Bikers riding motorcycles with noisy exhausts made to replace exhaust at the police station

Over 60 motorcycle riders who flouted the law on noisy exhausts were made to replace the exhaust at the station. This was at the mass inspection of motorcycles seized after a two-day operation in the capital city on December 16 and 17.

During the inspection on December 21, riders with noisy exhausts were made to replace the units with legal exhausts before they could settle the summons and have the vehicle released. This included motorcycles where the rear brake is removed to save weight, reports local daily Kosmo.

According to ACP Sarifudin Mohd Salleh, head of JSPT KL, police asked for the co-operation of the Road Transport Department to determine if the seized motorcycles were road worthy. “They (the riders) have to return the motorcycle exhaust to stock condition before the motorcycle is released,” said Sarifudin.

Sarifudin added police would also be cracking down on a worrying trend amongst rempit, or motorcycle hooligans, to remove the rear brake on their bikes. “They do this to reduce weight on the motorcycle and attain higher speeds,” he said.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• one of the best things done by pdrm. thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
    • Anwarkor on Dec 22, 2023 at 5:21 pm

Thanks to PDRM..but it wont stop a recurrence of the menace.
      The half rempit or hardcore rempit will return to the blardy workshops n fit another more “changgih” exhaust.
      After all a RM300 saman wont burn a hole in their pockets.
      The dad of the SPM dude who died ,said his anak is not rempit.He went on to question why authorities allow these noisy exhausts being openly available in the workshops.
      Of course both accused n victim in the incident also broke the law.
      Those” rempitting ” exhaust dudes n those without rear brakes should be jailed 30 days.If not enough lockups,time to build more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • Shud organize more pertandingan memetik kelapa.. To drain their energy n adrenaline

• Seitha on Dec 23, 2023 at 6:31 pm

Instead of jailing them for 30 days and feeding them wit tax payer money, whip them 10 times, take a video and put it on youtube!!. Then send this videos to the headmasters of all the schools and should be showed to the students during assembly!!.

• FireAce on Dec 22, 2023 at 3:21 pm

Need to expand to those with fitted with thin “Tayar Basikal”, Number Plate hidden deep under rear mudguard, and other dangerous illegal modifications.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Please do it more often!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • I’m not racist but look at the faces in the picture on Dec 22, 2023 at 3:47 pm

Dear rempit bois, you know what’s heavier than your rear brakes? Your stupidity!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Dec 22, 2023 at 5:39 pm

Albert Einstein said this is tantamount to INSANITY.
      The insane part is,there may be another person or enforcer who cannot “tahan” exhaust manyak bising,n another tragedy like the poor SPM student at Ipoh,might occur.
      So..to all the semi or hardcore rempits with noisy exhausts,u might be gone even before the illegal races.
      So,just be law abiding,stay home or just hang out at mamak to chit chat.

• Ibrahim on Dec 22, 2023 at 3:59 pm

Do take down the importers, the exhausts maker, the shop that sells and the shops that install.

If the source is still made legal then Government is only interest in making money through taxes from the sales and from summons.

The entire eco-system has to be penalized and closed not just the so called mat-rempit only. Adil kepada semua as we feed up of the loud exhausts sound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Noisy exhaust? Harley Davidson not noisy? How to gauge noisy exhaust I wonder?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Gomorrah on Dec 22, 2023 at 10:23 pm

Original factory fitted equipment la.
      “They (the riders) have to return the motorcycle exhaust to stock condition before the motorcycle is released,” said Sarifudin.

• Harley exhaust is melodious

• Sohai on Dec 27, 2023 at 11:47 pm

When you don’t pay enough taxes for your vehicle, you have no right to pollute the sound.

• call me by your name on Dec 22, 2023 at 4:15 pm

Doing your job once a year are not news material

• As a bike commuter I apploud this measure. Bikes are great way to manage traffic, enable mobility and connect individuals with economic opportunities. Important that we are understanding this privilidge and adhere to safety and noise guidelines. Bravo PDRM I appreciate more checks, roadblocks and enforcements if it helps to keep our roads safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • how do they replace the exhaust at the police station? police open shop is it?

• Boyracer on Dec 22, 2023 at 10:15 pm

An adjustable spanner is enough..maybe a plier and a screwdriver

• Johnny on Dec 22, 2023 at 6:49 pm

Good job PDRM but make sure do it more often, not once a year or once a quarter affair. Better still, go to the root cause – the shops that imported the noisy exhaust or selling them, go give them a summon and make sure they stop selling. Better still, Kastam shd not allow these products to be imported. If you dont go to the root cause, this will continue sampai cucu cicit.

• hazri on Dec 22, 2023 at 7:48 pm

if superbike or lux bike like harley davidson, pdrm do nothing.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:02 pm

And yet when the hero cop mowed down a rempit pest the other day, the whole country was in uproar and said it’s murder. The rempit’s father, as expected, cried and said “anak saya bukan rempit. Dia suka main ekzos bising saja” and proceeded to blame the cops for not stopping the sale of noisy exhaust tailpipes. This is the perfect example of low quality low IQ parenting that is making social ills grow like a wildfire.

We should have no quarter given to rempits. If any motorcyclist riding a modified bike with loud exhausts, no rear brake, tayar sotong etc. gets struck dead on the road, it should be classified as sudden death with no further action. As long as we don’t amend the laws to do this, it means we’re just a rempit-loving failed state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Pakngah dulu Pas on Dec 23, 2023 at 11:16 pm

Konvoi moto + rm5 minyak penuh Berpisah tiada…

• Typical script on Dec 24, 2023 at 7:40 am

Anak saya bukan penjenayah, dia pelajar sekolah. Arwah cita2 nak jadi engineer sebab tu dia buat research pasal ekzos. Sekarang adik dah meninggal. Papa rindu. Papa lihat moto adik terfikir adik masih di rumah

• DonkeyKong on Dec 25, 2023 at 2:54 am

Are you kidding? Cita2 jadi engineer is a long stretch. Jadi guru tahfiz itself is a big accomplishment to them.. family pride..

• Earth Prince on Dec 24, 2023 at 7:53 am

This low IQ parenting is producing the darling (B40) voter fixed deposit that every politikus are frothing about. Not only must give these rempits leeway to do as they wish, we must build racetracks for them to unleash their inner Valentino Rossi

• sabah on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:55 pm

Please do at Sabah..
    How to report my neighbour. bloody loud exhaust

• vexed on Dec 23, 2023 at 9:25 am

only see small bikes there, wonder why the police only pick on them but not taking on the big bikes specially harley davidson etc etc which are the most noisy and nuisance, police scared of the “D2S” big bikers ?

• Sinovex on Dec 24, 2023 at 3:04 pm

Pulis also human. Work for money only. Dare not offend VIP later kena cold storaged or transferred to kampung

• opmanmy on Dec 23, 2023 at 10:18 am

Pls come and check at my housing area. Lots of kids (underage) and adults riding bikes w/o helmet. And more than 2 persons on 1 bike! Sometimes as many as 5! Mind you, my area is not some kampung. It’s 2-storey houses.

• Oppenheimer on Dec 24, 2023 at 11:33 pm

You should let your dogs outta your house more often. They’ll get good exercise chasing after kapchais

• Suburuk on Dec 23, 2023 at 5:43 pm

Really hope that JPJ /traffic cops would go after TAYAR SOTONG bikes without compromise! This tyre SPEED RATING is normally between 120-150kmj. When spinning faster than its rating, the tyre will just slip out of the rim and you all know best what would happen next…

• Thanos on Dec 24, 2023 at 4:05 pm

Minced meat? But it’s nature doing its thing to rid off the weak and inferior. We shouldn’t interfere with Mother Nature

• imprezzed on Dec 23, 2023 at 8:55 pm

Failure to comply will be open invitation to get run over by cranky policemen muahaha

• Seitha on Dec 26, 2023 at 11:49 am

Please do this for cars and 1 ton lorries with noisy exhausts!!

• ohwaigod on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:25 pm

nice nice, gonna make a complain for next condo harley 883 everyday make noise at ohako puchong