Chery Malaysia offers Extra Peace of Mind package – 7 years servicing, 10-year engine warranty; RM11,600

Chery Malaysia has introduced the Extra Peace of Mind package for new buyers of the Omoda 5 and Tiggo 8 Pro. The optional add-on is priced at RM11,600 and serves to provide customers with a worry-free experience for the first seven years.

According to the company, the package covers the replacement of scheduled maintenance items such as engine oil, engine oil filter, radiator coolant, brake fluid, air filter, spark plug, engine oil washer and transmission oil. The company claims customers can save up to RM2,750 on servicing costs across seven years.

“By purchasing the Extra Peace of Mind Package, customers can rest assured that they won’t be affected by the increasing prices of spare parts and maintenance costs over time. This enables them to budget their expenses more effectively and plan their finances more efficiently,” the company said in its release.

It added that the Extra Peace of Mind package is bundled with a 10-year, one million-km engine warranty. Keep in mind that this is still available as a separate add-on for RM2,000 if you prefer not to pay RM11,600 for the Extra Peace of Mind package with the maintenance items. The default engine warranty is seven years or 150,000 km.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bob Mal on Mar 15, 2024 at 4:32 pm

Honestly RM11.6k for 7 years maintenance cost for a China car is too much or either Proton, Honda, Toyota, Perodua which Paultan continually compare with in 5 years usually less than RM5k is not correct with many items not included.

Imagine Cheery Tiggo maintenance is RM11600 + RM2750 (savings) = RM14350 / 14 (times based on 2x a year) = RM1025 every 6 months/10k service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • That price is ridiculous as it is even more expensive than servicing the BMW M2 for its quoted price of RM13,300 (for 5 years) back in 2021.

• Chikuteh politician on Mar 16, 2024 at 11:07 am

Tongsan car dont buy. Buy jepun the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
        • Anoneh’s car over priced n expensive to maintain. Stay away

• Chikuteh Politician on Mar 17, 2024 at 1:43 pm

Last time some polician said Tong San is poor mah. Not happy go back to Tong San then choose nippon la

• YG bro on Mar 19, 2024 at 12:37 pm

Brother, all car brands are facing same after changing tax rate from 6% to 8%

• 4GR-FSE on Mar 15, 2024 at 5:16 pm

Save your money and get a Toyota.. That is real peace of mind..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 53
    • FudgeMeSideways on Mar 15, 2024 at 6:40 pm

Best comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Vantage on Mar 15, 2024 at 6:48 pm

Depends. Chery is also real peace of mind. As for performance, Chery still better than Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 24
      • 4GR-FSE on Mar 15, 2024 at 9:19 pm

We are in the topic of “Peace of Mind”.. if you want performance, plenty of other cars are better than Chery.

Our Southeast Asia auto industry is mostly built around Toyota products including Perodua, thus parts are plentiful, let that sink into our mind for a while. Toyota/Lexus without a doubt still ranked highly in reliability. Thus so many buyers are willing to buy recond Toyota/Lexus even without any warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
        • You sure? Better performance than Chery? Better test before you say again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Tongsan product on Mar 15, 2024 at 11:11 pm

Made in china only for tong san people. Not happy can go bck the poor tongsan. Comment by nice politician

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • Pro-Palestine on Mar 16, 2024 at 5:20 pm

I think now people will only say Balik India if not happy coz people realize Tongsan is actually a good friend. Same as Russia. They stand with Palestine against the Zionist America. That is why America want to ban China desperately especially free speech platform like TikTok. They lost control of twitter and now they can’t have TikTok promoting pro-Palestine and anti-Zionist sentiment. They scared that more people with know the truth.
          Allah is great and the truth and the good will prevail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • Omnigod on Mar 17, 2024 at 11:53 am

You shud go back to Palesine.. Losers will perish there. Allah may be great but its followers are false and poor in faith..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • not a fanboi on Mar 16, 2024 at 12:37 pm

if you’re mentioning performance, reliability is one of it as well.
        of course engine and tech feature wise, chery has the edge over tyt, but in terms of reliability/peace of mind/rv, i’ll choose tyt every goddamn time.

pros and cons la, some dare to take risk, some just choose the safer route.
        no right or wrong decision, lets see how chery fare in the future, in terms of their reliability and RV (in malaysia market)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Pro-Palestine on Mar 16, 2024 at 5:22 pm

Cherry give 1 million km warranty while toyota gives 150k km only. Who more reliable and confident? Sohai pun tahu Chery better build. You are stupider than sohai. Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • not a fanboi again on Mar 18, 2024 at 9:50 am

let us see how it fares in the future, like i say. different people have different opinions.
            tyt proven their “old” engine drivetrain stood the test of time over the years, it may not be as exciting or powerful or wonderful, whatever you may call it, but that is what some ‘need’ an automobile to be.

dont need to bash people for their opinion. we human as not perfect, same as automotive products (we refer it as cars)

• 4GR-FSE on Mar 18, 2024 at 10:18 am

Cherry didnt give you 1mil km for free, you need to pay RM11k to get the 1mil km.. let that sink into your mind for awhile.

• YG bro on Mar 19, 2024 at 12:39 pm

Gais, all car brands are facing same after changing tax rate from 6% to 8%, so does not mean Toyota, Honda, Proton and Perodua will be cheaper as used to be, as goes up which is might be expensive than Chery or almost expensive as Chery

• if you are buying the only car in the family, do put reliability at the foremost criteria and you get a small pool of choices, if you have more than one in the family, you can choose anything you like. if you are worried about a certain brand’s quality maybe that is not a risk you can afford to take yet.

• Sohai on Mar 17, 2024 at 12:47 pm

If i plan to own a car for more than 7 years, china car wont be it.
    The track record in malaysia simply doesnt support that sort of long term ownership.

• Robinhood on Mar 18, 2024 at 9:12 am

If Chery is so confident of their cars, they won’t even bother to ask you to pay RM11600 for the warranty!!!! It is clear they need to buy insurance for the concern!!! So go figure…..

• Pro-Palestine on Mar 21, 2024 at 9:33 am

RM 11600 is for the Hassle free full car servicing and maintenance for 7 years, The 1 million km warranty is only 2 k extra la bodoh.

• hazri on Mar 19, 2024 at 12:10 am

why so many too good to be true offer? (well, even its true). easy, because you are desperate. like mazda gives 5 years free maintenance while honda doesnt care at all. currently, honda not desperate, until your sales drop (which is unlikely), then you will follow mazda.

• YG bro on Mar 19, 2024 at 12:37 pm

Brother, all car brands are facing same after changing tax rate from 6% to 8%