Chery Malaysia offering guaranteed courtesy car if repair takes more than 48 hours – Keeps you Moving

The basic duty of a car is to get us around, a tool for work and daily life. One of the worst situations to be in, motoring wise, is for your car to be out of action with no replacement. You’re still paying for the car, but have to cough out extra for Grab rides and/or public transport, and that’s before factoring in the inconvenience. It’s even worse when there’s no clarity on when you can get your car back.

A solution to this is the courtesy car, where you will be issued a replacement car while work is being done on your ride. However, there’s no firm policy on giving out courtesy cars – not that we know of from the OEM’s side currently (there were examples in the past, and some premium brand financing arms do offer the perk) – and it’s purely based on goodwill and availability.

Basically, the dealership is under no obligation to offer you a courtesy car, and if you’re lucky to get one, you certainly can’t choose a model ‘of the same level’ as your stricken ride.

Which is why Chery Malaysia’s latest move is a bold one. Vice president Lee Wen Hsiang told paultan.org that it will be introducing a guaranteed courtesy car programme, one that will offer you a loaner if the work/repair on your car takes more than 48 hours, or two days. The key word here is guaranteed, a publicly announced black and white policy.

The initiative is known as ‘Keeps you Moving’ and its goal is exactly that, to keep you moving although your car is out of action. We understand that the courtesy car provided will be the Omoda 5, which is the exact same car that the majority of Chery owners are driving, so it’s ‘business as usual’ for the customer – no downgrade needed. The burden of having a courtesy car is on the dealer, and the customer gets peace of mind.

Chery Malaysia’s guaranteed courtesy car programme will be introduced soon, and we’ll follow up on this story.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nice

• John Gagal on Feb 21, 2024 at 11:06 am

Chery making its own Lemon law. Good job!

MITI, KPNDKK please wake up!

• Lets See on Feb 22, 2024 at 12:29 pm

What happens when all the allocated courtesy cars got used up? What then?

• Lance Chau on Feb 20, 2024 at 3:56 pm

Wow, very brave of Chery Malaysia. Kudos.

• i rather choose not to have such guarantee programme, it seem like this chery brand not confident and reliable enough that why this programme kick in after so many incident of breakdown cases……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • hayoh on Feb 21, 2024 at 12:57 pm

Chery cars do provide a good balance of tech, quality and value. That’s why so many people are buying it. Even if their quality is bad (which isn’t so), they are taking responsibility to give their customers assurances.

Meanwhile, a MB owner had to tow his car in front of HQ to go viral online.

• Pandai on Feb 21, 2024 at 1:01 pm

Bodoh. Itu salah, ini salah.. ko ni mesti hati hitam

• Clean King on Feb 22, 2024 at 12:48 pm

@Pandai you are right. That Jack is Hitam inside and outside also very hitam. His motherlang is Pro-Israel and anti-Islam and anti-China.

• Darren on Feb 20, 2024 at 4:16 pm

Bagus lah Chery Malaysia

• Ongtk on Feb 20, 2024 at 5:54 pm

This is an awesome move. Cherry must be applauded. My CX-5 2.2D AWD was in the workshop for almost 3 months for engine replacement. I had to take Grab for local travel and rent car for outstation business trips and during the Christmas. Fortunately, I got the car back a day before CNY otherwise I would have to incur additional costs to rent a car.

• Hybrid Owner on Feb 20, 2024 at 5:56 pm

Chery show how serious they are in doing business n penetrating Malaysia automotive market. Proton, Perodua, Japanese Automaker should be worries with development n approach take by Chery in Malaysia.

• Lets See on Feb 22, 2024 at 12:34 pm

But why? If your Proton, Perodua, Japanese Automaker car don’t breakdown so easily and take so long to repair, why bother needing a courtesy car?

• What is the penalties if they are unable to do it?

• Albert Einstein call this SANITY on Feb 20, 2024 at 6:20 pm

All car distributors should follow Chery’s example plus classify any problematic car as a LEMON if still kepala pusing after 30 days,plus buy over the problematic lemon at full price.
    This way,the perodua kencing manis episode is put to rest.
    Ahlokekor,stop all the blardy undercover duties and selling number plates to the super rich.
    Act fast on the lemon law.Dont just goyang kaki watching fanciful number plates snapped up by the super filthy rich.

• Why buy cherry when U can buy APPLE on Feb 20, 2024 at 6:49 pm

Cherry is just a lower quality Apple car. Please think first before purchase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • hayoh on Feb 20, 2024 at 7:27 pm

Waiting for T and H fanboys to come bash this news..

• Penguin on Feb 20, 2024 at 8:22 pm

all brands should do this.

• Kenny on Feb 20, 2024 at 10:10 pm

It’s a good move for a automotive company newly set up here.

• Pro-Palestine on Feb 21, 2024 at 9:10 am

Wow. After sales service dari China sangat luar biasa. All European dan Japanese car brands can tutup kedai already. Really impress with how far Chian progress. From reverse engineering and cheap products to super high quality at super affordable price. Kalau continue cam ni, semua jenama yahudi dan kawan kawan yahudi boleh mampus

• yusrykru on Feb 21, 2024 at 11:59 am

tahniah cherry, a new benchmark created in after sales service, keep it up!