Perodua increases targets for 2023 to 325,000 sales from strong customer demand, improved parts supply

Perodua has revised its production target upwards for 2023 to 338,000 units and its sales target to 325,000 units, up from its initial production target of 330,000 units and sales target of 314,000 units which were announced in January this year, the national carmaker has announced.

Even before the upwards revision of its full-year targets, the initial targets, should they be achieved for 2023, would surpass its 2022 production and sales figures of 289,054 units and 282,019 units respectively, which is its prevailing record.

October 2023 saw the highest-ever production and sales achievement by the brand, with 35,111 units produced and 33,836 units sold in a single month, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad said in a statement.

For comparison, the carmaker produced 22,974 units and registered 24,849 units in the same month last year (October 2022), and the increase in production was achieved with available resources within the current automotive ecosystem, the Perodua president and CEO said.

On the year-to-date basis, Perodua made 280,452 units between January and October this year, which represents a 22% increase over the 229,811 units produced between January and October 2022. For sales, the carmaker recorded 267,063 registrations in the first 10 months of this year, or a 20.2% increase over the 222,203 units registered in the same period last year.

This year, the Bezza has taken over from the Myvi to be Perodua’s best-selling car of 2023 so far, which is quite the feat considering the compact sedan was first launched in July 2016.

Perodua is ramping up output from its two factories in Sungai Choh, Rawang to 30,000 units a month as supplies of raw materials and parts are now catching up with demand, Zainal said last month.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• anonymous on Nov 07, 2023 at 4:45 pm

because we definitely need more cars on the road

• Ahmed Dedat on Nov 07, 2023 at 5:06 pm

Good business for Tow truckers and repair workshop. Needs more cRs submerged on floods water these year end monsoon season

• Aikon on Nov 07, 2023 at 5:56 pm

Ppl buy P2 bcuz Toyota reliability & Lexus class

• YB Kunta Kinte on Nov 07, 2023 at 8:17 pm

Proton is selling 160 000 units by 31 Dec.
          At 325 000 units blockbuster sales,Perodua should start considering name makeover…PERTAMA.
          Imagine,your kid is scoring straight As,and u keep calling ” Nombor DUA”,..he will think something is wrong.
          When recognition is due..Perodua…pls receive it.

• ghost on Nov 08, 2023 at 8:56 am

I think you’re kidding. P2 cars right now suck! Just bought a new P2 car for my wife, and you can see rust everywhere, steering rack problem, rattling sound etc. CEO P2 doesn’t care on quality, as long as they produce more cars.

• Ahlokekor on Nov 08, 2023 at 9:39 pm

Sir,there is no lemon law yet.Just send the blardy car back to P2 service centre.Just claim your warranty repairs.This applies to P1 ,UMW,Honda.So happen u got a lemon car but cant reject 100%.

• In Malaysia, cant easily staying at 1 place to access ammenities and facilities.

we definitely need cars or motorcycle to travel to buy foods, works, shopping and others.

• suomynona on Nov 07, 2023 at 5:14 pm

Building profit, cars first

• Peppa on Nov 07, 2023 at 8:27 pm

This is a company that relatively cheap cars. What do you expect them to do? Make cars in pLoton x50,x70,x90 prices brackets?

• Kevin on Nov 07, 2023 at 5:55 pm

No wonder getting more jammed every freaking day.

• Pakai proton jer on Nov 07, 2023 at 10:40 pm

No interest of buying p2 car for now bcoz:
    – long waiting list
    – no discount no freebies
    – top model forced included eco idle, asa, acc which completely useless or irritating for a veteran driver.

• Wait for PADU petrol rationalisation. Then see la how your sell when Petrol at RM3 per litre.

• Rich Malaysians on Nov 08, 2023 at 11:34 am

From this news, you can see how good is the economy in Malaysia and this is just the sales from 1 of the many brands company in malaysia. Malaysians are so damn rich , almost every citizen can own 1 or maybe 2 – 3 cars. Should post more rich activities to the social media.

• Karen on Nov 08, 2023 at 1:21 pm

Meanwhile, Proton only sell rebadge unsold Geely cars and still super late to the market.