Roundabout lane dispute: left, right, straight – who has the right of way? Here’s PDRM’s official priority list

Check out the video below. But if you have kids around or are in a public place, it’s best to keep the volume low as there are some profanities being uttered at the end.

Basically, the dashcam car comes to a roundabout in Bandar Baru Selayang. It’s on the right lane as it approaches the roundabout and therefore moves into the inner lane of the roundabout. A grey Myvi is on the left/outside of the dashcam car. The video car wants to go straight (12 o’clock) but the Myvi wants to continue on the roundabout, which leads to both paths crossing.

The dashcam car’s driver is incensed, sounding the horn and cursing the Myvi. However, the post on X (formerly Twitter) mocks the dashcam car, remarking that “TikTok kids don’t know roundabout rules”. Watch the video – do you agree? To you, who’s in the wrong?

Here’s the official answer from PDRM. The car coming in from the left lane (outside lane in the roundabout) can only turn left (9 o’clock) or go straight (12 o’clock). The car on the right lane (inside lane in the roundabout) can head to all directions except for 9 o’clock.

When you apply this simple rule to the situation in the video, it’s clear that the Myvi on the outer lane should not have proceeded further than 12 o’clock – he is wrong. On the other hand, it is well within the rights of the dashcam car to cut through to 12 o’clock as he was from the right lane. Two lanes into two lanes, no crossing each other. This is illustrated in the image below.

Agree or not, that’s the black and white. Also, the PDRM guidelines state that cars already in the roundabout have the priority over those wanting to get in, so those who are queuing up must give priority to those who want to exit the roundabout, but you know that already right? Right?

In any case, remember to always use your turn signals and – this is easier said than done – have some patience on the road. Drive safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Reader on Sep 21, 2023 at 7:09 pm

Agree wholeheartedly. Now please enforce and educate to ensure all fellow Malaysians adopt this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
    • Malaysian Standard on Sep 21, 2023 at 7:41 pm

“the PDRM guidelines state that cars already in the roundabout have the priority over those wanting to get in, so those who are queuing up must give priority to those who want to exit the roundabout…”

SAME RULES! PLEASE ALLOW PEOPLE TO
      GET OUT from BUS, MRT, & LIFT too
      BEFORE pushing YOURSELF IN !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
      • Richard Tee on Sep 22, 2023 at 8:14 am

If U look carefully to the picture illustrated, also supporting what PDRM said, even U’re inside the multi-lane roundabout: (1)vehicle on the LEFT lane shall not block ANY EXITS; (2)vehicle on the LEFT lane to proceed 12-o’clock shall always give way to those vehicle from RIGHT lane that wants to EXIT first; (3)highest priority is given to the INNER MOST lane inside the roundabout..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Lesen Kopi O on Sep 22, 2023 at 4:37 pm

Has anyone seen a roundabout in real world being painted clearly as the image above?

(Like) YES, where?
          (Dislike) NO, never

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
          • Yes, after the resurfacing and lines painted. But does not last long due to wear off.

• obviously he paid for it on Sep 28, 2023 at 3:18 pm

well named

• CarBuyer on Sep 25, 2023 at 3:31 am

Firstly, I think PDRM is not the authority about the Highway Code. It should be the JPJ, no? The UK Highway code (on the WWW) states that if you’re in the right-hand lane to enter a roundabout (and presumably then in the inner lane of the roundabout) , then you should only exit at 3 o’clock. Their rule would have avoided the near accident highlighted in the video.

• Fox Cave Bar on Sep 22, 2023 at 12:01 am

Too many driver on the road bought their driving license. The once infamous “guarantee passing package” driving instructor/ school cohort with tester.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Hanjuku on Sep 22, 2023 at 10:56 am

I wud think blue car can only go to 9oclock. Else will face same issue with yellow car (from 3oclock) when exiting 9oclock.

• Dah Menang Semua on Sep 21, 2023 at 7:13 pm

kena lah belajar org Sabah Sarawak
    sana 1 jalan banyak roundabout
    tiap2 hari pon praktis expert

org Peninsular kurang toleransi
    roundabout nak lampu trafik
    ini semua bukti ego

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • rahim on Sep 21, 2023 at 8:20 pm

Shah Alam la banyak roundabout. Sabah Sarawak do but no car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Plenty to learn from the East Malaysians, including road mannerisms. When you hear hooting, it would be a Peninsula registered car.

• davenport on Sep 21, 2023 at 7:58 pm

The fact that they need to put out the PSA proves how many lesen kopi are driving on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • My thoughts exactly. The ordering already came naturally to me but TIL a bunch of idiots on the roads didn’t even know.

“Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.” I guess

• Gomorrah on Sep 21, 2023 at 8:16 pm

Ah PDRM bagus bagus keluar PSA. Esok boleh keluar pegawai pergi berdiri kat roundabout saman ini macam pemandu ka? Tak payah buat Operasi Apanama besar-besar. Tangkap je. Jangan kasi diskaun.
    This is basic stuff to pass the highway code test. Come on la just enforce the rules then people will behave. You can keluar PSA till kingdom come no one will give a damn.

• Delima on Sep 22, 2023 at 10:10 am

If your car knock the car on the right u lose your No Claim Bonus.

• Right_has_priority on Sep 21, 2023 at 9:15 pm

The car on your right always has the priority.

Simple.

Many fellows don’t know that you must let the car (on your right) to exit.

As always, signal early to avoid confusion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • Besi Busuk on Sep 21, 2023 at 10:06 pm

Unfortunately many idiots use the left lane (blue car) to go for 3rd exit (3 o’clock) for even 4th exit (6 o’clock or U-turn.

Can’t educate idiots. Just saman them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Hanjuku on Sep 22, 2023 at 12:12 pm

The PSA not entirely accurate imho. The blue car can only exit 6oclock. If allow to exit 12olock, another car (let’s say, yellow car) from 3oclock wanting to exit 9oclock (or 12oclock from their perspective) will also kena block since blue car crossing the 9oclock path.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • talk_talk on Sep 21, 2023 at 10:26 pm

the illustration didn’t show all possible scenarios? it just assumed that blue car won’t meet with green car if both coming from Jam 6. But let’s say now there is a red car coming out from the left lane of Jam 9 but want to go straight to Jam 3 side. Now this new red car will meet with green car when he exiting the Jam 12 right, so how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • The PDRM guidelines state that cars already in the roundabout have the priority over those wanting to get in.

• This. Very true. This if on a straight road, is like making a left exit but pancung/cut from the right lane. To be safe, I will always change lane to the left before reaching my exit, but change after the exit just before my exit. For example, if I want to exit at 9 o’clock, I will change to the left lane first after or at 6 o’clock.

• mancoi on Sep 22, 2023 at 8:59 am

This is dangerous. You are not supposed to change lane while inside the R/A. You should choose the correct lane before entering the R/A as shown by PDRM above and follow your lane. Just make sure to give signal when you are exiting the R/A.

• Tingu on Sep 23, 2023 at 10:38 am

Correct. If I am in the inner r’bout lane, I just watch out for the car to my left making the turn to exit. I then just slot in.

• To answer you, in the simplest, turn signal. Use turn signal while inside the roundabout. Malaysian’s road will become more chaotic when Tesla Model 3 arrive later

• Observer on Sep 22, 2023 at 7:55 am

What’s the red car doing trying to enter the roundabout when the green car is trying to exit? This is also a recurrent problem. The red car should only enter when there’s no oncoming traffic, instead of trying to quickly squeeze by before the other car can exit.

• FreakingAnnoyed on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:29 am

That’s why there is the rule of you have to give way to car already in roundabout. Not masuk roundabout pedal to the metal macam bapak you punya jalan.

• ThePolygon on Sep 22, 2023 at 7:10 am

Please just saman whoever is wrong. Time for action, no more words.

• Sick&Tired on Sep 22, 2023 at 7:56 am

Actually roundabouts should be abolished!! Why not just put traffic lights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Sick&Tired on Sep 22, 2023 at 7:57 am

And why isn’t this thought in driving schools?? This is the first time I have come across something like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • SeriouslyAnnoyed on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:32 am

When and where you got your license? Or you sleeping in class? Even 30 years ago when I got my L lesen already learn this.

• driving school no teach roundabout nowadays on Sep 24, 2023 at 9:22 pm

that’s the funny thing, 30 years ago it might have been in the syllabus but nowadays roundabout no longer taught in school

• Stone on Sep 22, 2023 at 2:02 pm

How to learn if you were sleeping?

• Ben Yap on Sep 22, 2023 at 8:25 am

why did he scold the pigs? the blue car is in the wrong but pigs get scolded.

• mancoi on Sep 22, 2023 at 9:03 am

Wait until you see 3 lanes R/A in the Middle East. Everyone knows where to exit and choose the correct lane before entering the R/A.
    And not to mention they drive very fast even inside the R/A but everything is fine as they all know how to drive.

• Aeroheads on Sep 22, 2023 at 9:12 am

Problem is now a days the roundabout is too big. KL and Shah Alam round about huge, so people think the dashcam car should have kept to the left way before exiting by the 12 O’clock. Sometimes a big round about looks like a big 4 junction with a bulatan in the middle. Should just make a traffic junction. What to do? Safe cost mah!!

• Justice on Sep 22, 2023 at 9:14 am

Most idiotic drivers does not know roundabout rules and are ignorant, might as well remove all those roundabout and place traffic lights instead

• drebar on Sep 22, 2023 at 9:28 am

driver’s education in malaysia is terrible. Also you can easily bribe to get your license. PDRM should go after these officers taking bribes first. JPJ should make the test more comprehensive and harder

• it was abolish some time ago on Sep 24, 2023 at 9:24 pm

roundabout navigation no longer taught in driving school syllabus/ exam

• Squid on Sep 22, 2023 at 9:34 am

This is basic driving rules that was thought at all driving schools when I took my driving lesson. Why should this even be an issue? Or they don’t teach this anymore nowadays? Even so, simple logic and common sense will work it out. Are people that brain dead nowadays?

• Anonymous_C on Sep 22, 2023 at 9:54 am

This practice is SOP in practical exam… after obtaining driving license always amusing to see those dummy roundabout drivers

• Yang marahkan Myvi tu nape? Clearly lane dalam video tu tak sama langsung dengan dalam gambar.. driver hanya ikut apa ada atas jalan, or if ada signboard.. Lorong Myvi tu tunjuk lorong dia still boleh pegi straight..line putus-putus tu tak tunjuk yang dia hanya kene belok kiri andu tak boleh pegi staright.. so salah sapa? Salah driver or salah orang buat jalan??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Delima on Sep 22, 2023 at 10:11 am

If your car knock the car on the right u lose your No Claim Bonus.

• willie on Sep 22, 2023 at 10:31 am

PDRM, time activate drone on roundabout and hantar saman… almost all roundabout, every min on peak hour sure got, satu roundabout busuk busuk peak hour got few hunders saman bolih kasi.

• X city on Sep 22, 2023 at 10:32 am

Even daring with a very small roundabout

• calvin on Sep 22, 2023 at 10:46 am

the problem is, our driving sylabus back then did not cover roundabouts, thats why many people don’t know how to use it.

in the latest syllabus that my son took, i was surprised their inclusion of roundabout is only to just u turn and go back. no mention of taking which lane for which exit etc etc.

thats why so many drivers in malaysia dont know how to use roundabouts.

• othman on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:12 am

It just proves that JPJ does not respect the lines drawn on the roads. The one on the left lane doesn’t cross any line. The car on the right lane need to cross the line so should give way in this particular roundout.

If the picture is the regulation, then blame JKR and JPJ also for drawing illegal road lines.

Furthermore, notice that the car on the left lane was ahead of the one on the right lane. It is ridiculous for him to slow down just to give way to the car on the right lane.

The car on the right lane should signal well ahead of time and look carefully at the road lines.

If vehicles already on the roundabouts have priorities, both cars are already inside the roundabout. So naturally, the car following the lines should be given the priority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Henry on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:24 am

There are many driver with cacat fingers who doesn’t signal when turning.

• Just use common sense.

Keep you right signal on when joining or staying in the roundabout and signal left when you need to leave as soon as possible.

Keep a zipper formation and anticipate movements both front and back. Stay a bit behind the car in front of you on the other lane, and hopefully the car behind you on the other lane do the same.

A lot of roads users are OK, but there is a sizable number of idiots who makes everyone’s life difficult.

• Bassraptor on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:36 am

I took my driving test more than 3 decades ago. Text book and school driving instructor clearly drum in the roundabout rule. When you’re entering a roundabout, look out on right for approaching car already in roundabout, which has priority.

And the exit rules are as stated by PDRM. Common sense also applies, especially when more than 2 lanes. You can’t be in left lane when entering and want to get out at 3 o’clock or u-turn. Nor can you be in right lane and exit immediately at 9 o’clock. But really, who cares these days, until an accident happens!

• Bieight8 on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:50 am

We need more roundabout

• What about if there is only 1 lane at the exit? Meaning 2 lanes in the roundabout but 1 lane at exit? In Penang Bayan Baru big roundabout, there are 3 lanes (official, unofficial 4 or 5 lanes) in the roundabout, and 2 lanes at exit. Always there are uneducated driver cuts from most inner lanes to exit (cut thru 3 lanes) and outter lane car continue in the roundabout. My opinion is that car at outter lane must exit at the next exit, next inner lane must continue in the roundabout if there is only 1 exit lane. Bottomline is, plan your lane based on your exit.

• lacking skills on Sep 22, 2023 at 1:48 pm

sorry, some drivers are just lacking skills and confidence at roundabout, they use the left lane so that right lanes car can ‘shield’ them and help them judge when to enter the roundabout. then they proceed to round the whole round about on the left lane without a care for other cars.

• AhPauL on Sep 22, 2023 at 2:29 pm

Please put this PDRM roundabout signboard/guideline at every roundabout to educate most of the drivers in Malaysia…

• hazri on Sep 22, 2023 at 4:29 pm

first, the issue is the signal. if you give signal, car behind you may understand and give you the way. but recklessly, you drive like a maniac or slow like a snail, dont give signal, and expected car behind you can read your move. 2nd, left lane is like emergency lane. right lane is always stuck, thats why people tend to use left lane even though want to go to 3 o’clock. 3rd, my suggestion is put camera in the center of roundabout and give summon.

• This happen everyday in my area.

• Roundabout driver on Sep 22, 2023 at 7:25 pm

I don’t see why people couldn’t understand something simple – Myvi is king. The rules applies to other lesser cars including Tesla.

• Steven on Sep 22, 2023 at 11:08 pm

One of the things you learned when you go sit for driving licence.. It’s more about the attitude and can’t admit wrong

• I disagree wirh PDRM on Sep 23, 2023 at 7:37 am

If we were to follow PDRM’s guideline, the jam would be worsened, and a higher chance there would be an accident in the roundabout. To avoid both scenarios, the best thing to do is to use a signal. If a person on the inner lane wants to exit, turn the signal ON. A vehice on the outer lane if doe not turning a signal to the left means he or she want to continue. This rule apply: cross over is unavoidable in a roundabout, so communicate with each other via a turn signal.

• Marcus on Sep 23, 2023 at 11:14 pm

Many sohai like to use left lane to go until 3rd exit
    Then sometime I use the right lane totally can’t exit the 2nd exit

• Round the merry bush on Sep 25, 2023 at 1:13 am

To apply this PDRM rule, then drivers must identify and memorise at all times at which point every car came into the roundabout .. which is impractical, impossible and like the video said ” babibetul”

So its a rubbish outdated PDRM rule.

To exit any roundabout the inner lane car must always give way to the outer lane car who wants to go straight … period.

• trafik light on Sep 25, 2023 at 8:00 am

nak power have to practise pekeliling roundabout atau shah alam.

• bubble on Sep 28, 2023 at 12:26 pm

Just don’t drive at people’s blind spot and always use signal light.

• Therealmaserati on Sep 28, 2023 at 12:51 pm

Paultan also another retarded website follow what PDRM say blindly. Your diagram show green car coming from 6 oclock. What happen if green car is coming from 3 oclock? Does that mean every car has to make two rounds on the roundabout to exit? Please dont follow this silly diagram . Green car has to filter behind the car on the left lane. Its as simple as that. If u want to exit the roundabout, always keep to the left lane of the roundabout. Use abit of common sense. Most drivers including paultan have no common sense nowadays expecting ppl to follow diagrams . U think drivers are robots?

• You need to change your orientation. If you are coming from 3 o’clock, your 12 o’clock now is 9 o’clock in the diagram. same rules apply

• Fuuny, nobody mentioned anything about signal indicator. Myvi is on the wrong side of the lane, let’s just ignore that for a moment, if myvi had used signal indicator, this could have been avoided. Signal indicators exist for a reason, they’re not decoration, use them.

• Seitha on Oct 10, 2023 at 3:42 pm

dash cam car should be in the left lane if the driver intended to go 12.00 o clock!!

• Shaun on Jan 22, 2024 at 6:22 pm

Main cause of round about accidents ignoring the right rule. The vehicle on the right got right if way . After passing then only the MYVI can join the round about.

Most MYVI drivers are young drivers who got the driving licence without passing the JPJ road traffic rules .

Whose fault? It is clearly JPJ faults who issue new licences to person who failed the undang undang test . This is what is happening to new Malaysian drivers nowadays endangering other road users leading to accidents always.