New digital road tax, driving licence formats, online renewal fr Feb – no more physical sticker, card fr Feb

The transport ministry has announced the next phase of its digitalisation plan, which will see several initiatives being rolled out in 2024. In the first phase, the ministry made it possible for Malaysian private vehicle owners to view their digital vehicle road tax (e-LKM) and driving licence (e-LLM) via the JPJ Portal or MyJPJ app from February 10, 2023.

This year, the ministry says the public will be able to renew their driving licence and vehicle’s road tax digitally via the MyJPJ app from February 1, 2024. In an official release, transport minister Anthony Loke said this will be carried out in phases, beginning with Malaysian private vehicle owners. He added online renewals of road tax and driving licence will save time and cost, while also reducing physical queues at JPJ counters.

To encourage the public to opt for a digital driving licence, a RM5 rebate will be provided to those who renew their driving licence from February 1, 2024 until the end of the year (December 31, 2024). The rebate will only be provided to those who choose e-LLM during renewal at JPJ counters, the mySIKAP portal, the MyJPJ app or any JPJ partner (Pos Malaysia and MyEG).

New road tax (left), driving licence slip (right)

What if you still prefer a physical road tax and driving licence? Well, the transport ministry says the JPJ is aware that there are some who aren’t ready for digitalisation and will continue to provide physical versions of these documents in the interim.

However, the physical driving licence and road tax issued will take a new form. Where the previous road tax was a disc you stuck on your windshield, the new one will be a paper document with the relevant details. The ministry says motorists are not required to display this new road tax on their windscreens, and they can merely keep it in their cars if needed. Alternatively, you could just rely on the MyJPJ app for access to your vehicle’s road tax.

MyJPJ online road tax and driving licence renewal process; click to enlarge

Similarly, if you prefer your driving licence in physical form, it will be issued as a paper slip rather than the plastic card that we’re all familiar with. Even so, you’ll need to present the slip and the expired card (says so in the example format). With an e-LMM, you just need to show the app.

Are you happy that you’ll soon be able to renew your driving licence and vehicle’s road tax online? Share your thoughts on the transport ministry’s and road transport department’s initiatives in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• QuadA on Jan 02, 2024 at 1:05 pm

The challenge of not having a physical card are the registration counters at gov offices themselves who request for a an ID and typically driving license (which they retain) in exchange for a pass… can this be digitised too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Phuket aman kala lumpo on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:47 pm

Now all must use phone camera to take a snapshot of your ID for visitation registration, security forbidden to retain keep in custody your ID card while you are visiting there premises.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 03, 2024 at 11:57 am

Go into Spore straightaway kena SGD $300 fine because not displaying valid roadtax. That is about RM 1000!

Will Loke pay for this fine due to his yet another shortsighted incompetency. It is clear he is unfit to be Transport Minister!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
      • agree on Jan 03, 2024 at 3:26 pm

Agree.

from PH voters

• Shoot the sick & tired on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:06 pm

Obviously u havent been into SG ? hahaha. Even SG cars dont have to display their roadtax.
        Know the facts first before making any imbecile comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • DUMNO and LiPAS on Mar 05, 2024 at 7:47 pm

What an imbecile. I travel to SG no Roadtax on display no problem. Just another guy on his period

• Why force us to keep a useless gomen data theft app on our phones? Look at the one-time use MySejahtera. I bet nobody has that useless app on their phones anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
  • ThePolygon on Jan 02, 2024 at 1:07 pm

More interested in EV roadtax structure.

• Is “paper slip” recognizable when we rent a car while travelling oversea? Proper physical card is the way to go. SMH…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Wallabies Land on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:50 pm

We all knew you are providing fake mesian driving id at oz

• DonkeyKong on Jan 02, 2024 at 2:27 pm

Mere “paper slips” for road tax and driving license? Good luck when crossing our borders.. or when trying to rent a car overseas. Tony 67 is really outdoing his own stupidity year after year. So next time whenever we need to register our entry into buildings, we’ll have to give our IC (which isn’t legal) instead of the paper slip driving license?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • ROTI CANAI on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:26 pm

have you guys ever though about those who need to drive overseas? i still need a physical license man to drive overseas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Just shows your ignorance

You’re supposed to apply for an International Driving License to be able to drive in another country (which must be recognized by that country).

Also to be fully insured in case of any accident claim if you are the driver/rider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Just shows your ignorance

Police in other nations will still want to see your local driving license on top of your international one. That was how the Msian idiot got caught using forged lesen while his international one was still valid.

• CarBuyer on Jan 05, 2024 at 7:36 pm

An International Driving Permit/Licence is just an official language translation of one’s driving licence. It is not a stand-alone document.

• JIMU never travel b4 on Jan 15, 2024 at 1:16 pm

ever since there was english on the driving license, they dont require us to translate anymore. please travel more

• Richard on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:27 pm

What about those converting from a “P” license to a full license? Those could not be done online previously

• ROBBIE FOWLER on Jan 02, 2024 at 3:47 pm

hmm…..how to enter those neighborhoods that required security clearance?

• dum dee dum on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:12 pm

Foresee issues when going SG, TH, or road trip to other countries.

• Laugh on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:17 pm

Already getting nothing from gov but paying so much in taxes everywhere.

Now this RM5 discount also cannot get cause my car roadtax expiring on 20th Jan.

So can I drive around without roadtax waiting Feb 1st to renew my roadtax?

• Can! Just include some folded bills when handing over your lesen

• laughbodoh on Jan 15, 2024 at 1:27 pm

eh read the article properly, it says license get rm5 not road tax ok. road tax 0 incentive

• Bieight8 on Jan 02, 2024 at 4:28 pm

Didn’t know that you need license and road tax to drive here…

• ManaCustomerHotline??? on Jan 02, 2024 at 5:31 pm

Where is the civilian or customer hotline?
    If we were forced into digitization and the Police Force does not wish to co-operate into the same digitization that JPJ is pushing for, what can we as common citizen do?
    There is still a very wide contradiction from the Police Force, being they just do not wish to do extra work, and demanded the civilians to prove our driving license and road tax instead! What is the government going to do about this contradiction, mainly because its always the Police Force that is causing all the trouble when there is roadblocks and civilians are all baffled on what these officers would say and do. They just keep repeating, “We Police, we are not JPJ, we special”.

So why are there so many contradicting systems to begin with? And ultimately what is the point of digitization if not to better smooth out old processes?

• Gomorrah on Jan 03, 2024 at 6:57 pm

Maybe Ah Loke will be personally going to brief each PDRM ibupejabat in each state because it sure as hell doesn’t look like one ministry talks to the other in this country. And maybe he’s going to rewrite the law so that it is no longer an offence to drive without a physical license or display the road tax disc. Buat kerja bodoh lah ni semua.

• Kevin on Jan 02, 2024 at 11:35 pm

In the first place why do we still need to renew our licence every year when Singapore and other Asian countries only do so whe they reach 65. Is it bcos we forget how to drive after 1 year???

• pomen on Jan 03, 2024 at 11:44 am

no more physical sticker, card but yet we still pay the same amount as before. rakyat kena bayar harga sama, gov dapat jimat so boleh sakau duit…

• Baik Beli on Jan 03, 2024 at 3:29 pm

Finally. Loke is U-turn

• Trojan on Jan 04, 2024 at 12:56 am

Ayat terakhir adakah anda gembira…langsung tak gembira…ini semua menyusahkan rakyat…menteri tau buat saja…percayalah bila Kita berhadapan dengan road block polis maka polis akan Minta lesen dan tunjuk road tax…jika gagal anda akan disaman…buat menyusahkan rakyat…

• Mr.Gee on Jan 04, 2024 at 10:16 am

This bugger really so into on digitization where else so many flaws in the system.
    Just let the oldschool method be available so when the whole world really ready to be digitize then implement lah.
    Otak udang betul lah!

• Maslan Hashim on Jan 04, 2024 at 3:11 pm

There are still plenty of blunders to look through, before implementing the digitalization.

For example; what if the mobil phone ran out of battery?

There are plenty more issues!!!!

Antony Loke, don’t be so ignorant please.

• Kamal B on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:32 pm

foreigners cannot install the myJPJ app… so if we own the car and cannot get physical road tax discs, how to prove that the road tax is valid?

• InginTahu on Jan 04, 2024 at 8:38 pm

B2 to B Full automatic upgrading or not yet?when aaaaa?

• Steaven on Jan 04, 2024 at 10:40 pm

didn’t mention 3rd party driving yr car … need to carry digital road tax or not? Legal requirements or not?

• Dr. Praba on Jan 05, 2024 at 12:49 pm

Our Internet services are not good in many peripheral areas and some parts of highways. We may not be able to open the My JPN app. Also the smartphone battery no power. In that case what to do if there is a police or JPJ check. Can the officers check with their devices. Thanks.

• Tiong Ho Sion on Jan 05, 2024 at 5:56 pm

First you need to educate people, especially the old folks how to use the JPJ portal n how to access it.

• Yeo wai peng on Jan 05, 2024 at 9:51 pm

Satisfying

• MOT can you all plz walk through before implementing Digitizationz or making any Decisions. Its MOT Not DOTA. I Believe DOTA Players makes more calculated moves compared to MOT. A Construction with 2 Bricks you already Happily Soft Launch? You see its very simple, Brainstorm, Not Storm. The 96M you all saved from your smart Alec Decisions is absorbed by the Rakyats. I Believe that the Leo Clubs can come out with better less Destructive ideas. We voted for Harapan. Now Sarapan also GG.com