance free , invest a bit on tyre is really nothing. If EV is no different from ICE then why tyre company bother to invent the EV tyre? R&D and new production line is talking about millions of dollar. Don’t act like expert when you have no knowledge in automotive industry.
Hankook EV tyre performance better than Michelin internal combustion engine tyre PS5. That’s incredible.
can we use EV tires for ICE cars to enjoy the benefits?
are they as good as Michelin or Conti tyres?
yes an EV is totally different, it is soooo quiet.
Suddenly every other noise can be noticed, like tyres.
In ICE cars in the past, dont really notice tyre noise because engine so noisy.
its 2023 lets do away with irrelevant disturbances. if youre gonna use models please at least use korean ones.
Why not Indians?
hankook isnt indian, thats for apollo tyres
Such tyres will be too expensive. Batman and LingLong tyres will be the normal replacement for majority. Make sure dont let china car follow you behind coz their batman tyre wont brake in time coz bat still sleeping.
Batman tyre no need brake la bodoh. Can fly over your car la stupid
Yes Batman fly straight to klang river
low rolling resistant and performance grip of dry and wet is always oppose each other. low rolling resistent is common found in eco and comfort tire with lower grip in dry and wet. this EV tire make a breakthrough and combine these 2 features into 1. if price is reasoable it gonna be popular
Perfect time for a head to head comparison of Hankook Ion EVO vs Michelin Pilot Sport 5
https://toptirereview.com/hankook-ion-evo-vs-michelin-pilot-sport-5-new-ev-tire-from-hankook/