The facelifted Proton X70 has been spotted on public roads in Malaysia again, including during a trip up Genting Highlands – these images come courtesy of paultan.org readers Putra Kamrin Azran and Adam Johnston.
Like the previous sighting back in October, the revised C-segment SUV isn’t completely dressed in camouflage, with just the front and rear ends covered. The changes are expected to mirror those of the Geely Boyue facelift, which include slimmer headlamps, a wider lower intake as well as a more sculpted bonnet.
The grille is different too, and we can clearly make out the chrome pins that bring the X70 in line with the larger, D-segment X90. This replaces the Infinite Weave look that has been around since the X70 was launched back in 2018, and was carried over with the first minor change (MC) that arrived last year.
The pictured taillights that aren’t camouflaged appear to be unchanged from before, further confirming the X70 MC2 will be based on the Boyue facelift rather than the Boyue Pro. No interior shots yet, but we can expect the changes inside to mirror the Boyue facelift, which are relatively minor.
With the MC, the X70 received a 1.5 litre turbocharged inline-three petrol engine that serves up 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque, paired with a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission to drive the front wheels – there’s also a sole all-wheel drive option (1.5 TGDI Executive AWD).
The previous 1.8 litre turbo-four unit with 184 PS and 300 Nm was also retained, but is only fitted to one variant (1.8 TGDI Premium 2WD). We can expect this powertrain line-up to be carried forward for the X70 MC2.
GALLERY: 2022 Geely Boyue facelift
GALLERY: Geely Boyue Pro in China
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Perfect car for warga DAP
pasaipa pntaksub.. lampu supo design bulan PAS
Suma benda nk dipolitikkan mmg susah la Malaysia nk maju…
I chuckle seeing lot of these at workshops unrepairable
I chuckle seeing brainless internet army recycling comments
Nice made in china car
I support all Chinese product today. China and Russia is number supporter of Palestine. China dan Rusia is our friends. Countries that supports Israel Yahudi : Amerika, Eropah, India, Korea selatan dan Jepun.
Never ever forget that and never again we should get bluffed by western medias (fake news)
Mantap Geely, Mantap Proton
This bitch must be forgotten that chinese government have breach our airspace and broke international laws so many times
Alamak..terlupa Uyghur pulak
We will never forget the evil organisation whom bombed Bangkok Erawan tourist spot.
Uighurs live a better life, income, education and living standard than Malaysian.
The previous 1.8 litre turbo-four unit with 184 PS and 300 Nm was also retained, but is only fitted to one variant (1.8 TGDI Premium 2WD). We can expect this powertrain line-up to be carried forward for the X70 MC2.
There is little to 0 chance the 1.8L TGDi will be retained more like it will be replaced with the 1.5L TGDi Hybrid similar to X90 and all other country Geely currently sells to.
Rather than waisting money time and resource to make new grill/panels, just use same geely parts and change the logo.
Don’t underestimate grille engineering ok /s
You should tell that to Volvo EM90, Aston Martin Cygnet aswell while you are at it.
But we wanna copy mesilis old amg grilles boohoo
when car companies have more fashion designer than actual car engineers.
Those LED reflectors sorted in one long line look so ugly. Even W205 LED reflector look miserable against normal Mercedes projector. I’d always prefer projector headlight LED or not.
world class aftersales
Kejuruteraan grill dan bumper
This is a norm for Proton team…easy job maa.
This time MC2 customer quite lucky becoz got new slim headlamp.
I think they mirror to Boyue Pro front and back. just only they dont retain the tail lights. dont see any of Boyue Facelift here.
you’re wrong, they didn’t facelift the back. Boyue Pro’s back lights are of different shapes and has a chrome light through it.
Biggest shortcoming vs mazda, honda and toyota is the fuel efficiency, android auto takrak… What for made it clumsy then overpowered? Can afford the price point better buy toyota cross or honda hrv v spec.
so 1.8 engine not tuned?
Proton is show casing their bumper engineering skills.
Reminds me of the old protons like saga… facelift after facelift for 15 years. Same product.. just different bumpers and grill and rims…