2024 Honda Civic Type R FL5 Malaysian review – is the 319 PS, six-speed manual hot hatch worth RM400k?

2024 Honda Civic Type R FL5 Malaysian review – is the 319 PS,  six-speed manual hot hatch worth RM400k?

Honda Civic Type R. Few names in motordom resonate as deeply with its target market and audience as this one has through the years, and this, the FL5, is the sixth generation of the nameplate.

The latest of its line is now made in the brand’s native Japan in Yorii, Saitama Prefecture, a departure from its FK8 predecessor which was built at the manufacturer’s plant in Swindon, United Kingdom which closed in 2021.

Like the FK8, the FL5-generation car is powered by the K20C1 2.0 litre turbocharged inline-four petrol engine that is mated to a six-speed manual transmission driving the front wheels, though in the FL5 it’s been revised to produce 319 PS (315 hp or 235 kW) at 6,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque from 2,600 to 4,000 rpm.

Marginal gains in terms of engine output, however the improvements are in the details – engine cooling is improved 48% through an enlarged grille, a lighter flywheel and more precise transmission components along with more rigid suspension parts and a retuned brake booster for better stability and better driver feel.

The result? An even more engaging drive than the FK8, says our man Hafriz Shah, and – unless you’re especially enamoured with its predecessor’s stowed-Gundam-robot looks – the FL5 looks better, too. It is however a much more expensive car now; RM400k for the FL5, compared to RM320k for the FK8 when it arrived in 2017. Watch the video review, here.

GALLERY: FL5 Honda Civic Type R in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Dong gor on Jan 26, 2024 at 7:41 pm

Is it worth the 400k? Everyone knows the answer without a flinch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • ThePolygon on Jan 26, 2024 at 7:58 pm

With electric cars on the horizon with an obscene amount of HP and torque, I guess cars like these not really holding a unique segment anymore.

• 400k because of the performance? In the past maybe. But now any 200k+ EV will smoke this thing. Figuratively of course, for EVs don’t smoke. This is only for its nostalgia, its old-schoolness, not for its performance.

• Gapless on Jan 27, 2024 at 12:48 am

Seeing Hafriz bouncing around in the video while saying the Type R is useable as a daily driver. Softy like me probably will get herniated back already.

• johnas on Jan 27, 2024 at 8:23 am

MYR is to be blamed.

• No, it’s not worth 400k even with warranty. You can pick 1 supposedly reconditioned 1 for lows 300k, like brand new & we all know it’s brand new literally even without warranty. You don’t need the warranty, saves your 50-100k for mods & maintenance. Price will eventually down the road in a year or 2, guesstimate mid to high 300s, just like the previous fk8.

• if you can afford it, it’s worth it. but if you can’t afford it, then it’s not worth it.

but since I can’t afford it, if I had that kind of money will prefer to get a Mercedes or BMW.

Will definitely get more respect driving a German sedan worth RM400K compared to Civic Type R

• eric wong kum on Jan 27, 2024 at 3:47 pm

Still worth it, even its at RM 500k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • It cost RM 400k because our gomen, no matter who we vote for, can overtax us, the consumer. But if businesses do the same, they lose their license.

• The American YouTuber SavageGeese (who I love) bought one for MSRP USD 50,000 and he felt the sting there and you can feel that he bought it because he’s a real car enthusiast. Over here at RM400,000… I guess value is in the eye of the beholder. The exclusivity and the need for balloting the sale makes this feel more special I suppose.

• Katheryne Wong on Jan 27, 2024 at 11:38 pm

A45s or Golf R is a better choice, and also the Passat 2.0 & Audi A4

• this car just worth 50K more than the top spec stock model price. nothing more. For RM400K, just get a real car.

• ROTI CANAI on Jan 28, 2024 at 10:35 pm

GR COROLLA, R.I.P SEAWEED TYPE R

• James Foo on Jan 29, 2024 at 1:50 pm

Only die hard fans who can afford will buy. For most of us who can afford, I don’t think we will spend that kind of money for a Honda. The driving experience overall is nothing compared to German cars.

• 7mcar.com on Feb 01, 2024 at 5:42 pm

Need More Style

• Linoth Suriya on Feb 09, 2024 at 7:53 pm

Langkawi price – RM 220k

• We for this car to depreciates to 200k then I buy