Proton S70 has 1,200 bookings at launch, targets 5,000 by end of year; more Flagship X bookings expected

With the Proton S70 now having been officially launched, the national carmaker’s latest sedan model has scored 1,200 bookings from launch. Find out more about the Proton S70 in detail, along with our first impressions of the car.

This figure is expected to increase dramatically after pricing has been revealed, which has been announced to be from RM73,800 for the base Executive variant, through the Premium at RM79,800, the Flagship at RM89,800, and up to RM94,800 for the range-topping Flagship X (all prices are on-the-road without insurance).

Demand for the S70 is expected to reach 5,000 bookings by the end of this year, and the spread of demand between variants is expected to be 40% for the Premium, 40% for the Flagship and 20% for the Flagship X. However, more conversions of prior bookings from other variants in to bookings for the top Flagship X are expected, given the announcement of pricing as well as the free bodykit offered.

Proton S70 Flagship

To recap, the Proton S70 is based on the Geely Emgrand, and so it shares its Geely BMA architecture with the Proton X50. While that car gets a 1.5L naturally aspirated engine and CVT combination in other markets, Malaysia’s S70 gets a 1.5L port-injected three-cylinder engine with 150 PS and 226 Nm, paired with a dual-clutch transmission.

Notable kit on the Flagship variant includes the ADAS suite which adds on Autonomous Emergency Braking with Forward Collision Warning, Adaptive Cruise Control with Stop & Go, Lane Departure Warning and Prevention, Lane Centring Control, Traffic Sign Information and Intelligent High Beam Control. This kit is not found on the Emgrand, thus bringing another Proton-exclusive feature set.

As it has emerged, the S70 isn’t quite identical to the Emgrand in exterior dimensions, instead the Proton measures 4,602 mm long and 1,809 mm wide, with a 2,627 mm wheelbase, making its slightly smaller than the Emgrand on those counts, according to the national carmaker’s figures.

GALLERY: Proton S70 1.5T Flagship X

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Sohai on Nov 29, 2023 at 12:20 pm

Itu gomen fleet booking ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • yeah yeah on Nov 29, 2023 at 12:28 pm

kudos for proton price, looking forward to next Q sales, will the s70 beat out the japan rivals??

• apa nama on Nov 29, 2023 at 12:50 pm

i thot this model replacement for persona …price around 60-70k ? see see price 75-95k…haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • Angker on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:02 pm

To compare, Dulu Persona Preve Inspira also got multilink suspension

• biriburu on Dec 01, 2023 at 4:04 pm

multilink suspension is overrated. My car with torsion beam drives better than a lot of those multilink cars. It’s all about how they’re tuned. Also multilink suspension won’t make you a better driver.

• Autodriver on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:12 pm

You expect a turbo charged 1.5 with DCT at RM60k? If 75k based model is expensive to you mean you are not enough hardworking to earn more income to afford one. Current Persona basically is A+ segment, slightly bigger than Saga only. This S70 is replacement of Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
      • all bullshit on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:24 pm

dont talk crap la…here the car industry is protected to make other cars expensive…so bila mau open up and scrap all the ap and excise duty?….all talk and no action..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
        • Nonsense on Nov 29, 2023 at 6:10 pm

You don’t like it here, you move out. As simple as that. People who can afford really don’t mind. There’s even underpowered 15 inch Perodua for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • Autodriver on Nov 29, 2023 at 9:12 pm

Reduce excise duty but raise the fuel price, which one you take? It can’t be cheap car price and also low fuel price as of now. Government subsidized heavy on fuel. If they remove fuel subsidy many goods and services price hike. This is not fair to those who not owning a car. You save the tariff on car but divert the cost to public. If government doesn’t has the excise duty as income, they can’t subsidy on fuel. This is simple mechanism.

If you dream on cheap car price and cheap fuel price, a 2km distance will takes you 30 min to drive even in non peak time because everywhere is cars. Unless you can come out with a mechanism that government got more income without taxing on car and able to subsidize on fuel, meanwhile rakyat do not feel burden to pay tax so that they can enjoy buying a car in cheap price. This not gonna happen man. Use your brain to think on it.

• all big time lies on Nov 29, 2023 at 9:57 pm

bottomline all human beings are hypocrites la……if you want fairness then remove all subsidies and protection la..nail all corruption and leakages and do away all nepotism/cronism …the list continues…

• ThePolygon on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:09 pm

The tech offering is good for this price there are no others that can compare even those priced 50k above this.

• Azgarffield on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:11 pm

I’m not sure whether Proton is fully in sync with customer’s aspirations yet. The pricing is a step in the right direction though. Judging from early comments and discussions in FB, many were more inclined to the Executive specs.

The 5,000 “bookings” IMHO are more targeted to “registrations” in Proton’s early planned production of Flagship variants for showroom display and test drive cars (of course for buyers as well).

I would advise Proton this time; not to artificially push demands to Premium variants and above (by asking SAs to upsell). Customers are looking for value for money. Temporarily you may get converted sales from frustrated Alza buyers. Soon Perodua will fight back with Nexis.

Entertain those buyers with 75K and below budget; and you will have a winner in 2024.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Sohai on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:38 pm

With the pricing, I think the most enticing model is the based executive as you said.
      Rm75k, I think there is a lot of car for the money.
      But adding rm20k of specs to a rm70k car I think is abit much. There is only 1 ADAS feature that I really want and that’s anti collision as it saved me before. The rest of ADAS like guided cruise control I never use them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Albert Einstein said,Never work hard,but work smart on Nov 29, 2023 at 4:35 pm

Mr Sorlow
        I memang agree with u.
        The base model has thrown off balance lots of other fanboys.
        With the economy ,not so rosy..buyers r adapting to changing times,cut back a bit on spending.
        The S70 base specs will entice not only sedan lovers but also Suv lovers.
        It is quite a spacious car with ample boot space n can seat 5 comfortable for long distance.
        This might become the only blockbuster launching from Proton this year.I have migrated to UMW,but give credit to P1 when due.

• Proton Oh Proton on Nov 29, 2023 at 1:13 pm

waiting for service package pricing.

• dong gor on Nov 29, 2023 at 2:30 pm

U launched 4 models, but the top 3 covers 100%. So proton do you know your maths? or do you not know your variants being offered?
    “the spread of demand between variants is expected to be 40% for the Premium, 40% for the Flagship and 20% for the Flagship X”

• dont wait for executive on Nov 29, 2023 at 6:54 pm

lol, got ppl want to buy low specs with no reverse cam?
      go install outside the proton head unit can support?

• price with jajan merepek

• Can’t wait for geely jiaji for 6/7 seaters MPV. Hopefully they bring in asap.

• IF VIOS is SO good Why ? on Nov 29, 2023 at 5:25 pm

WHY UMW sold off Toyota to SIMEDARBY

Because months ago UMW hear rumour of S70 pricing

Toyota RV drops like a Rock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Ex Sime darby staff on Nov 29, 2023 at 7:24 pm

Your reasoning is crap.
      UMW belongs to PNB.Sime Darby also.They r both anak anak PNB.So if PNB say swap..they swap.Sell, they sell.
      S70 belongs to DRB/geely..dont confuse easily,dude.

• wira my first car on Nov 30, 2023 at 12:11 pm

I will choose the premium. Would consider exec but no reverse camera, no led headlamp, no leather wrap steering, paid 6k safe the hassle lah. Flagship no too many complicated things for old uncle like me, flagship x lagi no no lah paid 6k for unuseful sunroof.

• Laugh on Nov 30, 2023 at 4:26 pm

Like I said before, this car is DOA.

High fuel consumption
    Car value jacked up by accessories
    High maintenance cost
    Scarce replacement parts
    Lack of aftersales service quality
    Extra – Car sound like a diesel lorry

Marketing this car at a cheap price is a good thing.
    But make sure you can afford the maintenance.
    Don’t be like those going to tyre shops looking for used tyres and begging for more discount on em just to keep the car rolling on the road.

Yeah, I love used Protons.
    You know why.

• Sallehhoudin on Nov 30, 2023 at 6:12 pm

To sell my bmw 328i and buy s70 proton.