Perodua EV coming end-2025 – tax-free incentives for CBU EVs, RM100k min price to end in Malaysia then?

Perodua ‘MyEV’ rendered based on the 2023 EMO Concept

Earlier this week, minister of international trade and industry Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Abdul Aziz revealed that mass production of Perodua’s EV is scheduled to start in end-2025.

According to the MITI minister, in line with the appointment of Perodua as the lead in production of affordable EVs under the New Industrial Master Plan 2030 (NIMP 2030), the Malaysian market leader has developed an electric-powered prototype in cooperation with an ‘international automotive company’. This has to be technical partner and shareholder Daihatsu, which is owned by Toyota.

With an affordable ‘EV rakyat’ in the market, will tax-free incentives for CBU imported EVs continue? There’s a likelihood that the tax-free window that we’re enjoying now will be shut, and the current RM100k minimum price barrier for imported EVs will be lifted.

Current RM100k minimum price for CBU EVs prevent the likes of Wuling’s Air EV to enter Malaysia

In Budget 2023, it was announced that import duty and excise duty exemption for CBU EVs had been extended to December 31, 2025. It was originally set to end in December 31, 2023 before being extended till end-2024 in first tabling of Budget 2023. There was no mention of a further extension in the most recent Budget 2024, so it’s end-2025 as things stand.

While duty exemption for CBU EVs is beneficial to buyers, it is only so to those in the upper spectrum of the scale, because no imported EV with a floor price under RM100,000 can be sold in Malaysia until the end of the exemption period. This condition was specifically listed for imported EVs under MITI guidelines on franchise approved permit (AP) requirements for 2023.

It’s a measure that’s both protectionist and anti-dumping, but it was designed to be temporary in nature. “We can’t do this forever, so it’s only up to 2025. Then, we have to open up,” Zafrul told us in July 2023, adding that the RM100k condition was put in place to allow national makes to get themselves ready for electrification.

Starting from RM100k, BYD’s Dolphin is currently the most affordable tax-free CBU EV in town

“We are giving them (local carmakers) time to prepare for EVs. There have been questions as to why we are not liberalising quicker, but we have to look at the big picture to protect our local automotive industry for a while so that there is a just transition, because it does relate to a lot of employment, from jobs to suppliers,” Zafrul told paultan.org.

“I hope by 2025 our local companies have already transitioned, because Tesla’s and Chinese carmakers’ technologies have already shown that they are ready,” he added.

Tax-free CBUs to kickstart the tech among early adopter motorists and boost market acceptance before closing it in favour of local production – reminds me of the tax-free window for CBU hybrid cars in the early-2010s. More on the upcoming Perodua EV here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 2015 is 9 years ago

• Dah Menang Semua on Jan 19, 2024 at 5:43 pm

EV market in China is collapsing
    Low uptake rate, many explosion cases
    Expect more dumping into our market soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
    • Source: trust me bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Richard Teo on Jan 21, 2024 at 12:58 pm

Guess RON95 after no-subsidy >RM3.2

But if charging cost still higher then better just buy ICE; no need to charge; no worry to replace battery; no expensive brake-pump; so better RV lagi

• Tesla and other america ev brand kat sana pun explode byk juga. Cume News kat sana sudah tutupkan and x sebar kat whole world. You google je.

• kckfen on Jan 22, 2024 at 8:19 am

Audi sales increase 17%, more than 50% is due to EV, same as BMW and Merc also experience rise in their EV sales. Infact their ICE sales has been dropping…. Only US car marker, Ford and GM are are going downhill on their sales as they EV are not reliable and so far behind people there preferred to buy Tesla.

• You should ride on horse or buffalo since ICE is not safe

• The last time P2 sold a car over RM100k there were only a few waterfishes that bought them. Can they fool their market twice this round?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 20, 2024 at 11:50 pm

ungrateful idiot…perodua is good….sales is just a number… didnt know ferrari is also a failure wor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • EV sucks on Jan 21, 2024 at 11:46 am

Only those who can’t afford more than 100k think Perodua is good. There’s plenty better 100k car than Perodua, the bottom feeder in a world of car producers. That’s why they failed coming closer to 100k. No one look up to them other than kapcai riders.

• History Bender on Jan 22, 2024 at 5:27 pm

Yeah we should be grateful for P2 shoving us unsafe cars for decades leading to higher accident & fatality rates.

• Tokmoh on Jan 19, 2024 at 6:27 pm

Iriz EV. Cronies rejoiced during madey tokok days

• Omg all the protectionism. Inb4 ini budaya kito

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 19, 2024 at 6:47 pm

Stop protectionism, it’s already 2024 still have this kind of tongkat mentality? Already petrol/diesel subsidies lifted, what is their remaining excuse to justify exorbitant taxes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • kckfen on Jan 19, 2024 at 7:42 pm

I wonder what platform they will use for the EV. Daihatsu dont have E DNGA like E TNGA platform.. Mean perodua need to developed their own platform or use third party platform like CATL skateboard platform??

• There’s no local automotive industry. Only Japanese and Chinese. Full stop.

• Peppa on Jan 19, 2024 at 9:14 pm

Who the hell would spend RM100k on a Perodua?? Doesn’t matter if it is an EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Peppa on Jan 19, 2024 at 9:15 pm

I am confused. That RM100k for the incentive MY APOLOGISE

• What local car manufacturer u’re talking about to protect?? Proton owned cy Chinese Geely and Perodua owned by Daihatsu & toyota!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 20, 2024 at 11:21 am

syabas perodua…thank you perodua, PH BN, DAP and UMNO… proud to be a malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Mike Ombaba on Jan 20, 2024 at 12:34 pm

Just to test the “on- paper” benefit to car buyers, have anybody tried comparing dealers’ selling price (not OTR price) of several imported EV cars selling in Malaysia under tax free incentives against those in other countries? Price of same car in Msia such as Hyundai Ionic, Kia EV6, Volvo XC40 pure EV, BMWs and Mercs vs those in Thailand, Indonesia, South Korea, Australia, Sweden, UK, US, Japan.

Lets see if the benefit from tax incentives have been transferred to car buyers in term of lower price relative to other countries especially those which no longer provide tax incentives.

Nice if can share the outcome.

• Here’s an example: Kia EV6 GT-Line AWD UK retail price GBP56k, MYR price RM320k (GBP 53k). So, it’s GBP 3k cheaper here than in the UK. This roughly translates to RM17k cheaper.

• Wahh, ev companies are so lucky can sell ev cars at inflated min rm100k price in malaysia. Good profit to those ev companies mainly from china. Easy big money, huge profit, thanks to ph gov

• Junkies otr on Jan 21, 2024 at 10:02 am

Get rid of all the junkies first. All vehicles above 20yrs must scrap

• My old car worth more than your life. on Jan 24, 2024 at 4:04 pm

Scrap your head. My classic car is worth more than your entire life and assets

• Toyota the largest car maker pun nit bother makin an EV.

• Toyota the largest car maker pun not bother makin an EV.

• When you comment such above truly proved that you have zero knowledge on what is happening to legacy auto, ev current technologies and so on. Really pity u

• EV 100K in Malaysia on Jan 21, 2024 at 8:25 pm

Same EV 80K in Kenya Nairobi

How it is Malaysian Malap?

• alibaba on Jan 22, 2024 at 9:55 am

hurray~ long live local junk~ cant compete in quality, just make sure to markup higher price for competitors. poor us can only use low end stuffs with high price paid

• It is another BS to protect national car when Wuling and BYD Seagull are selling 40k to 70k. 100k would fatten national auto makers at the expense of B40 and M40.