Budget 2024 to be tabled by finance minister, prime minster Anwar Ibrahim at 4pm on Friday, October 13

Malaysia’s Budget 2024 will be tabled this Friday, October 13 at 4pm by finance minister and prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, and as with previous editions of the Budget, we will be monitoring his speech for any matters related to the automotive and transport sector.

The retabled Budget 2023 – which followed the original tabling of Budget 2023 by the previous administration – notably extended the excise duty and sales tax exemption for locally assembled (CKD) EVs until December 31, 2027, or two years further on from the original deadline that was December 31, 2025.

This also applied to the import tax exemption for components used in the local assembly of EVs in Malaysia, which similarly has been extended by two years to December 31, 2027 from its original end-2025 deadline.

Carried over in the retabled Budget 2023 from the original tabling the year before is the 100% income tax exemption for the years of assessment from 2023 to 2032, for manufacturers of EV charging equipment. These manufacturers will also be offered 100% investment tax allowance (Elaun Cukai Pelaburan) for a period of five years.

Also announced for the retabled Budget 2023 were the absorbing of license test costs, the continuation of the My50 public transport subscription passes, road network projects, maintaining of electricity tariffs (for no additional cost impact for charging an EV at home), road lighting infrastructure, reduction in MRT3 development cost, and airport upgrades.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• awg1031 on Oct 11, 2023 at 12:22 pm

DSAI the best PM ever. Next is najib closely following behind..

• proton oh proton on Oct 11, 2023 at 1:12 pm

if combine both will be good for the nation

• hazri on Oct 11, 2023 at 6:53 pm

ya, but after najib paid all the country debt. good and bad cant be together. like tun m and dsai. always conflict.

• Janji dicapati on Oct 11, 2023 at 2:30 pm

Refer my name

• Bolehland on Oct 11, 2023 at 2:31 pm

Both are corrupt.

• hazri on Oct 11, 2023 at 6:58 pm

when najib, tun m, abah moo was a pm, while pmx never get any call from sprm for investigation if he really corrupt? he got no corruption case, thats why he went to jail not because of corruption. its all slandering case. thanks to ydpa see all this and gave pengampunan PENUH. Daulat Tuanku.

• hazri on Oct 11, 2023 at 6:52 pm

i have to like for pmx, but have to dislike for najib. najib when he was a minister, perform well and better than mail beri and abah moo. but when he became pm, dont know why so bad. you can remember najib’s contribution while he was minister then, but abah moo when he was a minister no contribution at all. like ku li said, he is a lazy man but always want credit.

• Rosie M on Oct 11, 2023 at 7:30 pm

Your bosku was never really the boss because it was actually me

• The Greenies...A Clear n Present Danger on Oct 11, 2023 at 12:49 pm

Fuel fixed at Rm2.05/litre..until end 2024.for B40 n M40.
    T20 and super duper loaded…extra taxation…no subsidy.
    PMX….like this u get another 5 year term.
    Otherwise…greenies salivating at forming next germen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Yeahsure on Oct 11, 2023 at 1:04 pm

Please Tax all EVs… See if anyone will buy when its on level playing field

• All the governments in the world are subsidizing EV’s and Stockholm is even banning ICE in cities starting 2025. Why do you want us to go the opposite route

• Don’t expect much. Probably road tax cheaper by RM10 for 1000cc and below. That’s it.

• alibaba902 on Oct 11, 2023 at 1:46 pm

cancel AP, lower down import tax, kick out MITI, remove fuel subsidy, gv a fair competitive environment to auto motive industry.

• hazri on Oct 11, 2023 at 6:59 pm

i dont expect more. just hope country debt every year will decrease.

• Gabriel on Oct 11, 2023 at 10:17 pm

I like pmx.
    We can use him to screw each other and eventually take this country for ourselves. We must remember what superman hew said. Think long term and we will get this county.
    Huat ah!