LLM reminds motorcyclists that the emergency lane isn’t their exclusive right – be alert and stay focused

The Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) has reminded motorcyclists that the emergency lane on highways isn’t their exclusive right, and that bikers must always be alert and focused for the safety of all.

“A reminder to all highway users! The emergency lane is not the exclusive right of motorcyclists. It is also used by other vehicles to stop in case of a breakdown or emergency on the highway. Motorcyclists must always be alert and focused for the safety of all,” LLM said in a social media post tagging works minister Datuk Seri Alexander Nanta Linggi and his ministry.

Recently, there have been cases where angry bikers lashed out at cars on the emergency lane, who were using the lane legally thanks to the activation of Smartlane on the North South Highway. One stopped his tourer, got down and berated the car driver, while another knocked a car’s side mirror before speeding off.

The recent clashes between those on two and four wheels got me thinking – why are motorcycles exempt from highway toll? If the idea is to not burden the working class, good, but surely you’ve got to be T20 to own some of these big bikes, which take up the space of a car and are often found going faster than most cars? And we’re not even talking about convoys and their marshals.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Feb 22, 2024 at 12:40 pm

Remind what emergency lane? They think the entire highway are exclusively theirs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 3
    • most users think the entire highway are exclusively theirs, no matter motor or car.

• Bossku, corrupt!!! on Feb 22, 2024 at 2:14 pm

Well, that’s why you no need to feel kesian when one of their kind gets run over by a lorry!

• Kea Was on Feb 22, 2024 at 4:13 pm

Well (the word is Remind as they are very special status) as posted by our traffic enforcement months ago.

Abang, yes, I know, we see this and it is against the law, but how strict should we be? If we do 100% enforcement the public will say police are heartless and without compassion, if we let it go then people will say we are not doing our jobs.”

• Earth princes & princess on Feb 22, 2024 at 8:44 pm

As enshrined in the federal constitution. Nobody shall question, doubt and challenge our privileges. 3rd only to God and royalty.

• Brian on Feb 22, 2024 at 12:43 pm

Danny perhaps that question is best discussed with your kolik Mohan. Big bikes don’t deserve to use motor bypass lane they should pay tolls just as a Kancil user would.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
    • 1000% agree

• @NotBruceWayne on Feb 22, 2024 at 5:21 pm

They won’t even bother to give way to bigger vehicles…masuk saja ikut suka endangering other users & themselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Lance Chau on Feb 22, 2024 at 1:16 pm

Only be alert and stay focus? That’s all? Commit wrongdoing and can get away with it. How can?

• No Bike on Feb 22, 2024 at 1:41 pm

High time they ban bike on the highways just like many country did.

• Ben Yap on Feb 22, 2024 at 1:57 pm

motorcyclists are king. they hit you, you are in the wrong and you cannot claim insurance against them. you hit them, that’s the worst and you need to compensate them and still get fined. when they lane split, you need to give way to them. when the road is so jam and they hit your wing mirror, you just need to let it go. when it rains heavily, they can stop under a flyover and park their bikes until the take up an entire lane on a highway and you will need to avoid their parked bikes. when they take a shortcut to ride against the traffic or beat the red lights, you need to avoid them. there is nothing you can do to them and they don’t even need to pay toll.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Feb 22, 2024 at 2:27 pm

This is the case of a stupid guy trying to be a vigilante.

• Lembaga Lumba Haram Mesia on Feb 22, 2024 at 3:06 pm

Lain kali kalo rempit tendang cermin korang, korang kejar & tendang balik

• No brainer, to afford such bikes you should afford to pay the tolls too. Make it a pre-requisite before owning one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Sohai on Feb 22, 2024 at 4:26 pm

Car will always have priority over motor regardless of whichever lane….
    Why? because car pays toll, motor is free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • M40 B40 mindset on Feb 22, 2024 at 5:07 pm

Remind them ? LOL…u dont remind ur kids go pee don’t u????? Just summon them, big bikers think they have a RM100k bike is very rich, pay higher insurance than a Vios consider rich people…

Come on big bikers, u just got small balls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Rich T20 big bikers on Feb 22, 2024 at 8:55 pm

Yea we compensating for tiny crown jewels. But we can afford to do so unlike you poor farks can only afford to ride loud & slow mopeds. Ko dengki apasal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Lighter mindset on Feb 22, 2024 at 11:30 pm

I clicked “like!” on your comment because of your small balls projection on motorcyclists who can afford a more expensive vehicle than yours LOL THAT WAS FUNNY :-)

• M40 B40 mindset on Feb 23, 2024 at 4:13 pm

Sad. rumah hanya 1 motor, pakai kancil 30 tahun, then act rich HAHAHAHA, taking 8k income per month act T20….ouch butt pain….SO PAIN….ouch

• Can the government just ban motorbikes? They have no right on roads with their atrocious riding attitude.

• Lembaga Lumba (Harem) Mesia on Feb 22, 2024 at 8:49 pm

Ingat gais. Emergency lane bukan korang saje bulih pakai. T20 dah dengki tu buat komplen kat korang

• Jonathan on Feb 22, 2024 at 9:13 pm

Our traffic laws are more biased towards motorcyclists. Motorcycle can just lane splitting between cars. If you knocked them when they doing lane splitting (mostly at high speed), you are at fault.

• Latuk Bandar on Feb 22, 2024 at 11:31 pm

Catch all these hooligans at all cost.
    D plate biker DEV 9620..

• Jiuyrt on Feb 23, 2024 at 6:18 am

Grab rider ” Ada aku kisah?”

• opmanmy on Feb 23, 2024 at 8:43 am

Those big biker are nuisance. Zipping in and out of lanes, expecting vehicles to give way to them. Their driving is putting others in harm’s way. Where did they learn their driving license?! Remind them?! Apa la.

• Lance Chau on Feb 23, 2024 at 10:56 am

Remind them? What about them not using the designated lanes on certain highway?

• Bikes on Feb 23, 2024 at 11:31 am

Thank God there are ppl using bikes to commute or travel, just imagine how Jam it will be if all of them drives cars too. Thank you Bikers for helping reduce congestions and also reduce parking space. Govt shud give incentives for ppl to commute with bikes and charge congestion charges to cars….thats what most european countries do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Pepas on Feb 23, 2024 at 1:53 pm

Bikers park in car lot, bikers hogging right lane on highway, bikers drive like crazy, bikers driving fast during traffic jams, bikers only know how to horn brake forget. Want me to add more? Thank you for nothing la.

• Joyce on Feb 23, 2024 at 4:32 pm

Then make sure they use the lane built for them only – motorcycle lane