Grab to buy over foodpanda in Malaysia by next month – should we be concerned of a possible monopoly?

According to a report by NST, Delivery Hero-owned foodpanda could be sold as soon as December this year. As reported back in September, Grab, which previously took over Uber’s ASEAN operations, could pay a little more than one billion euros (around RM5 billion) for the foodpanda Asian unit.

Within Southeast Asia, foodpanda’s Malaysian operation is one of seven, with others being Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. In each of these markets, the online food delivery platform commands a sizeable market share of between 30-40%.

That’s considerable as it makes foodpanda the second largest food delivery company in Southeast Asia. However, news of the potential acquisition of foodpanda by Grab have raised concerns that the Singapore-based company Grab would create a monopoly in the p-hailing (delivery of food, drinks and parcels).

Some netizens are against the idea entirely, while others claim there is nothing wrong for business to want to increase their profits, but agree that monopolies are bad for consumers. There are even calls for Shopee or AirAsia to buy foodpanda as these platforms also offer food delivery services.

Speaking to NST, Malaysian Institute of Economic Research (MIER) economist Dr Shankaran Nambiar said a sale to Grab is a matter for Malaysia Competition Commission’s (MyCC) consideration. He added that there is a possible danger that Grab could achieve a monopoly through such an acquisition.

“However, if Grab does not in any way reduce competition, increase entry barriers and raise prices, then Grab cannot be held responsible for abusing its position. We do have a competition policy and competition laws. If there is anything to be done, it would be to empower MyCC further,” explained Shankaran.

What say you? How do you feel about Grab’s potential acquisition of foodpanda? Will this create a monopoly that reduces consumer power? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ex foodpanda rider on Nov 03, 2023 at 4:12 pm

Monopolies are generally considered to be bad for consumers because they lead to inefficiencies, lack of innovation, and higher prices.

• Wahab Tan Abdullah on Nov 03, 2023 at 7:04 pm

agree. I guess it’s high time to nationalize Grab..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Both grab and food panda have been losing money. For several years now. Not sure because of high overheads or the business is just not sustainable. Even gojek exiting this biz in Singapore.
      Dame in ride hailing. All losing money including uber. Same with didi.

• Considering your point, there probably need to be changes over how they operate. No wonder they are looking into self-driving vehicles and drones.

Maybe PosMalaysia should join in as well. Their trucks should also carry dry foods, like those Uncle Roti on bikes. Also, Order Meals prior one day, deliver together with your Saman PDRM. :D

• Foot P*ntat on Nov 03, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Nanti meroyan la rider2 insentif semua kena potong. Pas tu buat mogok depan sogo mintak gomen campur tangan mintak ni mintak tu

• Phuddi sung lee on Nov 03, 2023 at 5:22 pm

Same like lasts time this non sense astro , end of day astro going to close shop, meaning to say grab wan to monopolies tday guaranteed it sucks other co rights and previlges,it’s nature that IF tday u do bad things to others,tomorrow it would come to u,no matter how so call smart u r,so wait till grab back bone would be broken , it cmg v soon

• Ben Yap on Nov 03, 2023 at 5:31 pm

still got shopee food, no need to be scared.

• ROTI CANAI on Nov 03, 2023 at 5:39 pm

I miss Uber. seriously. grab sucks.

• Mycc should check on bernas first. Why is rice import exempted from competition? It goes against anti competition act.

• regular panda pro user, and i’m upset by this.
    time to request data deletion, dont want it to be transfer to a new company owner without my permission.

• Anthony Tan on Nov 04, 2023 at 10:56 am

Please don’t do that ;-(

• Seitha on Nov 06, 2023 at 7:28 am

No way bro… once you put your data in these apps… its for sale to all and sundry!!..

Food panda will sell everything…lock stock and barrel…

There is no incentive for food panda to waste their time deleting data…or they may even copy all the data and sell to scammers!!!

• Kea Was on Nov 04, 2023 at 7:03 pm

Why should we be surprised this is what the government has been doing all these times with direct negotiation tender given to family and cronies with little to no work done so now one should understand how that is bad for 95% of the population.

• Ethan on Nov 05, 2023 at 10:12 am

Why wasn’t Competition laws enforced when Grab took over Uber? Already made them a monopoly

• correct. in SG, when Grab bought Uber, they were penalised millions of SGD. as usual, MY gomen are useless, incompetent SAMPAH

• Seitha on Nov 06, 2023 at 7:31 am

When a “org” has monopoly, they can do what they want… look at Big Pharma.. how they have lobbied the US gov with bribes to put into law all kinds of f@#$ing shitty vaccination for the american people!!

• Chuaboy on Nov 07, 2023 at 11:22 pm

it’s just nature of business, not happy can always cook or eat yrself