GAC Aion appoints Tan Chong’s Warisan TC as M’sia distributor of its EVs – under same roof as ICE cars

We’ve just seen the Aion S Plus on Malaysian roads, and here’s the confirmation that the EV brand is set to enter our market. China’s GAC Aion has appointed Tan Chong’s Warisan TC as the sole and exclusive distributor of the former’s electric cars in Malaysia.

In a Bursa filing, reported by The Edge, Warisan TC said that it is responsible for importing, distributing, selling and performing after-sales services for GAC Aion’s EVs in Malaysia. The agreement is for a term of three years.

Established in 2017, the Aion brand is owned by GAC Aion New Energy Automobile, which is a subsidiary of the GAC Group. Guangzhou Automobile Group’s Malaysian partner for its namesake brand is Warisan TC, which means that both GAC’s ICE cars and EVs are under one roof in Malaysia.

Aion S Plus EV testing in Malaysia – click to enlarge

In May 2023, GAC and Warisan TC announced a CKD local assembly programme worth over RM60 million. It is GAC’s first CKD programme not just in ASEAN, but in the world. The first fruit of this marriage – the GAC GS3 B-segment SUV – is set to debut this year.

If you didn’t catch our recent post on the Aion S Plus, it’s Aion’s flagship electric sedan that was launched in China in June 2021. There, the Aion S Plus can be had in NEDC ranges of 410 km, 510 km and 602 km, with prices starting from 139,600 yuan (RM90,727) after government subsidies.

A 204 hp/350 Nm electric motor pushes the sedan from 0 to 100 km/h in 6.8 seconds, but what’s unique is the claimed best-in-the-world aerodynamics of 0.211 Cd. Despite that, it doesn’t ‘look very aero’, unlike the Hyundai Ioniq 6.

The Aion S Plus is 4,810 mm long and 1,880 mm wide, which puts it around the size of a Toyota Camry, which is 75 mm longer but 40 mm narrower than the Aion. The EV’s 2,750 mm wheelbase is around that of a Civic FE. The taped-up car we see here has conventional door handles though, not the flush ones seen in Aion’s official images, and the wheels aren’t of the fancy aero variety.

So, it looks like the Aion S Plus is all set to be the next electric car to take advantage of Malaysia’s tax-free window for CBU EVs. Of course, the brand has SUVs too – check out the LX Plus and V here. What do you think?

GALLERY: Aion S Plus

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hahahhaha….. Good luck! If we start off right, we have won half the battle. In this case, I sincerely wish GAC good luck!

• newme on Jan 12, 2024 at 5:15 pm

Tan Chong ar? In the year 2034, they will still be selling Gac Aion 2023.

• Autospies (the original) on Jan 12, 2024 at 8:03 pm

HaHaHaHaHaHa

• Jurassic TC on Jan 12, 2024 at 8:32 pm

Tan Chong..is well known for “Rolls Royce” pricing of spart parts…pls be self educated b4 plunging into a purchase decision.
      Every time u drive into a Tan Chong service centre,u come out,like just have your molar extracted without a numbing jab.IT is very painful if u dont have ,what Khairy Jamaluddin says…deep pockets.

• Sohai on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:03 pm

is a 3 year partnership only… don’t buy if you plan to keep the car for long.
    Chery is a better bet with their commitment in our market. More skin in the game.

• munkay on Jan 12, 2024 at 6:37 pm

lololololol did they make a mistake by not researching thoroughly? we can write off this brand already

• Another renault like dealership. Waste of time.

• Enoch "Nucky" Thompson on Jan 13, 2024 at 9:04 pm

Stay away from Tan Chong. My Nissan Serena had defects on it’s compressor, ABS pump & bluetooth module. Repaired under warranty in the span of 3 years. I repeat, STAY AWAY from Tan Chong!!!!

• With ETCM track record, we will soon see how good are the sales.

• under Tc. habis loh