Glow in the dark road markings cost 20 times as much as conventional paint; ministry to study costs, safety

While there are benefits to implementing glow-in-the-dark road markings, it is also highly expensive; the new method costs nearly 20 times as much as conventional road markings, according to works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi, reported Berita Harian.

Nanta has found the glow-in-the-dark road markings to be impressive and these have received positive feedback from road users, however its costs are very high compared to conventional road marking methods, the minister said. The glow-in-the-dark, or photo-luminescent paint used costs RM749 per square metre, compared to RM40 per square metre with conventional road marking paint, he continued.

The new type of road markings will need to be more thoroughly studied, including from a financial standpoint, because if a high-cost method is used, this may only serve a short stretch of road and may not sufficiently reduce the risks to road users, the minister added.

In November last year, the Hulu Langat public works department (JKR Hulu Langat) carried out the installation of glow-in-the-dark road markings in Hulu Langat in Semenyih, Selangor. The works ministry stated at the time that the pilot project involved 245 m of road with 490 m of glow-in-the-dark road markings painted, serving as an alternative to the use of road studs or “cats’ eyes”.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Ben Yap on Jan 11, 2024 at 10:39 am

if doesn’t lower the accident rate by 20 times, don’t waste money putting glow in the dark road markings. just use the road reflectors will do just fine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Helenesssssssssssssssss on Jan 11, 2024 at 11:10 am

They should install those maintenance free solar powered LED street lamps or just bright side reflectors

• Safety First on Jan 11, 2024 at 11:49 am

If it glows for he whole nite okaylah 20 times more costly is worth it for safety but if it only glows for 3-4 hours and later no more light then better to just plant cat eyes along the double line. No point if safety does not work continuously.

• Pfizer Boleh LOL on Jan 11, 2024 at 6:45 pm

They should rather spend this money for new experimental vaccines against vaccine’s side effects :-/

… You know, $cience…

• Tan Ah Biao on Jan 11, 2024 at 11:25 pm

We never had lines problem to begin with. Our problems are faded lines only. Don’t la simply open a paint company for fun and then try to make money internally.

• Gomorrah on Jan 11, 2024 at 10:49 am

I sure hope stats are being collected to show the reduction in adverse road events where this is deployed. That alone will go a long way to justify the cost. It would make sense if they did this at accident prone areas for pilot phase. Surely no one has to explain positive monetary flow on effects from less accidents/road closures/time off work/permanent disability/SOCSO/health care resources/insurance claims etc. Or are they all working in silos going OMG RM 749/sqm how can la but the other side KKM tanggung RM 50k plus for damage control surgery and hospital stay and beyond for each accident victim. Madness.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jan 11, 2024 at 12:08 pm

bukan ker…kalau beli dan guna lagi banyak lagi murah…..

• Stroke-in-the-dark on Jan 11, 2024 at 11:01 am

Does glow-in-the-dark protect against blood-clots?

• kckfen on Jan 11, 2024 at 11:25 am

Better paint the road every 6 month than waste spending 20 times the cost. White line will reflect the light as good as glow in the dark. Unless you drive without headlight at night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Its sure will cost sky high in term of cost than the conventional paint for road marking, even jkr cant maintain the federal road condition with its limited budget allocation, so more think of this fancy fancy things. The question is how durable is this glow-in-dark paint? As long as JKR maintain their schedules to repaint the road marking periodically, its already serve the purposes, make sure potholes being patch and ensure the road user’s safety, all this so called hi-tech glow in dark paint doesnt really helps, it will only look fancy and doesnt really increase the road safety against any users, if the users drive recklessly.

• dumas on Jan 11, 2024 at 12:09 pm

tengok siapa yg kasi quote dulu…. government tender mestilah inflate gao gao dulu. itulah 20x more.

• Laugh on Jan 11, 2024 at 12:37 pm

No need glow in the dark paint road markings.
    The current ones are good enough with cars turning on their lights.

Just use the extra money in making sure the roads in Malaysia are well maintained rather than potholes everywhere damaging our cars and even causing accidents.

• better just repaint the road divider more often.

both are subjected to same aging, delamination issue.

• the driver on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:05 pm

This is old tech really. Glow paint has been in existence for a long time. Thought that the price has fallen over the years but was wrong. A much cheaper and longer lasting solution are cat eye road studs, however the installation on roads leaves much to be desired – use a shank to anchor and damage the roads or glue them in and expect failure. The problems are due to the high rainfall and road movement due to heavy vehicles on roads not designed properly

• Nobody here actually think to ask: are they sure the glow in the ass marking cost 20 times more than Dulux paint or is it because the supplier needs to “feed” those wide open “mouths” so they have to mark up the price?! This is Malaysia afterall, not amongst the “cleanest” country in the world! I’m sure you readers understand whom I am referring to!

• Celup King on Jan 11, 2024 at 5:33 pm

Its becoming even dirtier under PH now if you know what i mean.

• Nothing to do with political parties. If you had taken any notice, there is only 1R that is predominant in garmen. Being a pendatang to Malaysia is always a handicap in life. Any mention of the other 2Rs, you will get 1000s of police reports lodged against you! Worse is that your house might get fire bombed. Just pay attention to recent news and you know whom i am referring to! That is why most smart pendatang migrate to red dot south of Johor. Will there be any better change for future Malaysia? Not even until dunia kiamat!

• Ex PH Supporter on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:00 pm

When you have a DPM with 47 charges hanging and all kena DNAA you know something is not just dirty but smells bad.

• Turbo-Macan vs Turbo-Cancer : 1-0 on Jan 11, 2024 at 6:43 pm

Albert Bourla and DJ at mini$try of Health?

• Incoming Songlap Again on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:44 pm

Yeap 20times more for you to justify the money you are gonna songlap in your pocket in the end

• Ronald on Jan 11, 2024 at 7:32 pm

just put street lights and put a toll to pay for it.

• 4th jab -> straight in the wall :-/ on Jan 12, 2024 at 12:38 pm

Forbid driving to prevent stroke accident ! And we should ban also hairdryers, they are the second cause of stroke among tv-stars after ketamine and spike protein lol