Jalan Cheras, roads around it flooded this evening

Another day of rain in the evening means another day of floods in the city. In a post on its Facebook page, Kuala Lumpur traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT KL) highlighted roads in three locations that were facing rising waters at around 6pm due to the heavy rain that occurred around KL city centre earlier this evening.

The first location is on Jalan Cheras, from the Jalan Ikan Ayu traffic light towards Shamelin, while the second location is on the East-West highway opposite Taman Connaught, leading to the old toll site. According to the post, which was made about an hour ago, one lane on this route was still passable.

As for the third flash flood location, that’s on Jalan Cheras, in front of Eko Cheras Mall towards Billion Circle. Here, it was reported that vehicle movement was still smooth.

The cops have advised the public to be careful on the road and obey the instructions of traffic officers on duty. As always, it’s highly recommended that you consider getting the Special Perils add-on for your vehicle’s insurance coverage, as past floods in recent times have shown that vehicle owners without flood coverage can face potentially massive repair bills. Stay safe out there.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• john dough on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:01 pm

to ease traffic and aviod flood one should build more elevated highways

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Ah loke on Nov 24, 2023 at 6:33 pm

Cheras always DAP punya area mah. Mana Ada Tukar?

• white knight on Nov 24, 2023 at 11:57 pm

seeing congestion on the MEX highway everyday. I think we should have add more lanes or maybe build evelated lanes like the SPE. Not only this can solve congestion but also road flooding issue.

• devan nair on Nov 24, 2023 at 9:09 am

Different government but same problem

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 24, 2023 at 11:44 am

Tukar pon sama jugak. Lagi baik x tukar. At least matawang kita tak turun. Time to UBAH BALIK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Alihms on Nov 24, 2023 at 10:40 am

There are worst floods happening elsewhere in the country. Kuala Terengganu for example has more than 2500 people in PPS right now. And yet this minor inconvenience, is highlighted. The world does not revolve around KL you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • anton on Nov 24, 2023 at 10:58 am

because it should NOT happen in the capital of the country. Its not acceptable, embarrassing since it happen many2 times. They need to spend money to create more catchment areas or improve the drainage issue. Instead they spend money to build billboard.

• Mental on Nov 24, 2023 at 8:28 pm

There are many idiots like you in the country as well doesn’t mean i can’t point out that you’re an idiot here…..

only in Selangor and KL has changed more governments than any country over a period of 5 years…. instead of barking go and do the job you’ve been shouting over the past 50 years la tiu

• kumàr on Jan 11, 2024 at 2:22 am

Oh my god