Nissan Hyper Force concept EV previews next-generation GT-R EV with 1,360 PS, solid-state battery

Nissan has unveiled the Hyper Force Concept that rounds up the quintet of ‘hyper’ concept vehicles, which includes the Hyper Tourer concept that will preview the next Elgrand MPV. The Hyper Force concept is an all-electric supercar featuring a dual-motor all-wheel-drive powertrain, which would make it the EV interpretation of a future GT-R model.

According to Nissan, the Hyper Force concept aims to “deliver the ultimate in driving pleasure while also offering high environmental performance and comfort for daily use,” and to that end features an AWD powertrain that can produce up to 1,000 kW (1,360 PS) fed by an all-solid-state battery, and is harnessed by the manufacturer’s e-4ORCE all-wheel control technology.

Construction is by high-strength carbon to yield a lightweight body – though no weight figures were provided – while its exterior generates “powerful downforce” courtesy of design that was developed with the brand’s Nismo racing division.

The two-tier aerodynamic structure beneath the bonnet offers both high downforce and cooling performance, while a dual rear diffuser aids in airflow beneath the rear of the car. Further aero components include front canards and fender flip and rear wing, as well as a newly developed plasma actuator that suppresses air detachment to maximise grip through reducing inner-wheel lift when cornering, says Nissan. Its wheels are made of forged carbon, which further aid aerodynamics and brake cooling.

Two drive modes feature in the Hyper Force – GT for Grand Touring, and R for Racing. Its graphics interface changes colours depending on the mode selected, and has been designed to show the driver the information that is required the most for a given set of circumstances.

In R mode, the sportier of two settings, the cabin of the Hyper Force is illuminated in red and panels around the dashboard extend toward the seat for a more wrapped-around feel for the driver. The four satellite screens display tyre grip and temperature, air pressure, brake rotor temperature, power distribution and more.

In GT mode, the cabin is lit in blue and the screens move away from the driver and combine to form a single infotainment interface, and this offers controls for air-conditioning, audio, suspension and stabliser settings. These graphics have been crafted by Polyphony Digital, makers of the Gran Turismo platform, who also made the graphics for the R35 GT-R’s multi-function display.

The driver and front passenger seats are constructed of lightweight carbon-fibre and are outfitted with four-point seat belts. Here, the cabin of the Hyper Force also offers augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) experiences when the vehicle is stopped, and the driver can use VR-equipped visors for virtual racing in the car, either against the clock or other drivers online.

Its a glimpse into the future of the GT-R high-performance model, then. What do you think of the Nissan Hyper Force concept?

Nissan Hyper Force concept

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• In the comment section people who never even experience driving an EV and not the target market of a GTR: “eww EV sucks”

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 25, 2023 at 2:50 pm

Solid state battery?
      What’s the weight?
      Too shy to tell?
      Oops concept jer…

• Jacob SY Ch on Oct 25, 2023 at 3:23 pm

Solid state is the future. It is far more efficient as it has less negative effect on the environment. Lithium battery production cannot be sustained as there wont be enough Lithium to power all the cars in the world.

• talk only mah on Oct 26, 2023 at 10:33 am

Proton targets 310k sales by 2030, 500k by 2035; number 1 in Malaysia, no.3 in ASEAN – HLIB Research

https://paultan.org/2023/10/23/proton-targets-310k-sales-by-2030-500k-by-2035/

• Richard Teo on Oct 25, 2023 at 4:11 pm

This is what we call “marketing”

• EV sucks on Oct 25, 2023 at 6:55 pm

I’ve experienced EV, yup they sucks. If you think general EV accelerate better than sport car you’d be d*mn-ed. You have to pay a price comparable to high-end sport car to have only one thing to beat a sport car of any kind, but you lose everything else that even a normal ICE car have. Lightweight handling, no range anxiety, cheaper tyres, sophisticated genuine powertrain sound, driving engagement, better resale value. I’ll get rid of it before it even reach 5 years. ICE can have many powertrain parts wear and tear, but they’re a lot cheaper and safer to maintain than replacing one big battery at a time. That’s why my E90 325i M sport, an old normal car still going strong to this day. Meanwhile the Atto for me only good for city driving.

• Sohai on Oct 27, 2023 at 9:48 am

Thanks for sharing your ownership experience.

EV’s biggest appeal, is Zero admission. If you don’t consider this as a feature to you, then you are losing most of the value of an EV.

But off course, in malaysia, currently we enjoy tax advantage in the EV. So it distorted the market between ICE and EV. Many bought it because of pricing, but ultimately do not suit their daily needs.

• Syer obsessed on Oct 26, 2023 at 3:40 pm

Are those “EV haters” in the room with us right now?

• Sohai on Oct 25, 2023 at 2:55 pm

GTR got its love from the fans mainly due to the tuning potentials.
    Does EV have any tuning potentials?

• ThePolygon on Oct 25, 2023 at 3:52 pm

Solid state battery? Until I can buy from the showroom, it’s all concept only with no real world application.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 25, 2023 at 5:16 pm

loving this mobility show, all the jepunis coming out with seports car

• nasi lemak on Nov 02, 2023 at 4:01 pm

Interior really nice, but Exterior? come on, more like Road Vacuum Cleaner