Proton opens new R&D centre in China – serves to upgrade homegrown models, EV development

Proton has opened its new R&D centre in China as part of its collaborative efforts with business partner Zhejiang Geely Holding (Geely). The new facility, which is located within the Geely Automobile Research Institute at Hangzhou Bay, will complement Proton’s existing R&D facilities in Malaysia.

In an official release, the company said its R&D centre in China will strengthen its ability to conceptualise, design, develop and manufacture new vehicles by combining its in-house competencies with the resources and know-how that Geely can offer.

“Aspiring to mirror the success story of China Euro Vehicle Technology in Gothenburg, Sweden, this latest development moves Proton’s R&D facilities in Malaysia closer to becoming the sixth in the Geely Group’s global network of R&D centres,” read the release.

The new facility will have a workforce of 50 employees and covers top-hat and platform integration for internal combustion engine (ICE) and future electric vehicle (EV) models. This also includes the upgrading of Proton’s homegrown models, which are presumably the Saga, Persona and Iriz, as covered in a previous report.

In addition to vehicle development, Proton’s R&D centre in China will also serve as a platform to engage with vendors for the continuous development of the Automotive Hi-Tech Valley in Tanjong Malim, Perak, including focusing on full business life cycle areas such as quality, procurement, and manufacturing.

The new centre will have three departments, namely the Central Research Institute, Data Intelligence Development Centre as well as the R&D Digitisation Centre. The first is responsible for coordinating the R&D system for vehicles and to enhance Proton’s technology capabilities.

Meanwhile, the Data Intelligence Development Centre covers research development and delivery of big data and artificial intelligence before formulating product deployment plans. Lastly, the R&D Digitisation Centre explores and manages the digitisation needs of the R&D system and formulating of strategies for digital transformation.

“We have witnessed the birth of a facility that allows us to work closer than ever with our partners and will inspire connections for years to come while helping to expand Proton’s global presence.,” said Li Chunrong, CEO of Proton.

“It is our hope this important milestone would enable us to move towards our goal of Proton becoming the sixth Geely Group R&D centre, while bolstering Proton’s existing capabilities that are already well established in Malaysia. We remain steadfast in our commitment to pushing boundaries, challenging the status quo, and making endless possibilities for the future of mobility,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on Apr 29, 2024 at 1:48 pm

syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Fakehunter on Apr 29, 2024 at 2:29 pm

Not as syok sendiri as claiming to be owner of this and that but actually just a bus rider

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
      • REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on May 02, 2024 at 7:31 pm

sorry la proton salesman now nobody buy your car until need take bus

• R&D? in a country that have zero respect for intellectual properties? good luck man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
  • Bob Mal on Apr 29, 2024 at 2:08 pm

LiKeD the success story of China Euro Vehicle Technology which I supposed it means the 1.5L 3cyl TGDi engine – since the X50, X70, X90, S70 platform none of which comes developed with Volvo.

However that said engine have already been removed from Aurobay (Geely + Volvo power train) and it has also been removed from any Geely Coolray/X50 models as of late apart from Geely Philippines. Come on even Geely Cambodia gets the Coolray with 1.5L TGDi 4Cyl apa hal.

• Squid on Apr 29, 2024 at 2:11 pm

I foresee all the keyboard warriors will want to bash this achievement.

For once, just shut up n be proud of our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
    • The usual suspects like ioma already camping here

• President Xi on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:56 pm

Yea, your Malaysians will be singing the Chinese anthem everyday. How can you not be proud of that?

• china on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:41 pm

yes im proud of china be appreciate of what geely and china gave to proton lol.

• Sohai on Apr 29, 2024 at 2:29 pm

IF can bring back some new working culture of a multinational Co. is already a success, nevermind the R&D tech.

• sOhai on Apr 29, 2024 at 3:48 pm

This is how China Geely Kill Engineer Expertise R&D Malaysia Local Talent in silent they have their own plan, in future maybe all Proton R&D engineer are from China Land to save cost fo development.. PROTON just only contract assembler…SAYONARA PROTON R&D nothing can be proud off anymore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Iswandy on Apr 30, 2024 at 12:49 am

Yes. you are totally right. Malang sekali negaraku. New generation need to totally change the country in almost all part of the country.

• Hopeless Proton eat taxpayer dollars on Apr 30, 2024 at 12:34 pm

Proton has been a waste of funding ever since the takeover of Geely. Hopeless “Directors” of the company

• Yeahsure on Apr 29, 2024 at 4:32 pm

They seriously need a Rattling Dashboard Department

• rm60k budget sedan on Apr 29, 2024 at 5:19 pm

Hopefully waiting for an improves persona with upgraded timing chain engine + not cvt gearbox. Can refer to vios first gen 2002 if lack of idea.

• It will just Geely’s credit no matter what is the achievement from this R&D center. I wish I can proud of Malaysia but we all know what is the story behind.

• Dasar Pandang Ke Timur on Apr 29, 2024 at 7:26 pm

Inisiatif yg bagus. Belajar ilmu dari negara maju. Tapi jangan ikut perangai vavi dorang meniru & menipu buat kete substandard sampai patah axle belakang. Kurang ajaq dorang tu

• Bigboytoy on Apr 30, 2024 at 8:25 am

PROTON sudah lebih 35 tahun pengalaman. Sekurang-kurangnya dapat memberikan rakyat di Negara China pekerjaan dalam bidang R&D Industry Automotive.

• Pisang Duri on Apr 29, 2024 at 9:04 pm

Berita hangat. Breaking News.
    Grill aerodinamik zero coefficient drag pertama di dunia.

• Proton Business Decisions on Apr 29, 2024 at 10:55 pm

Cannot expect malaysians MALAP any meaningful R+D.

PROTON loves 3-cyl engine Boyue SUV so much that PROTON gives GEELY CHINA 49.9% control shares valued at RM770M . In short PROTON buy the 3-Cyl Engine.

In CHINA there is no forcing anyone.

• Mahesan on Apr 30, 2024 at 7:12 am

1.My Proton X70 will be 5 years old in August 2024. 2. The X70 has done only 32,000 km. 3.The engine wobbles and vibrates when I stop at traffic lights on Drive.. 4. The driver’s door handle has broken. 5. The radiator overheats badly and I have to stop because of this. My Question. Is there any warranty that I can claim for these problems to be rectified at your service centre? I have only driven the car for 32,000km because I have another vehicle that I use most of the time for my work.

• sharon pui on Apr 30, 2024 at 11:07 am

Upgrading Proton’s homegrown models…. Upgrading? Does it mean not develop a new generation?

• loopt on Apr 30, 2024 at 11:35 am

1st research. How to make a self dismantling axle.

• Abdul Majid Bhatti on May 01, 2024 at 2:58 pm

Bullshit Proton representation in Pakistan. Al Haj Automobiles Hilal Afridi is keeping our 9 Lac for more than 2 years just for nothing. What R&D we have to do with???