Electricity price hike in Malaysia from Jan 1, 2024 – charging EV at home to be up to 6% more expensive

If your household electricity bill is currently costing you more than RM220 a month, be prepared to pay more for the utility from January 1, 2024.

That’s because the Energy Transition and Public Utilities Ministry announced today that domestic consumers who consume between 601 kWh and 1,500 kWh a month of electricity will no longer be eligible for the two sen per kwh rebate under the government’s Imbalance Cost Pass-Through (ICPT) mechanism for the period of Jan 1 to June 30, 2024.

As the New Straits Times reports, the move is set to have an impact on some 1.2 million households whose electricity consumption is above 600 kWh, with an increase of between 4.2% and 6% expected in their monthly bill. This means that these households can expect to pay between RM12 to RM32 more each month for their electricity.

It was revealed that the move, which is part of the country’s plan for targeted subsidies, will save the government RM266.2 million in subsidies during the period. All other categories of users’ tariffs remain unchanged, leaving 85% of electricity consumers in Peninsular Malaysia unaffected by the revision.

This means those using less than 600 kwh or RM231.80 (which works out to RM219.80 with the ICPT rebate, which is RM12) and below of electricity are still accorded a rebate of two sen per kWh, and the government will still subsidise RM1.9 billion to maintain the status quo for the 85%. This means that as of next year, there will be three tariff tiers for domestic users, namely:

• Those using 600 kWh or less of electricity per month, who enjoy an ICPT rebate of two sen per kWh.
  • Those using 601 kWh to 1,500 kWh of electricity per month, who get no ICPT rebate but pay no surcharge.
  • Those using more than 1,500 kWh of electricity per month, who have to pay a surcharge of 10 sen per kWh.

The ministry added that it will continue to progress its targeted subsidy agenda with the view that all domestic users should be imposed a surcharge in keeping with the ICPT, essentially a mechanism to review the electricity tariff every six months to take into account fluctuating fuel pricing, which contributes to 65% of the cost component of the electricity tariff.

From an automotive perspective, the revision means that households using electric vehicles (EVs) will pay more to charge them at home, albeit in a different manner than those consuming more than 1,500 kWh. Unless you happen to use virtually nothing in terms of electricity but on charging the car, expect an increase.

For example, if you use 1,200 kWh of electricity (or around RM550 a month), the ICPT rebate works out to RM24 off your present bill, which you’ll pay for from next year. Some will argue that the increase isn’t all that large, but it is there nonetheless, the additional spend.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the blog post about Malaysia's electricity price hike in 2024, including a 6% increase for EV charging and a 15% rise in home electricity costs, are mostly negative and reflect frustration. Many express concerns that the hike will burden consumers, especially those with EVs, and criticize the monopolistic electricity industry, government mismanagement, and rising living costs. There are accusations of corruption, calls for cost-saving within government, and skepticism about the government’s green energy claims. Some suggest boycotting related brands or social media, and a few tie the hike to broader political dissatisfaction and economic hardships. Overall, sentiments are predominantly critical, viewing the increase as unjustified and harmful to ordinary Malaysians.

• Nurul Izzah on Dec 22, 2023 at 8:14 pm

Anwar menang, rakyat senang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 35
  • Yeahsure on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:12 pm

Good and fair… If you cry and bxxch about it, means you cant afford it.. Get on with it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 35
    • B40 keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Taichi on Dec 23, 2023 at 1:36 pm

I can afford rm5 a little of petrol doesn’t mean I want to pay RM5/L … is all about choices… choices like going back to ice, or you know, change the administration.
      There is nothing good about price increase unless you are a TNB employee or shareholder.
      And how is it fair when it is not a free market to generate and sell electricity? Is a monopolistic industry unlike a telco.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • Netizen ada ilmu ke tak sebelum komen? on Dec 24, 2023 at 8:36 pm

How do utility employee and it’s shareholder gain from this? It’s the government who doesn’t have to fork up more subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Emergency Vehicles on Dec 26, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Hello brother, since when it is monopolistic.

Who is YTL?
        Who is SESB?
        Who is Malakoff?
        Sarawak Energy?,
        Since when Malaysian energy industry is monopolistic, some vendor(s) provided higher tariff to TNB to sell to the public, hence high price, maybe can do a little research.

Oh btw, feel free to start new energy business, much encouraged for renewable solar energy to provide to the Grid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Sohai on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:32 pm

Hahaha… duty free fine print.

• Djimat on Dec 22, 2023 at 9:55 pm

I love this brilliant move save the environment, thanks PMX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 35
  • Bieight8 on Dec 22, 2023 at 10:13 pm

Nowadays a cup of coffee cost more then rm12…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • Boycott jews and their puppets on Dec 23, 2023 at 12:17 pm

Because of (((Cohen-19)))

(…they have sold your country to Pfizer’s, now they can force any government to skeeze taxpayers to death… The “killing flu” was just a terrorist attack organized by Jews to force population to accept a forced economic crisis… Always the same tricks, always the same tard people to believe their lies)

Mass depopulation, censorship, freedom restriction, mass monitoring and control… Once people give up fighting for their economy, they can put you down with their fake news and buy over your lands, business and properties for few bucks… You guys, happy Mickey Mouse, have been fuc#ed to the core. Even your immune system has been hacked and corrupted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
      • Tok imam mesjid haram on Dec 24, 2023 at 4:12 pm

So you boikot Waze, android, iPhone, google, fb, ig & wasap too? Jgn sembang kencang je

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
        • Faraz on Dec 25, 2023 at 1:17 pm

Good idea to boycott social media

• Facts on Dec 25, 2023 at 10:22 pm

Yep, 90% of them… At least.

Result? Better health, more money, more free time to enjoy real life.

Those who worship the Jews are now busy calculating how much money has to go for hospital treatment (weird allergies, repetitive strokes, turbo-cancers) after their injections and happy increase of electricity bill for their (((eco-friendly))) e-bulls#it toys.

Shabbat goys are always sacrified by their masters once they have become useless…

• You’re not that noble anyway on Dec 26, 2023 at 7:13 pm

So 10% of your life is still controlled by the Jews?

• Facts on Dec 27, 2023 at 11:13 pm

The less the better. 90% clean, excellent score.

Now, go watch tv and wait for your Holly signal to get your next stroking injection ;-)

• Only Sohai will suggest to boycott Zionist weapons on Dec 27, 2023 at 1:37 pm

I see many Low IQ sohai suggest those who boycott Jes commercial brands to also boycott social media brnads. Hahahahaha. What a sohai. Social meedia like FB and YB are Zionist biggest weapons. If a thieve breaks into your house and want to kill you but suddenly his gun fell on the floor, would you boycott the gun and give it back to the thieve that wants to kill you??? Hahahahah what a sohai. Smart people will use enemy’s weapon the right way to defeat the bad people instead

• Geng boikot on Dec 27, 2023 at 10:33 pm

So kita bulih makan balik kepci & mekdi? Rindu sangat kat Milo & stabak. Vico tak sedap

• delulu on Dec 24, 2023 at 8:13 pm

schizo posting fr

• Apalah on Dec 23, 2023 at 5:40 pm

Ur drinking coffee wrong bro.. lol

• Say bye bye to ph in coming GE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 25
    • hazri on Dec 23, 2023 at 2:09 am

ph org kaya je kena. pn org miskin ke kaya ke semua kena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Stil long way to GE

• Facts on Dec 26, 2023 at 3:42 pm

You guys will never understand that WITH or WITHOUT GE, it is the same unofficial little network that controls the economy.

A group composed of “brothers and sisters” from opposite parties -> that is the way (((Democracy))) really work.

Those people don’t pay taxes. They feed on yours, and as long as AhBeng and Mo believe that dropping in a box a little paper with a name of puppet will change THAT, the show will go on:

– More promises, more new parties, more lies and always more taxes.

Taxes which are mainly used to pay the interest rates of a debt that technically can’t be repaid.

Democracy is just this, a smart way to impose an international debt to people, giving an illusion of choice for taxpayers believing in that grotesque mascarade.

You guys are fascinated by Jews and their goyim networks of blink blink-doggies (Freemasons) well, you guys have to pay the price for that fascination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • This government is on an unpopularity speed run contest

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 17
    • Gomorrah on Dec 23, 2023 at 8:24 am

Cos popular moves got us back to being the Asian Tiger right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Your vote is not the one he’s after

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Semi Value on Dec 25, 2023 at 2:44 pm

Hilarious, like the other person said. Populist manifesto and unrealistic ambitions. Janji manis, you are why we are here. Hadap, no need to say about toll hikes, parking fees hike, tax hikes all Hikes.

With GST gone, can’t subsidize any thing. Good jobs pakatoons.

• Cinta Alam on Dec 22, 2023 at 11:53 pm

Hahaha! Can’t help myself LOL! Many Thought of driving EV would avoid fuel price hike, now what, not only pay more electricity mill also run into risk of paying more in long run to maintain the expensive EV battery replacement .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Mason on Dec 26, 2023 at 9:52 pm

Btol bruh. Those EV cheapos who thot they are trendy ..but in actual fact freeloaders who wanted to enjoy Free tax n so called premium car brand. Serve them right !

• Curiousity on Dec 23, 2023 at 12:20 am

Funny, this gov keep increasing price and implement many kind of taxes for the majority, but don’t have any tax for the EV buyers, no need road tax too, now they even need more time to think about the “future” EV road tax, which mean continue free for the minority rich.

• Your choice on Dec 24, 2023 at 4:15 pm

To be majority or minority

• Translation on Dec 26, 2023 at 3:52 pm

Translation :

To be majority -> support your family, your neighbors and social growth for a better nation, keep a righteous moral and refuse the foreign decadent agents,

or minority -> betray your own people, steal anybody at the moment there are no camera around, worship Satan and his chosen people, in order to get some leftover stollen money from the taxe payers (those mentioned above) and get sacrificed by your master when your dirty job has been done…

• Bossku on Dec 26, 2023 at 7:03 pm

Don’t rub more salt into my wounds boohoo

• Deeper translation on Dec 28, 2023 at 10:29 am

Looks like the majority behave lately just like the minority described above…

Once exposed to jewish decadent media and deviant moral, both lower and higher classes collapse.

As they say:

– Need 2 hands to clap…

Most People deserve to be fu#ked by their ma$ters.

• Rakyat on Dec 23, 2023 at 7:26 am

Govt should consider to focus on cost saving within the govt operations to reduce unnecessary posts, not to cut take home pay and pocket money which will add burden to rakyat.

• opmanmy on Dec 23, 2023 at 10:15 am

This is the right move in the longer term. All forms of subsidies should be reduced (if not removed completely). Hence, prices should be dictated by market. Then only people will be more wise in terms of spending. Right now, there is too much wastage. Ppl take for grant in terms of their household debt vs what they can really afford. Look at folks, ppl buy unnecessary stuff and get into bad debt. This is not good for our country. It’s an un-popular move but I think it’s in the right direction (hopefully).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Comon on Dec 24, 2023 at 2:34 pm

You are a idiot. Dictated by the market, which means controlled by speculators… Only a right move if you are one of them, the rest of tax payers get f#cked.

There is no free market, always manipulators behind the stage. Just like “democracy”, just an illusion to continue the back door business …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • Seitha on Dec 23, 2023 at 11:16 am

The govs all obver the world are pushing EVs for the total control of our freedom.
    They have kill swithces in EV for 2026…watch this youtube video
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjXw56GuIZQ

They want to shut us down when they feel like it or they want us to be carbon nuetra but the f**kking rich are allowed to travel in private jets.

Carbon and carbon dioxide is not the problem. Without carbondioxide, plants cannot photosynthesize food for themselves and release oxygen for humans.

Its all about agenda 2030 and the New World Order. Defy and resist at ALL costs

• bye2 PMX…

• Anonymous on Dec 23, 2023 at 1:00 pm

Malaysia has been spending too much on unnecessary subsidy hence the mentality that everything must be cheap. Those 50 60 billion spent yearly could have put to good use to build many more infrastructure and enhance the country’s enforcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • That is WHY 200mm make big Difference on Dec 23, 2023 at 1:59 pm

This month TNB bill RM550

Next month TNB bill RM550 + RM 24.00

Difference between A Human and Subhuman

Chineses Sampah species

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • 200mm to feed stray cats on Dec 24, 2023 at 4:23 pm

Apa la sangat RM24 tu?

Bukannya dorang nak beli family control pun

Difference between smart parenting vs irresponsible breeding

Meleis turd spesis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Rakyat on Dec 28, 2023 at 2:30 pm

Hey bro, that guy that said chinese is sampah is likely a Tambi Zionist agent la that wants to divide the malay and the chinese. We malay knows China supports Palestine while India sokong Israel. Don’t be fooled la brother. The sampah are the snake Zionist species

• Anwar's accoutant on Dec 23, 2023 at 2:22 pm

naikkan harga EV, naikkan harga elektrik, tapi nak carbon free by 2050, terbaek kerajaan ph

• QuackMcGuffin on Dec 25, 2023 at 8:20 am

Google how TNB produce their electricity and your “carbon free” bs goes right out the window.

• Mike Tee on Dec 23, 2023 at 3:15 pm

Where is the “This government only cares about the rich” gang now?

• If our monthly bill less than RM219.80, it is still the same.
    The problem lies is B40 and M40 shamelessly having a T20 lifestyle actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Makcik kiah on Dec 24, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Kete anak cucu makcik dah kena tarik sebab tak mampu bayar loan

• Kiah’s grandson:
        “Service 20k km. Apa yang boleh tolak ni. RM420 keras sangat :-) “

• Hahahah…ICE ftw

• ScooterDude on Dec 23, 2023 at 7:59 pm

“I want to see government actually work on economy”
    *cut subsidies*
    “No not like that!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Boogyman on Dec 23, 2023 at 11:11 pm

Hahahaha it’s funny

• David on Dec 24, 2023 at 11:47 am

Hahaha

• ICE 4EVER on Dec 24, 2023 at 1:08 pm

I regret buying ev

• boycott EV on Dec 26, 2023 at 11:46 am

Quickly sell it off before it depreciates more!!

• Sohai on Dec 29, 2023 at 12:40 pm

You just wait for the battery efficiency to drop below 70%. With our climate, 2 years will do it.
      Then you are at a cross road of folking out half the car price to change the battery, or sell it off by going down on your knees to beg the car dealers to take it.

• Raykat on Dec 24, 2023 at 1:55 pm

Next year tnb can declare “bigger” profit year on year.

• idek how paultan comment section consistently has the worst takes possible lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • What else will be increasing next in 2024? Water bill? IWK?

• Your problems, debt and weight for sure.

• EV Car Mafia on Dec 25, 2023 at 8:55 am

Everything that uses electricity is bound to increase. The cost will be passed on…

• Turbo-cancer vs tax-increase - Happy new Year:-/ on Dec 25, 2023 at 10:37 pm

They will charge you for breathing… To save air for eternal Jewish victims of imaginary genocide by Ziklon B. They have been genocide by Hitler but yet control all the democracy around the world Ah ah ah.

LOL

But hey? I am serious! Carbon tax is just another market place to speculate and steal taxpayers money through new labels, restrictive rules and regulations owned by the same banksters.

By the way, don’t forget to restock useless masks so you can protect the one you love from catching a evil flu from TV LOL

Most people are so stupid, it’s just amazing, they believe the most ridiculous BS even though they get fuc#ed and re-fuc#ed by their exact same believes. Epic!

• Birth control bill also going up on Dec 26, 2023 at 2:23 pm

Condom bill going up….logistics,freight,middlemen charges all going up.Cut down sex..prices of condoms also rising.

• Nafkah batin on Dec 26, 2023 at 10:44 pm

Fatwa suruh beranak pinak ramai2 nak conquer dunia. Kalo yg mampu tu kahwin 4 so beranak lg cepat

• Rakyat di tindas on Dec 25, 2023 at 10:52 am

PmX si munafik

• Bodo tnb.. every year price hike.. ceo salary also up.. consumer needs to bear the burden.. end of year untung million²..

• No EV on Dec 25, 2023 at 3:44 pm

What will zafrul do since cost of owning EVs skyrocketed?

• newme on Dec 26, 2023 at 11:04 am

Those EV jacka$$ not need worry. All they have to do is to log in to their EV FB group to pacify each other that it’s not a big issue.

• EVs are for rich people, this small hike won’t affect them much. Hehe.

• Lala Land on Dec 27, 2023 at 4:36 pm

The rich people voted this present government. Good choice!