The Ramadan fasting month starts today, March 12, and to make sure that the ensuing exodus to get home in the evening for buka puasa is as smooth as possible, the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) has told all highway concessionaires to make thorough preparations, particularly during peak hours.
According to Bernama, director-general Datuk Sazali Harun said the authority is naturally expecting an increase in traffic volume on tolled highways during rush hour this month, and wants concessionaires to implement initiatives to ease the stress of travel.
“Among the initiatives that must be implemented are rescheduling the activation time of tidal lanes or Smart Lanes in line with the changes in working hours and ensuring that all facilities provided at rest and service areas, lay-bys and toll plazas are in good condition, including water supply and cleanliness,” he said in a statement.
Sazali also urged concessionaires to be mindful when closing lanes for maintenance works, taking into consideration the changes in commuting times. He added that they must also identify hotspots where congestion occurs and provide temporary workarounds to manage the traffic increase.
“They should enhance cooperation with the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) to facilitate traffic movement, especially at critical locations such as at traffic lights after highway exits to prevent traffic overflow,” he said.
Sazali said the concessionaires, the works ministry and LLM all have to be mindful of the comfort of highway users at all times and strive to provide the best services. Highway users can contact LLM’s traffic management centre at 1-800-88-7752 for traffic information or assistance.
emergency lane become “smart lane”..
Why is it labelled “smart”… whats smart about it?
We thought by changing the gov the idiocy “Malayisa boleh” started by mahatahi will be stopped but it lives on!!
So true… I’m getting sick of that crappy word used everywhere just to look “cool and modern”.
Smart phones are not smart, they are wireless computers. If they were smart, why people become so dumb using them? If those wireless phones were smart, they will automatically shutdown while users are driving!
If phones where smart, they would repeal those heavy load of stupid entertainment.
Smart city? BS. Just more cctv and automatisation to monitor people and be sure that taxpayers don’t have privacy (and little saving out of the eye of BolehBigBrorher)
Smart lane? Nope, just emergency lanes stupidly renamed “smart” while temporally used during peak festive seasons.
Smart things everywhere and more and more assisted retard consumers. Totally formatted, brainwashed, unable to detect official scams and mainstream overload of shitnews…
It’s labelled smart because it use the available emergency lane temporarily until the traffic smooth again..I remembered once a late ex-minister wanted to build a bridge when there is no river to be crossed over..his solution is, let’s build a river then..maybe this is the smart solution that you are looking for. After all his reigns lasted for 31 years.
You are out of topic. I wrote about etymology and you mumble about political business routine.
its people like you who kept him in power for 31 years…may be you are his crony or you have earned millions from him being in power
This would not be a problem if PH had fulfilled their promises. Jams are due to toll chokepoints on the highway, remove it and you remove the problem. PH Gomen is not interested to solve rakyat problems they just want to sell more number plates.
Why not try this?
Road hoggers are to be fined rm500. Speed limit increase to 125kph.