KL-Singapore HSR concept proposals evaluation to take two months; Malaysian government approval next

Seven concept proposals have been received from firms and consortiums interested in the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (KL-SG HSR) project, and the evaluation of these proposals is expected to take two months to complete, New Straits Times has reported.

MyHSR Corporation is still evaluating the concept proposals that have been received, and the results of the evaluation will be taken up for government approval to shortlist the consortiums for the next process, the transport ministry has said.

MyHSR Corporation has been given the responsibility to carry out the request for information (RFI) process which ended on January 15, the transport ministry said, and all interested parties have been informed that the government will not provide any loan guarantee for this project, it added.

The Malaysian government intends for the KL-SG HSR project to be implemented through private fund investment and without any injection of government funds, according to the report.

Last July, MyHSR Corporation requested concept proposals from local and international firms for development and operation of the Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (KL-SG HSR) project, and the RFI process was carried out to solicit private sector interest.

The latest iteration of the KL-SG HSR as of July will run across six states – Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Selangor, Negeri Sembilan, Melaka, and Johor – before crossing the Tebrau Strait into Jurong East in Singapore. The 350 km distance distance from Bandar Malaysia to Jurong East could be completed in 90 minutes through a non-stop service, The Star wrote at the time.

Plans for the KL-SG HSR has been protracted, beginning in December 2016 when when Malaysia and Singapore signed a legally-binding bilateral agreement to facilitate the project. Construction was originally scheduled to begin in 2018 for completion in 2025, for operations to start in 2026.

This was deferred in 20218 until 2020, which saw Malaysia pay S$15 million (RM45.1 million at the time) as compensation for costs incurred by Singapore. The project was terminated in 2021, before reconsideration for its revival without using public funds.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Peppa on Mar 05, 2024 at 4:20 pm

Dear Malaysian government, please stop wasting country money and time on this project. Prioritize within nation infrastructure first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • And this is not exactly it; to make it easier to work in SGP and have people spend that money in Malaysia to boost economy? Think deeper.

• Peppa on Mar 05, 2024 at 9:15 pm

You are the one who need to think much deeper. Is KL-SG hsr really necessary just to achieve that goal? It seems like this project benefits only one nation that is neither Malaysia nor Singapore. You guess

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Nation on Mar 06, 2024 at 10:34 am

Can you even afford the HSR ticket price ? Or you expect Malaysian taxpayers to subsidized the price for Singaporean benefits ? BTW. Subsidise means every ticket sold is at a loss to the Govt. And what ever “HSR economic benefit” you refering to WONT be enough to cover the loan interest alone. Apart from the massive yearly operating losses the HSR will incur. Not to mention the cows that will be crossing the tracks when HSR traveling at high speed

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 06, 2024 at 4:33 pm

Cows? You think Malaysia is India ke? Per bodoh. We will do everything to not look like india. Its disgusting. Please stop seeing Malaysia as India and remember we in Malaysia do things differently and things works differently here in Malaysia and the rest of the world to India. We don’t think like indians and our cows are not so stupid like indian cows to cross a train track

• Youwa on Mar 06, 2024 at 8:32 pm

India doing better than Your country moron!.Stop comparing ,talk like caveman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • LRT User on Mar 05, 2024 at 6:42 pm

So if PH stalls again until projek koyak once more, this time how much penalty we need to pay?

• Albert Einstein call this INSANITY on Mar 05, 2024 at 8:11 pm

The Japanese pulled out,when they found out Govt is not giving guarantee.
      So,we may end up like the ECRL..constructing a rail line that is not needed.
      This may end up like another littoral combat shit fiasco,when the contractor behave like Proton,forcing govt to bailout multiple times.
      Tell us,which high speed railway is very profitable?Most of them r funded by taxpayers dollars.

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 08, 2024 at 9:40 am

Actually all high speed rail is profitable and have indirect boost of all the state/region that is connected too. Its proven. Business boom wherever high speed train is available. kampung becomes a city in all places

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 06, 2024 at 2:33 pm

Bodoh punya tambi Peppa ni. This is infrastucture and this is within Malaysia. Don’t bring your indian mentality and logic to Malaysia coz we see it fail big time in India. We don’t want to look or be like India ok.

• Kea Was on Mar 05, 2024 at 4:54 pm

So can we get back the RM320,000,000 instructed to be paid by the former Asman due to his blunder to cancel the project but then talks about reviving the project comes months later with him in the government.

• Danish on Mar 05, 2024 at 11:22 pm

“This was deferred in 20218 until 2020”

i think there’s an error in the year

• Gomorrah on Mar 06, 2024 at 3:40 am

Why does it have to be a new line? The technology exists to use the current line with upgrades to the track. Its a mystery why we are still kneecapping ourselves using metre gauge instead of using standard gauge for the KTM system. The opportunity existed during the double tracking project but nooooo we just have to do it the dumb way.

• seitha on Mar 06, 2024 at 6:37 am

who going to pay Malaysia back the RM300 million we paid to Spore when the project was cancelled???

As far as we know… Only big projects can put big money in pockets

Anwar menang, rakyat senang!!

• Forest City Gump on Mar 06, 2024 at 8:38 am

Aiyah… Someone just came into position to pressure the PM to award the HSR project to him and his family in return for his support of the Permadani Govt. These people need the money to buy fancy fleet of supercars to show off to the rakyat

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 06, 2024 at 9:56 am

Great project to make put Malaysia on the map again. This will boost economy and image of Malaysia bhig time. Must have another hight speed rail to Penang baru complete. To KL alone not enough

• Jarren Loke on Mar 11, 2024 at 11:51 am

The current unity government desperately needs a high-impact project like the HSR to revitalize Malaysia’s frailing economy. However, I do feel that the current government may be too overly zealous about private companies funding this project.

• HSR will cause Malaysia talent outflow to Sg faster. How Malaysia can develop when the most talented work for Sg not Malaysia. This project only benefits SG not Malaysia.