Tesla Model Y seen burning in Puchong last night – first recorded case of EV fire in Malaysia?

Social media was set ablaze last night with videos of what appears to be the first case of an electric car on fire in Malaysia. Footage of a white Tesla Model Y said to be parked near Skypod in Puchong was seen posted on various social media groups.

Of course from just videos it’s easy to speculate but the truth is at this point no one can say for sure what caused it. It’s best to wait for a report from the authorities. We read social media comments that firefighters reached the scene swiftly and managed to put out the fire with ease.

It’s worth pointing out that there are a few angles available and they show fire mainly concentrated around the front end and left wheel arch. In a Tesla Model Y, the batteries are in the underfloor of the car below the passenger cabin, so to our untrained eye it does not look like this is a battery fire.

As of this morning, there have been photos uploaded of the Tesla Model Y already safely at a repair workshop. The glass roof and windows have been damaged from the heat of the fire, but it does not look like there are signs of fire where the battery is.

Back in April 2023, there were reports of an “electric vehicle fire” in front of Suria KLCC. The “vehicles” in question were scooters belonging to a mobility rental company Beam.

In that case, the cause of the fire was arson, and a 34 year old man was remanded for investigation under Section 435 of the Penal Code: mischief by fire or explosive substance with intent to cause damage.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Another hot seller.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:23 am

sbb tu jgn beli recon la
      tunggu sikit lagi dapat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 28
    • Katheryne Wong on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:34 pm

Fire is likely from the tires, must be someone burnt it up then fled away. Did the owner had enemies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
      • Richard Teo on Oct 17, 2023 at 1:58 pm

If U got follow news about Tesla caught fire in the world, U’ll find similar incidents whereby the fire started near the wheels even while it was driving. So it has to do with electrical components, motor, or circuit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • dong gor on Oct 17, 2023 at 2:56 pm

correct…fire is not necessary to burn directly burn from battery. whatever the problem cause the fire may later cos the battery to explode or burn in bigger volume. just like petrol car on fire..it mustsn’t be coming from petrol tank first. so it seems to be a safety issue regardless where the fire is coming from

• The VICTORIAN on Oct 17, 2023 at 3:22 pm

EV fires especially battery compartment..no joke..very difficult to extinguish…once over …almost unsalvageable.Total writeoff.
      So,buy another Tesla?

• Hildr on Oct 25, 2023 at 8:03 pm

Definitively would. Wouldn’t even cost that much with all the saving made just from not using petrol :’D A free car every 8 years!

• Proton: Phew, what a relief.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
    • Lets See on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:17 pm

Waiting for all the Proton and Xcars haters to come in and spew their venom at Tesla and their cars. Come mari mari mari!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Casual rider on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:05 am

Any quick conclusion from high IQ experts here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • Landedsideway on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:53 am

I cant laugh seeing your comment. Good one!! LOL

• I am high IQ on Oct 17, 2023 at 1:38 pm

I say it’s very clear car should not burn into ashes.

And you would be clearly want to avoid buying one.

• Expert on Oct 17, 2023 at 2:32 pm

I think this has to be somehow related to Proton.
      Dont know what yet, but it has to be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Can IQ 21 reply?

• TESLA BEST on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:07 am

Where all the TESLA Y RM199k is a no brainer gone? Geek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • Bob Mal on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:09 am

Safely at a repair workshop? One just wonder which special workshop is this in Puchong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Ya laa….still want to repair..? Buy new one laa…let it go…let it go…ash to ash dust to dust…

• Is Malaysia ready for lithium battery fire?

• Asalkan buka proton..takda masalah

• Kelvin on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:27 am

I would pay good money to see the sentry mode footage.

• tricycle on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:40 am

It is ok, can claim with the insurance company. Even ICE car also sometimes got burning and etc. This is normal. Not normal if all EV cars burning. Then also, car company will announce a recall to fix the problem(s).

But still I don’t like EV because of the hassle of charging compared to the filling up the gas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • what world do you live in where... on Oct 17, 2023 at 7:34 pm

burning car is normal. Do you understand when you plot a normal graph normal is suppose to be the part that is in the middle with the most distribution? Are you implying most car burned down?

• Mike Tee on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:56 pm

X70 terbakar, all quiet quiet. EV burn, everybody celebrates in glee.

Stats don’t lie, 25.1 per 100,000 EV fire. 1,529 per 100,000 for ICE or to summarise, ICE are 60x more likely to burn compared to EVs. Sorry to burst your bubble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Seitha on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:45 am

soon there will be others!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Peaky on Oct 17, 2023 at 1:46 pm

Mercedes EV also caught fire too. Mercedes EV mostly on battery problems and software issues including also leading to power failure. No wonder, JPJ have to recall Mercedes this years cars

• Nonsense on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:56 am

It’s Tesla, what do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
  • Mat Hijau on Oct 17, 2023 at 9:56 am

Owner thought celaka, my value drop by half when tesla malaysia launched recently, better burn and claim insurance. Can buy new one at cheaper price.

• Puntung rokok ni

• anton on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:07 am

Lets thank the early buyers for the beta test. Lets give it a few more years before we can say EV is ready for Msia.

• Uh Oh. Hopefully not the omen for things to come.

• Tesla Fanboi on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:35 am

How to get warranty claim ? Tesla Malaysia model Y deliveries only next year. Looks like a model Y performance that must have been picked up for cheap when grey importers lelong

• kckfen on Oct 17, 2023 at 11:33 am

Most likely will declare total lost, and scrap for parts

• Ben Yap on Oct 17, 2023 at 11:44 am

Tesla is reliable. this is definitely sabotage case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
  • Agreed with paultan most likely arson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • MiloPing on Oct 17, 2023 at 4:21 pm

Fires at the frontal tyre area are more common than battery fires for Tesla overseas cases. In a lot of cases, it’s the front electric motor that caught fire.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:38 pm

Eagerly awaiting the first BYD EV fire

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Dato dr Desmond on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:38 pm

A moment of silence for those who used to condemn Chinese EV and car low standard and substandard and catches fire easily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • hohoho on Oct 17, 2023 at 12:49 pm

let say this car produced by proton, very bad words will came out from commentor.. but when other brand, maybe cause by cigarette or not from factory defect, very positive comment… yesterday Maclaren bursts into flame during test drive.. maybe driver smoking during test drive, that’s why the car caught with the fire..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Carnut69 on Oct 17, 2023 at 5:38 pm

No Ah. Lambos can catch fire, so do BMWs and benz. You can google all those cases that happened in Malaysia.

• Looks & smelled suspicious from footages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • average joe on Oct 17, 2023 at 1:43 pm

the main question is whether the average people can afford this kind of cars with the sky high price and with its own set of problems like fire, software issues, etc….this thing price is not like 40-50k like saga/myvi price…until the price come down to that level, all just pipe dream only for the average….

• Peaky on Oct 17, 2023 at 1:44 pm

Eagerly awaiting the first Mercedes EV fire

• Sohai on Oct 17, 2023 at 2:37 pm

EV catch fire? biasa lah.
    Not to be confuse with Proton X70. That’s ICE car.
    ICE catches fire? See how silly it sounds when you put it in a sentence? That’s pure stupidity.

• Kelab jurujual proton on Oct 17, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Assemble the keyboard warriors

• Ex kelisa owner on Oct 17, 2023 at 3:39 pm

If jumpa any tesla at parking better park far2 away, later my myvi lagi best pun kena burned.

• you do know that the fire was cause by arson it is clearly wrote there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
      • Yalah on Oct 18, 2023 at 10:29 am

arson targeting Tesla cars?
        Still… park far away from Tesla.

• MASAMI on Oct 18, 2023 at 11:12 am

Hey @lol, your english so bad ah?? Pau was referring to another case which was arson la in klcc. Go back to school la

• davenport on Oct 17, 2023 at 5:22 pm

If I found out my RM300k car has the assembly quality of a 1993 Proton Wira, I will also burn the car.

• Carnut69 on Oct 17, 2023 at 5:57 pm

All cars can catch on fire. ICE is 10x more likely to catch fire than EV. The worst is hybrid at 120x. You can google all the studies done worldwide based on real world data. Li-on battery fires can burn for days and are very difficult to put out. The heat comes from stored energy, not air and fuel combustion. Go figure.

• Nasi Plastik on Oct 17, 2023 at 6:15 pm

Aku rasa ini mongol cospirasi teori

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Let the Technology matures on Oct 17, 2023 at 6:28 pm

IF you have own several generations of HP you know the problem

bulging or exploding Battery
    fully charged but cannot last an hour
    Non users replaceble battery

• Kingmaker on Oct 17, 2023 at 8:22 pm

This is propaganda from jealous chinese EV makers. They deliberately set fire to the car to scare off customers. Same with the iPhone 15 pro, they try their best to circulate articles on overheating problems, but one look at the comments from actual buyers is there is no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • john is otak batu on Oct 18, 2023 at 3:18 pm

nothing to be jealous on China EV, just ran off & close 1 eye…. nothing happens.

• Aeroheads on Oct 17, 2023 at 10:47 pm

Beli lah Proton X50. Tak payah sedih hati. Hati gembira. Senang hati!

• EV Car Mafia on Oct 18, 2023 at 10:50 am

The rest of the EV players in Malaysia are taking note of the disaster handling and reputational rebuild by Tesla. A classic case study. Model Y is not officially out yet, isn’t it? Looks like sabotage… Anyways juicy news

• Gas user on Oct 18, 2023 at 10:53 am

Phew thank god i didn’t buy ev, if i buy i can kena inside