Proton S70 – why ADAS only on Flagship models?

When the first indication of specifications for the Proton S70 emerged at the start of November, the new sedan was shown to be offered across four variants – 1.5T Executive, 1.5T Premium, 1.5T Flagship and the 1.5T Flagship X; or, three-and-a-bit, given the distinguishing factors between the Flagship and Flagship X are a sunroof and an exclusive paint option (Quartz Black).

The unveiling of this specifications list also revealed that the suite of advanced driver assistance systems (ADAS) is reserved for the Flagship and Flagship X variants, which led us to ask; why has Proton limited its availability on the S70 to the top two variants, while its two main rivals, the Honda City and Toyota Vios have ADAS fitted across all their variants as standard?

The 2023 Honda City facelift brought the Honda Sensing ADAS suite for all variants, while the fourth-generation Toyota Vios also brought ADAS features to both variants from launch.

“When we were deciding on pricing [for the S70], we were considering different groups of customers. Even for us, based on the models that we are selling now, although there are some older variants that do not come with [the most complete] specifications, there are customers going for it because of the models’ affordability,” said Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah.

The A-segment Perodua Axia comes equipped with ASA 3.0, which packs AEB and front departure warning

“If you want ADAS, choose the variant that comes with ADAS. There are some customers who buy [vehicles equipped with] ADAS, but are afraid of using the ADAS features,” Roslan continued, adding that the offering of ADAS on the top variants is in order for the S70’s pricing to be within the desired range, and to “give the right perspective on the pricing of our products.”

Notably, even A-segment models in Malaysia come equipped with ADAS, namely the 2023 Perodua Axia Advance with its Advanced Safety Assist (ASA 3.0) sutie that includes autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and front departure warning, which alerts you when the front car has moved.

Ahead of the official launch for the Proton S70, we’ve learnt more about the national carmaker’s latest sedan, along with early impressions of the car. The Proton S70 is a C-segment-sized model aimed at the B-segment competition, and it is powered by the 1.5-litre port-injected three-cylinder engine from the Proton X50 (Standard to Premium variants), matching the SUV’s outputs of 150 PS and 226 Nm.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• iskandar on Nov 22, 2023 at 8:05 pm

why dont manufacturer put it as option for all variant?
    some opt for lower variant but looking for adas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 115
  • Johnny on Nov 22, 2023 at 8:25 pm

What a joke. Please go learn from global manufacturers lah, you can skim on other features but for safety features, make it standard across the models. This way, surely your price point can still similar to now. It is not that buyers willing to sacrifice on safety by buying cheaper cars but they dont have a choice because if Saga is 40k with 2 airbags only, and buyers can only afford 40k, do they have other choice within Proton? Pls use common sense Deputy CEO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 160
    • Xc90 Owner on Nov 22, 2023 at 8:48 pm

Deputy Ceo cap ayam, use brain before making statement. B segment car but syok sendiri claim c segment. Those who buy this car really kena kencing by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 67
  • Civic Type Rawr on Nov 22, 2023 at 8:30 pm

Lame excuse. I for one don’t mind intelligent safety features, nor do I care about infotainment. But there’s plenty of people incapable of defensive driving, it should be standard especially for car above 80k when even 40k car equipped with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 76
    • Charles Darwin on Nov 23, 2023 at 6:35 am

Reckless people shouldn’t be allowed to drive let alone breed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Ur moms car on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:02 pm

Why not just say proton cutting cost by removing the adas for profit lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • Marco on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:29 pm

Last time when I bought my Proton Waja about RM63K and that time Toyota Vios selling RM79K and price different is RM16K and about 26%. If now Proton selling RM70K, shall no ppl complain. If different less than 10%, I’ll prefer Japanese boring car but reliable lo. Not everyone can afford above RM80K car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
    • Jaguh Global on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:00 am

That’s why Proton S70 price must be similar to Vios and City to validate their claim of so-called product superiority.

Selling cheaper means you’re afraid of competing head-on against Toyota and Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Retired Racer on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:30 pm

Not everyone wants ADAS in their cars. I dont like them and i definitely wont want them. Why? It makes battery cost and usability cost not attractive after 5 years. Electronics and AI breakdown more often than mechanicals. To buyers on a budget and live in suburbs or small town, ADAS makes.no sense in usability. Knowing typical Malaysians even when buying Battery for car also must find the cheapest one and that does not work for cars with ADAS. To those condenming without thinking but using trend as a factor, probably they love living with high debts as a trend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
  • Ramee on Nov 22, 2023 at 9:45 pm

today standard:
    1. No AEB = Tin Kosong.
    2. AEB only = Low Spec.
    3. AEB + BSM = Mid Spec.
    4. AEB + BSM + L2 Sefl Driving = Flagship High Spec.

• Retired grabber on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:10 pm

I supported the idea. Some old driver like me only want a simple car. The adas for me no use but all disabled. I dun mind the beeps to alert me when danger, but i not really want the system to ”assists” the steering, gas and brake pedal movement. Abs and vsc just enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Your argument maybe right from your stance, personal preference, don’t like the car assist your steering. But besides those Lane keep assist and departure mitigation, the autonomous is the most important content for ADAS. It not only protect yourself but also other road users. When driver is not alert/distracted while driving, it help to prevent or reduce impact of your car to hit other people cars. It is responsibility to other road user also, besides self preference.

• Sohai on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:13 pm

I want ADAS but willing to let go your lousy entertainment screen. Take away the leather seats and bigger rims too.
    Can or not?
    You know people want ADAS that’s why you put it at the most expensive spec. Say lah, at least you will sound smarter than giving your lame excuse.

• SkyNet on Nov 22, 2023 at 10:17 pm

Better question is why gov haven’t make ADAS as a must-have standard? So, is it wrong if carmakers don’t include it across all variant? Then what next? Y’all want a system that you can drive your car without looking at the road? Or maybe a system that can predict a collision and tell you before you got t-boned? You want the car to be more intelligent than the driver? Transformers? Terminator?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Adas should be a basic requirement even for $40k car. S70 is just a B segement car but claimed as C segment. This is a replacement to Preve. So they should priced it not exceeding Preve price at $57k or lower to be competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • Azriq on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:18 am

No way they puting the s70 at that price point. Even 1L Axia Av reach 50k(without otr) and 1.5L myvi Av at 63k.

The better price should be 70k for the lowest spec because right now there is vacant for sedan at 60 to 80k price. Proton persona at 60k for highest spec and suddenly jump to 80k ish. Sometime i do want the s70 to ditch the 1.5l turbo and when with 1L turbo like ativa to cut the cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Adas should be a basic requirement even for $40k car. S70 is just a B segement car. This is a replacement to Preve. So they should priced it not exceeding Preve price at $57k or lower to be competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • As a Myvi owner, the amount of people who makes it a necessity to turn off ADAS immediately after starting the car is worrying. And they even encourage others to do the same. And these people bought the top spec just to turn off everything they paid for. I’m not encouraging proton to omit ADAS but the explanation is totally relatable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • That is because myvi adas is sucks. Proton’s adas is better. Very few of x series users wants to turn off the feature FYI

• Progee salesman on Nov 23, 2023 at 6:33 am

Flagship and above models have ADAS, lesser variants have AWAS SENDIRI MAU INGAT

• Susukotak on Nov 23, 2023 at 7:18 am

He imply that, the group buying cheap s70 is not fit for extra safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • Kea Was on Nov 23, 2023 at 8:07 am

Better just say this is Malaysia corruption and cronies is rampant from top all the way to the bottom so we also learn from the top lie and lie and lie somemore and hopefully you will understand of the middle man to always give them benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • stranger on Nov 23, 2023 at 8:34 am

Safety only for people who can afford.no money, your life is worthless – Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • FE owner on Nov 23, 2023 at 8:56 am

I turn off LDW permanently, wish to be able to turn off AEB permanently in my civic. I think ADAS is nice to have and could be dangerous if not calibrated properly. I bet many people never use ADAS functions (ACC, LKA) after the 1st month owning the car. IMO, it’s good to let customer choose whether u want it or not, based on your own application and preference.

• Squid on Nov 23, 2023 at 9:25 am

Proton being a local brand and manufactured locally, should do what other auto makers do in their home country. Offer a basic spec with menu for add ons. Having everything pre-specced is reducing consumenr options and not making full use of local manufacturing capability.

• opmanmy on Nov 23, 2023 at 9:38 am

Typical Proton attitude. They never learnt. Lame excuses. If priced above 60k, ppl will go for the Jap ones. No brainer. Proton has legacy brand image issues. Unless they market something useful, they will be syok sendiri marketing. Remember Waja was originally positioned as “Asia’s answer to BMW” and how it went after that we all know better.

For the S70, just position 2 model, base and premium. No need so many variants with all those less than useful accessories. Build up your brand image first. You have legacy perception issues. Stop treating us like minions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • ROTI CANAI on Nov 23, 2023 at 9:46 am

laughs in perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • proton s30 on Nov 23, 2023 at 10:44 am

If the acc is like the balia one in the ativa better dun put in to lower the car price.

• pengayuhbasikal on Nov 23, 2023 at 10:58 am

ADAS work well in environment where all drivers behave while driving.. just in the simulated environment… .ekekekekekekkekeke

• kenot on Nov 23, 2023 at 11:48 am

After researching in depth about several things about the S70, I found that the selling point of this model is only on the powertrain and advanced specs that are given as typical of other Chinese-made cars. In addition, the price is not very competitive even though Proton tries to make it a C-segment competitor with B-segment prices such as city and vios.

The S70 is also not too spacious compared to the City or other C-segments. Furthermore, even though IHU is sophisticated, it does not offer ACPAA. And don’t forget, there is no more proton ride-and-handling since the rebadge of Geely models.

The S70 only adds to the customer’s choice for the existing sedan that has been dominated by the city and vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
    • Nonsense on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:38 pm

“not too spacious compared to the City”. You really have to pulled that info out of your pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • yes…during the media preview, some of the journalists said the backseat@legroom is not too spacious compared to Honda City, even S70 claimed as C-segment car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • ADAS is only a supplementary system same like airbag

• toyotafan on Nov 23, 2023 at 12:09 pm

they cant offer adas an an option for all variants because it would wreck havoc to their production lines.

however, many people dont want adas, as they just turn it all off.

as long as active safety is available, its all good. cheaper too.

• Because their target market are unsophisticated with lower education level, B40 plus lower tier M40 folks, that can accept switching of B-segment to C-segment blindly.

• Ben Yap on Nov 24, 2023 at 10:27 am

don’t offer ADAS for the lower variants is a good way to reduce the population of B40 so that the T20 won’t be tax so much in the future.