Government conducting public survey on targeted subsidies – RON 95 implementation in 2H 2024

The government is currently conducting a survey regarding the retargeting of aid and subsidies from now until December 31, 2023. Open to the public (access it here), the survey is being conducted by the ministry of domestic trade and costs of living (KPDN), with the views of the rakyat being taken into consideration before targeted subsidies are introduced.

Through the survey, the government hopes to gain a better overview of how well Malaysians understand the implementation of targeted subsidies, identify practical methods of providing aid and subsidies that Malaysians would prefer as well as any other input or views from the people.

Whether you’re in support of targeted subsidies or not, fill up the survey to let the government know your thoughts on the matter. Come 2024, the government plans to introduce a targeted subsidy mechanism for RON95 petrol in the second half of the year.

This move is in line with its effort to optimise resources while reducing leakages and wastage. Aside from petrol, targeted subsidies will also affect diesel, which will be introduce in phases. Economy minister Rafizi Ramli has said that the Pangkalan Data Utama (PADU) socio-economic database would be a crucial component in allowing the government to rationalise its subsidies and implement social welfare reforms. As of October, the PADU database was 72% complete.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• ThePolygon on Dec 04, 2023 at 12:06 pm

Buat macam TNB lah… subsidi berdasarkan penggunaan. Contoh, setiap orang diberi 100 litre petrol subsidi, lebih daripada itu, bayar full price. So everyone gets the subsidi up to your quota or B40 get unlimited subsidi to re-sell petrol?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Petrol Card 500 Litres on Dec 04, 2023 at 5:02 pm

Yup better use petrol card for every car owners but with quota limit 500 liters per month (diesel or petrol cars) on subsidised price.

500 liters shoould be enough for average car user 2000-3000km per month travel.

Above excess that limit then pay full market price RM5.00 per liter. Very simple easy solution using only petrol card. No need crazy formula new computer system to avoid crashed server due to incompetent IT vendor that sub sub sub work to another Alibaba contractor nonsense craps budaya songlap tak habis2.

• Subsidies r like controlled hypertension on Dec 04, 2023 at 8:49 pm

Do u know,once the hypertension drug(called fuel subsidy) is withdrawn,a person can die of kidney failure,enlarged heart,stroke etc within weeks?
        So,not to worry,Sir.U cant withdraw subsidy overnight.
        Once the massive backlash comes,…u know the end result.
        Now.they keep delaying…first quarter becomes second quarter,survey lagi,then Merdeka political survey,then Christmas..Ho Ho ,Santa comes calling 2024.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 05, 2023 at 12:03 pm

They lied, they never ask rakyat. Basically we want this whole idea buried and for PH to fulfill their promise of RM 1.50 petrol. That is so simple and that is all what rakyat wants. Just give what we want!

• anti-zionis Malaysian on Dec 06, 2023 at 6:01 pm

You zionis are still posting disinformation in order to try & destabilise Malaysia & weaken support for Palestinian cause, by misusing the ‘Rakyat Malaysia’ name.. But then what do you zionis know?

paultan.org/2023/09/20/price-of-petrol-cannot-be-lowered-to-rm1-50-per-litre-due-to-the-current-price-of-crude-oil-pm-anwar/

• Pyongyang on Dec 08, 2023 at 7:00 am

North Korea welcomes geng boikot. Dijamin bebas pengaruh Israel & USA. Jgn sembang kencang kalau masih guna android, iPhone, wasap, fb, ig

• Inspector mazlan on Dec 04, 2023 at 5:12 pm

Duduk flat PPR 1rumah ade 4kreta, Ysuku & astro

• Dah Menang Semua on Dec 04, 2023 at 6:44 pm

I like your CCP idea

• Pakngah dulu Pas on Dec 04, 2023 at 12:29 pm

Alhamdulillah mantap terbaik krjn PH BN.
    Help and take care of us the poors, tax the rich..

• 4GR-FSE on Dec 04, 2023 at 1:43 pm

The biggest loop hole is how government define household income whether they are affluent or low income group. A non-working housewife can help his T20 husband to refill at the petrol station if the wife is declared as non-working and eligible to get the subsidy.
    The recent eMadani RM100 distribution already expose the weakness in the government’s database.

• Dong gor on Dec 04, 2023 at 1:57 pm

Survey apa . implementation date also got already!

• Pizi Pormula xPadu on Dec 04, 2023 at 6:24 pm

If public says NO in the survey gomen still proceed?

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Dec 05, 2023 at 9:53 am

Do u still believe in their lies?

• mambang sembang on Dec 06, 2023 at 5:53 pm

So you confess to lying?

• abah tak sembang seperti budak kecik mcm engkau on Dec 06, 2023 at 7:08 pm

abah last year told the truth about targeted subsidy and they believed him

• Ben Yap on Dec 04, 2023 at 2:06 pm

won’t make any difference, T20 will always force to pay for B40.

• Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Dec 04, 2023 at 2:43 pm

Why conduct survey when you r 72% into PADU ?
    U should survey first,then get your PADU dudes to streamline/focus on core issues to get your required data.
    At the rate things r progressing,from first quarter to second quarter n now survey lagi..rakyat beginning to feel there will be further delays,n dont give a damn.
    The goalposts keep shifting…just pathetic.