Chery Malaysia Omoda 5 recall – root cause of axle welding issue identified; new recall website now online

Chery Malaysia has issued yet another statement on the Omoda 5 rear axle case. This is the company’s third public statement after the case exploded on social media on April 28. The initial statement was released the day after, acknowledging the issue, with a second one following soon after on April 30, officially issuing a recall on 600 units of the Omoda 5.

The third statement – released today, May 4 – offers a few interesting insights on the issue. Chery Malaysia says it is “working closely with the Ministry of Transport (MOT) to ensure the rectification of all affected vehicles to the highest standards of safety.” It voluntarily arranged a meeting with the MoT to brief them on the matter, according to Lee Wen Hsiang, Chery Auto Malaysia Vice President.

The root cause of the issue has also been identified following a thorough investigation. “Following a comprehensive investigation, the vendor reported that the issue was due to a facility upgrade during which a worn-out tip of the automated welding machine was replaced by a new welding tip. The replacement of the new welding tip resulted in a miscalibration of the equipment,” said Lee.

A total of 60 units of the Omoda 5 in Malaysia has been identified to be using the affected parts, produced on August 15, 2023. Chery Malaysia then decided to cast a wider net and recall vehicles with parts made between August 14 and 17, totalling 600 units. As of yesterday (May 3), Chery Malaysia has contacted 32 of the initial 60 affected owners.

A new website has also been created for owners to confirm whether or not their car is affected by the recall. Chery Malaysia also pledges to release a weekly update to the public on this matter to provide ongoing information about the status of the recall programme.

Statement by Chery Malaysia in full:

Chery Auto Malaysia mobilises precautionary measures to uphold customer safety
Automaker takes responsibility, ensures accountability and transparency in managing the campaign

Kuala Lumpur, 4 May 2024 – Chery Auto Malaysia is striving to keep customers informed about the recent incident involving the axle of an OMODA 5 vehicle. Following a detailed internal investigation, the automaker has recalled a batch of 600 Omoda 5 vehicles and is working closely with the Ministry of Transport (MOT) to ensure the rectification of all affected vehicles to the highest standards of safety.

“Chery Auto Malaysia is committed to providing safe and reliable transportation solutions, and we are dedicated to ensuring that all our vehicles meet the highest safety standards. In line with this commitment, Chery Auto Malaysia voluntarily arranged a meeting to brief the Ministry of Transport (MOT) on the current product inspection status and the root cause involving the Omoda 5 axle incident,” Chery Auto Malaysia Vice President, Lee Wen Hsiang, explained.

The automaker conducted a thorough investigation into the isolated case and reached out to the parts vendor for further clarification. “Following a comprehensive investigation, the vendor reported that the issue was due to a facility upgrade during which a worn-out tip of the automated welding machine was replaced by a new welding tip. The replacement of the new welding tip resulted in a miscalibration of the equipment,” said Lee.

As a direct result, the automaker says that there are a total of 60 units of Omoda 5 vehicles with the affected parts in Malaysia, produced on 15 August 2023. Chery Auto Malaysia has since taken additional precautionary measures by casting a wider net by implementing a special service campaign to call in and inspect OMODA 5 vehicles with rear axles produced between 14 to 17 August 2023, totalling 600 units.

“Chery Auto Malaysia views this matter most seriously as customer safety is our utmost priority. We are in the process of reaching out to customers of the affected Vehicle Identification Numbers (VIN) to request them to bring their vehicle to our authorised service centres for a detailed inspection.

“We have also set up a website for Omoda 5 users to confirm their vehicles are not affected which can be done by simply keying in their Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). Our authorised service centres and technicians are well prepared to serve our customers
potentially affected by this,” Lee concluded.

Chery Auto Malaysia has confirmed that no other vehicles by the brand are affected.

Owners of Omoda 5 can check if their vehicles are affected by keying in their VIN number at https://www.chery.my/chery-product-update

As of 3 May 2024, Chery Auto Malaysia has contacted more than 53% (32/60) of the affected owners.

To ensure Chery customers are well informed, a weekly update will be publicly shared to provide ongoing information about the status of the recall programme.

Chery Auto Malaysia thanks all our customers for their patience, understanding and cooperation, and the Ministry of Transport for its advice and guidance in this matter.

For queries kindly contact the Chery Malaysia Customer Careline at +603 – 2771 7070 (Monday to Friday, 8:30am to 5:30pm).

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• May 4th on May 04, 2024 at 12:38 pm

At least now, most gullible Malaysians who got hoodwinked by Shiny Cherry Tomato cars realised that it is just as crap, if not worse, than Potong! Also, the exterior is so out of this world, it could easily be in Star Wars! May the force be with the dumb who bought it!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 44
    • Chery fanboys bashing against reliability ones from BYD, without any reasons but yet poor knowledgeable as knowing afraid that Chery sales are losing after the real truth issues came from Chery owners till Chery fanboys saw this JPJ including recall announced that Chery needs to recall endlessly? Did you think still worth to buy than Chery where losing reliability ones than BYD and GAC. Even Proton also now improving than Chery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 29
      • For the same $$$, Chery fanboys shud buy 2022 rekon Merc GLA 240hp instead.

• Dah Menang Semua on May 06, 2024 at 5:13 pm

Whenever I see Cherry
          I will overtake them
          Scared follow them

• Advance Tech on May 07, 2024 at 5:15 am

Stupid to buy recond Mercedes that is known with many reliability issues.

Poorer people will buy recond
          Richer people will buy new one
          Miser and classic lover people will buy second hand

• DonkeyKong on May 06, 2024 at 1:00 pm

SRJKC specimen detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • BYD Seal User on May 04, 2024 at 5:07 pm

I just fot my black super seal. Pity those who bought omoda and chery is at least 2 level lower grade than BYD.

• Bob Mal on May 04, 2024 at 12:41 pm

OK so on 15/8/23 they produce 60 parts however on 14,16 & 17/8/23 they can produce at 180/day or 3x more than the affected date?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Axellent on May 05, 2024 at 12:45 am

There could be an explanation.

For example, they could have produced 180 parts on the 15 Aug too, but only 60 out of those made into cars sold to Malaysia. The rest might have ended up in other markets.

In fact, they could have made more than 180/day and it just so happened 600 from the total volume of the 4 days happened to end up in Malaysia market.

Plus, the vendor in China is typically a large scale parts manufacturer and very unlikely to have produced axels exclusively for Malaysia-bound Cherry. Instead, the problematic axel could end up in many other Cherry markets beside Malaysia.

• Dah Menang Semua on May 06, 2024 at 5:17 pm

Sounds like the axle
        Not by machine rather
        by manual craftmanship
        That’s why no standard …
        Let aside design is so thin

• Frankc on May 06, 2024 at 10:06 am

Strange right? Government agency very easy to buy whatever vendor says becoz they didn’t go and do their own investigation and audit thoroughly. Wake up government agency. Rakyat depends on you to drill deep and scrutinize this vendor.

• Ah Keong on May 04, 2024 at 12:41 pm

The replacement of a welding tip causing Miscalibration may be the cause of it, but I think the Root cause of it is really the lack of QC, and the working ethics of Chery, which you can argue is the DNA of the company.
    So by saying they fixed this axle problem is the end of it may not be sufficient, because the fix doesn’t address the root cause. Just how did this escape your QC? What else?

They would probably sweep it under the carpet if it didn’t go viral. Remember the salesman said it was the second case? And they dare say the affected vehicles are still safe to drive in their previous statement.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 9
    • DongKingKong on May 04, 2024 at 5:02 pm

Totally agree. It’s silly that this production glitch happened if anyone think about it. The driver / passenger(s) would have been involved in a much much more serious accident if it were happened at high speed. The thought of the impending accident and aftermath sent chill down my spine.
      China brands still have a lot to prove, I ain’t going to be part of this process.

• QC workers on May 04, 2024 at 7:43 pm

We were having mala hotpot when these 600 units passed through our station

• Frankc on May 06, 2024 at 10:08 am

I strongly agree with you that identifying the root cause doesn’t end at miscalibration. It also reveals weakness in QC control. So what about this details?
      Anyone working in mnc mass production would have learnt this… He he

• Sohai on May 06, 2024 at 2:19 pm

Yalah, I replaced my house water pipe also I test see got leak or not lah.

• PAS suka Mercedes on May 07, 2024 at 9:59 am

imagine driving downhill Genting when the welding snaps. the news will just say its driver mistake, not car problem.

• Better get Atto 3 for safety. Don’t buy anything from Omada 5 or even E5. E5 is one of many recalls than Atto 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 32
  • No problem. I rather top up a bit and get GAC GS3 Emzoom. GAC is durable and lesser worries than buying Chery. Sorry, gonna cancelled booking for Omada 5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 31
    • Keith on May 04, 2024 at 3:47 pm

You must be Ah Tan or Ah Chong. Car salesman, right?

• newme on May 06, 2024 at 11:21 am

How you know GAC is more durable?

• VICTOR on May 06, 2024 at 1:30 pm

GAC collaborates with toyota, so any problems. If you drive toyota or p2 or lexus or mazda, will you also buy GAC too since also collaborates with toyota?

• Sohai on May 06, 2024 at 2:23 pm

GAC collaborates with Toyota, therefore good quality?
          Might as well just buy a Toyota…

• Panasense on May 06, 2024 at 3:18 pm

Depends. But toyota still not as advanced as GAC, even toyota is still good

• newme on May 06, 2024 at 3:35 pm

Proton also collaborated with Suzuki and Honda before, still as bad as before.

• Chery fanboys bash BYD or Proton or somewhere else including GAC but almost bashed, yet Chery fanboys still can’t admit after Chery owners have tons of complaints when driving Chery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 21
    • hayoh on May 04, 2024 at 7:11 pm

How many more comments are you going to make with your ridiculously low grade English?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Cause you ignore to understand and still living in the past. Don’t hayoh with me but hayoh to yourself that still living in the past

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • newme on May 06, 2024 at 10:31 am

Bash what? All same crappy quality.

• Cause you are still living in the past, unable to move forward.

• newme on May 06, 2024 at 2:10 pm

BYD catching fire on delivery trailer happened just less than a week ago. Or are you living in denial?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
          • All car brands have problems. No cars are perfect. Try continental cars and see whether you think its still worth to buy than chinese cars. Even japanese cars have problems but still better than continental cars

• Meanwhile japan cars have lots of recalls quite often, even takata airbags still can’t get rid problems and other incident parts can be happened like wheel fall off or brake got problem or etc, worst than china cars

• newme on May 06, 2024 at 3:38 pm

Stop that other also have problem craps. 1 fire incident may be isolated, 2 incidents maybe coincident, there are tons and tons of cases in middle kingdom. Name 1 car brands with so many incidents.

• jepun tak bagus la on May 06, 2024 at 5:18 pm

@newme

Japanese car salesmen defender detected

• VICTOR on May 06, 2024 at 1:27 pm

Bet that you don’t own china car new quality version at all, can see why you still love to drive outdated japanese cars but also lots of problems. So don’t think that japanese cars are doing good than before

• DonkeyKong on May 06, 2024 at 1:02 pm

Dude it’s hard to understand your SRJKC command of English. You sound almost like some Tencent LLM bot that is trained with chingchong English

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Ollie on May 04, 2024 at 2:09 pm

What do we learn from this – qc processes at both vendor and Chery are poor. There should be at minimum 2 qc steps, the vendor defect should be dealt with immediately at point of assembly at least. This shows a lot about Chery

• Cherry Malaysia on May 06, 2024 at 1:36 pm

We have removed our mala hotpot station and replaced it with a proper qc station. If that gives you comfort….

• Clean King on May 04, 2024 at 3:13 pm

My utmost respect to Chery for being responsible and act so fast to fix all problems. Not many car companies will act so fast and be so responsible. Last time I bought a brand new BMW and has rack issues and I had to call them millions of time and waited 6 months to finally fix my issue.
    Well done Chery. This is a good start to win customers trust.
    Keep up the good work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Master Foo Ling Yew on May 04, 2024 at 3:19 pm

Here is Wisdom
    The Wutang Mountains near the Heavenly Capital bliss
    Axle hold the corner of the testicle for stable Feng shui
    Cherry tomatoe shape of testicles delicious in soup,
    Axle, when I look back are gone but testicles remains.
    Good fortune to all

• Ruslan Bahari on May 04, 2024 at 4:36 pm

OMG. Assembled by Inokom in Gurun, but other Inokom assembled cars are unaffected. Who’s quality control is suspect? GWM or Inokom?

• ROTI CANAI on May 04, 2024 at 4:56 pm

before you bash chery, remember this is a made in malaysia car at inokom factory owned by saim dabi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Hunter on May 04, 2024 at 5:22 pm

Looks like a lot of salesmen from other brand commenting. Really shows when clearly mention other brands like GAC and BYD. You say china cars are crap yet you recommend other chinese crap. Despo for sales. Pathetic.

• Damage is already done. It’ll take a while for them to recover, if at all. Pitt those who bought Chery cars first wave, their RV probably not looking so hot.

• Prwey on May 04, 2024 at 6:09 pm

cherry-picking
    the action or practice of choosing and taking only the most beneficial or profitable items, opportunities, etc., from what is available

• Where are the cherry fan boys claiming better than Toyota and Honda lol.

• that is not good at all, one after another issue followed, the QC department will be responsible for all these

• New welding tip… bla bla bla.
    QAQC tidur? No QC inspection?

• IbanMan on May 04, 2024 at 7:41 pm

Boikot kondom Brazil

• Mangsa perang kumunis on May 04, 2024 at 7:57 pm

Mytukar, I wanna sell my 1 month old Chery Opatah 5. Mileage 1.5k km. What’s the best price you can give me?

• Sohai on May 06, 2024 at 2:11 pm

For me to risk my life driving it? I think you need to pay me…

• 600 unit only??? Others Exle not same ???
    Why not all recall…design is look nice but Quality not in high quality

• U R CCP agent on May 04, 2024 at 10:23 pm

Mr “Pro-Palestine” where r u at? busy elsewhere bashing India due to your personal reasons? LMAO!

• lchanms on May 04, 2024 at 10:38 pm

Chery over BYD anytime. BYD fanboys do not know how much quality issue is BYD facing in China, from exploding batteries to poor suspension steel used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • 5Why Analysis on May 05, 2024 at 1:18 am

Welding of structural joints like in an axel is a safety-critical process. The automotive industry has such a robust quality system whereby this incident of manufacturing quality escape is totally avoidable. There is now a huge question mark on Cherry’s quality system validity.

If Cherry has had a proper quality system and followed it properly, then Cherry and it’s vendor would have performed a welding inspection (either visual, dimensional, or non-destructive tests such as x-ray or fluorescent penetrant) at least on the first part made after a “change” – either in method, equipment, material or people.

In this case, part of a welding equipment has been replaced and Cherry could and should have detected the miscalibrated equipment via the inspection result of the first part that went through it – also known as the validation part inspection or first article inspection (FAI). Why was it not detected? Or was no validation performed?

In the end, the miscalibrated equipment is not really the root cause here. They need to dig deeper than that, and find out the systemic failure that has let defective welds gone through their entire manufacturing process all the way to end customers.

Nonetheless, they made a very good PR move by finding and disclosing their investigation results transparently and swiftly. It’s an very ugly situation but they managed to show some class in handling it so far. I hope they learned from this and come out stronger.

• Sorry Chery, I have canceled my bookings.

• David on May 05, 2024 at 11:48 am

Government should banned them till all are rectified.

• No one seems to bother when Tesla steering wheel fell off, that’s power of brand image building

• Steve on May 05, 2024 at 2:03 pm

Thought of getting one but how they handle the customer left a bad taste in the mouth. Legal letter right? This is bad QC and SOP in production. 60 maybe small number but those effected, it can be huge investment. And then being handled not well it’s worse.. This is not about China etc. It’s chery culture and bad practices

• noooo on May 05, 2024 at 7:01 pm

china should stop all these stupidity.
    every month we see new electric car model.

• VICTOR on May 06, 2024 at 1:31 pm

Then you should also ask other european manufacturers or tesla to stop producing electric cars too, if you think electric cars have problems to you. Do you want me to say same thing on asking european cars or tesla to stop producing electric cars

• Cherry2Lady on May 05, 2024 at 7:08 pm

so the price for second hand should be similar as new axia is it? consider total lost car with new welded join of the axle?. time to hunt some in the market

• Bulls on May 05, 2024 at 8:49 pm

Pay cherry , get cherry. Know such things get durian but Cherry and Potong same parent then story will not end.

• Ben Yap on May 06, 2024 at 8:13 am

this defect is just a cherry on the cake.

• With this rate, Chery might have more problem popping out in no time. Buy car to ferry your love ones. Don’t save few k and compromise on safety. Go for GAC better at least this brand partner with Japanese brand in China. Bet their QC and vehicle assembly know-how is same as Japanese.

• Vendor is one thing but do they even have QA QC in place? No incoming inspection? No sampling inspection? No testing? No PDI?

• KUALA LUMPUR, 24 August 2023 – Chery Malaysia is reinforcing its commitment to quality and excellence with the successful completion of the first batch of Pre-Delivery Inspection (PDI) at its CKD plant in Kulim, has rolled of the line. This significant milestone underscores Chery Malaysia’s dedication to ensuring an unparalleled ownership experience for its valued customers.

THE ABOVE MENTIONED WHOLE TEAM SHOULD BE REPLACED FOR SLEEPING AT WORK, PDI SPECIAL OPS TEAM MY ARS.