Upgrade of Malaysian motorcycle licence from B2 class to B in final stage, end of year announcement

A proposal for the automatic upgrade of the Malaysian B2 class motorcycle licence to B is in the final stages of evaluation. Performed by the Ministry of Transport (MoT) and Road Transport Department (JPJ), the proposal will be forwarded to Transport Minister Anthony Loke and Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi by year’s end.

This was said by JPJ deputy director-general (Planning and Operations) Aedy Fadly Ramli in a The Star report. The proposal was earlier mooted by Zahid during a motorcycle convoy event in Pekan, Pahang last August.

“The proposal involves policy and JPJ is awaiting MoT’s decision before it is presented for implementation. If necessary, it will be brought to the Cabinet,… within this year when completed,” said Aedy.

Commenting on another issue, Aedy said the supply of motor vehicle licences (LKM) and vehicle grants or physical Vehicle Ownership Certificates (VOC) at JPJ offices is sufficient. Aedy explained any shortage of the LKM or VOC is due to delivery issues which will be resolved by JPJ, asking the public not to worry.

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Yes, rempits will upgrade their bikes to a higher CC. Come on. What is the logic of this? Higher capacity bikes are dangerous. Our laws are implemented, and yet motorcyclist still ride against the road and langgar traffic light. If discipline is good, then can consider lah. Even oversea country have 2 tier motorcycle license.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 30
    • Loklak on Nov 02, 2023 at 10:12 am

Let me ask you a simple question. Why didn’t car do the same thing? The 2 tier license?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • How fast can a car go on city roads? How safe are high powered bikes compared to cars? Driving big bikes are totally different compared to B2 license bike. Yes, there is a 2 tier license for cars. And if i can recall, Australia is one of it. We have B1 license according to the license stated at the back, why not upgrade from B2 to B1? That would be reasonable. I have a B full license, and yes, driving higher cc bikes are a different animal completely. And to add on to your question, not everyone can afford a high powered car, but high powered bikes are accessible to many people. You could get a Kawa Z750 for less than 20k. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • Rempits...A Clear n Present Danger on Nov 01, 2023 at 6:55 pm

Rempits generally,borrow bikes the higher cc, the thrill.
    The sad thing is the loaner r the bapak,with or without their knowledge.
    High time,the rempits n daddies r rounded up..secara besar besaran.
    By the way,since the last rempits operasi,how many of these daredevil rempits r incarcerated ,with their bikes disita?
    Can ahlokekor provide some figures?

• Syabas! on Nov 01, 2023 at 8:14 pm

Yg bakal menyumbang statistik korban tu tolong jgn menyusahkan org lain ye….tolong lah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 01, 2023 at 8:59 pm

Wonder what’s the play here. Why die die want to do the free upgrade?

If you really want to get a big bike, then take the test.

If you cannot afford to take the test, then maybe you should rethink if you can afford a big bike at all…even a cheap used one…. Big bikes are not cheap to run, insure and maintain. Least of all sharing the road with ill maintained bikes…

Next time when insurance co start moving to risk based, then all can expect bigger premiums…as it is, my bike insurance is more than my car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • lmao , I find comment here seriously funny af .
    mat rempit and mat motor is 2 different type. most of mat rempit here usually use 150cc motorcycle and Y15 is the most expensive motorcycle they can afford .
    the rest of the money they like to spend it at motorcyle accessories.

nak jadi orang tak bertamadun atas jalan raya ni tak memilih penunggang dan pemandu motorsikal /kereta. jadilah pengguna yang bijak .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Razzack on Nov 02, 2023 at 8:57 am

I agree with you. There are people in BMW driving like madman. There are also guys who owned ysuku, scooter and MPV. And their personality & driving/riding style changes depending in thr vehicle they drive/ride.

• Ah Chong on Nov 02, 2023 at 9:04 am

This will be controversial and get some hate, but here goes:

B2 holders most probably getting the license for utility reasons, probably smaller number actually doing it for fun. B Full however likely all doing it for fun or “achievements” because not everyone has this license. No one actually need it, it’s a luxury.

Next, B2 would range from 100cc kapcai to zx25r. But B full unlocks the turbo Busa for you. The problem is not for zx25r rider moving up to ninja 650, but it is a problem when ex5 rider picks up an H2.

There’s a balanced win-win approach, make B1 a thing again, but update the limit to European A2 level. These are still very capable bikes and enough for most people. This opens up bikes like zontes 350, RE meteor 350/650, ninja 400, Duke 390, TRK502, rebel 500 to everyone that has B2 license.

If even a ninja 400 isn’t enough for you and you have the skill to go even faster, then you should have no problem to afford and pass the B Full class. I ride an A2 class bike too, while it doesn’t do 299kmh but it’s more than enough to cruise on our highway in comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Yes..allow B2 up to 500cc, anything more get them to go for full B test. That’s more reasonable and motorbike riders know this make sense.

• komarad on Nov 02, 2023 at 10:41 am

make it only above 40 years old or 20 years riding experience can upgrade.. the rest need to be tested… just my 2 cents

• C70ftw on Nov 02, 2023 at 2:00 pm

Minister should consider this lah
    B – no limit cc bike
    B1 – below 500cc
    B2 – remove completely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Roti Canai on Nov 02, 2023 at 5:21 pm

If the gov approved on this, then it will one of the dumbest decision that they ever made…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • I feel, a lot of the concerns raised misses the point. Do the existing B Full course adequately trains an individual of handling a big bike? I think not. You’re likely given a 650cc naked bike (~50-60hp) as the training and test bike. The curriculum is not very much different to a b2 bike, except for the part of actually riding it around the parking lot through some preplanned obstacles and routes. This is not the same as trying to pilot a 200hp crotch rocket, or a adv bike that has a seat height of 850mm.

The auto upgrade isn’t going to magically allow access of a R1 or 1250GS to a “rempit” by giving them one in their garage the next morning. Money for the bike is going to be the ultimate factor – it already is as it’s not easily attainable for some. To think the B full training and exam is some sort of arbiter of competency and skill check is comical. If they aren’t going to take the teaching syllabus for B full training seriously we might as well do away with it and give people auto upgrade, because it’s just an unnecessary financial strain on the people to have to pay for it. I’d much rather see a complete revamp of the teaching and testing processes but alas.

Irresponsible riders are going to be irresponsible no matter what, and it’s just as easy to be wrapped around a tree on a kapcai as it is on a litre bike. You don’t magically blow up in a ball of fire when you get on a ducati – although it might feel like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Radzi on Nov 03, 2023 at 7:27 am

Good idea. Dont worry about rempit gang. Those who can afford buying big bikes are normally more mature for they have to think twice speeding recklessly cause the big bike maintanence arent cheap.

• Silmat on Nov 03, 2023 at 8:43 am

Similar to cars licence, they have P status and full status.
    Maybe can use same principle and requirement to motorcycle. B2 first, after 5-10 yrs, provided no traffic offend or accident history, can go for auto upgrade to B.
    For those traffic offender or involved in accident, the period counter should reset on the offend or accident date. They have to wait for another 5-10 yrs.

Alternatively, go take class and exam of B full to prove the authority that you can safely ride those big bikes.

• This one i agree. Bring back B1 class.
      B2- need to attend classes, for regulation knowledge & practical assessment. After passes, limited to 250cc & below.
      B1- after 10 years holding B2, automatically granted, with minor fee & simple application. Limited to 500cc & below. If do not want to wait for that 10 years, can go get special exam & practical assessment.
      B- after 5 years holding B1, same as above. Auto grant, small fee & simple application. To bypass this requirement, can go through special exam & assesment. No cc limit.
      No skipping of classes.
      From my personal experience as a biker, the older you are, the mature you get, the wiser decision you will make. But there is special classes that you can get to reach that maturity faster.

• Ednim on Nov 03, 2023 at 12:29 pm

More important is. Safety regulations need to be emphasized. All road users need to follow the rules. Action needs to be taken against law offenders.

• Muthu theva on Nov 08, 2023 at 9:47 am

This upgrade s is a good move, a local Japan assembly bike 100 to 150cc cause around 8 to 12k .Entire assemble parts were plastic compare to some of the bike 250to 500c were same good and solid handling with more safety features . The main reason there should deep checking on the background for all the rider’s whom wish upgrade . Rider’s with high records, cases shouldn’t be upgraded.The system should start to track all the rider’s and blacklist them from getting high cc bike licences.Public should be thinking positively there might 30 to 40% problem driver’s in all categories licences holder but till today no public could raise the matter from stopping the authorities from giving the licences to the such problem driver’s.
    Turn the statistics in monthly basis track the accident status by categories of vehicle’s . This to clearly understand accident difference.

• roslan on Nov 14, 2023 at 3:48 pm

L to B full rm1k++, B2 to Bfull rm1k++.. tepuk dahi..

• Manok Hutan Borneo on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:56 pm

These riders should pass an Advance Riding Course (ARC) first before they get the okay to upgrade their license from B2 to B Full. From doing a high speed emergency braking, engine braking, off-roading course, downhill control braking etc.