Chery Malaysia recalls 600 units of Omoda 5 over potential axle issue – rear beam to be replaced

Chery Malaysia has issued a precautionary safety recall on 600 units of the Omoda 5 over a potential axle issue. This comes following a viral social media post where a customer’s Omoda 5 apparently had its rear axle detach from the vehicle while driving.

The company said it has identified the issue, and that the rear axle beam component on affected vehicles will be completely replaced and not repaired. The work will take about two hours. Affected owners will be directly contacted very soon to bring their cars in.

Chery also added that it had identified one batch of parts to be affected, which may have been caused by a facility upgrade exercise by a particular parts vendor. The company assured its customers that the affected batch of cars are still safe to be driven, and claimed that the viral incident is an isolated case that has since been successfully resolved.

If they so wish, unaffected customers outside the 600 units (over 7,000 units of the Omoda 5 have been sold in Malaysia) can contact the Chery Malaysia careline +603 2771 7070 to have their cars checked, and full reports on the inspection will be provided.

A dedicated website will also be created for customers to check whether their car is included in the recall.

Statement by Chery Malaysia:

Omoda 5 Issue Identified, Precautionary Measures in Place for Potentially Affected Vehicles

Chery Auto Malaysia is committed to providing safe and reliable transportation solutions, and we are dedicated to ensuring that all our vehicles meet the highest safety standards.

The customer-reported issue highlighted on Facebook recently was determined to be an isolated case. We have promptly addressed this concern by replacing the rear axle beam component and conducting comprehensive quality control tests on the affected vehicle. We can confirm that the matter has been successfully resolved.

Chery Auto Malaysia views this matter seriously as customer safety is our utmost priority. In ensuring that we provide full transparency and accountability we have reached out to the parts vendor and have done an in-depth analysis. We are now able to confirm that 600 vehicles are potentially affected due to the facility upgrade exercise.

As a precautionary measure, Chery Auto Malaysia will be reaching out to customers of the affected Vehicle Identification Numbers (VIN) for a detailed inspection to resolve all technical component issues.

We would like to reassure customers that no other vehicles are affected. Chery Auto Malaysia continues to focus on upholding the safety of our customers and ensuring their peace of mind. A website to cater to this precautionary measure will be in place for all OMODA 5 customers to confirm that their vehicles are not affected.

Customer satisfaction is our utmost priority. Chery Auto Malaysia is dedicated to ensuring we produce the best vehicles and deliver the best service to our customers.

For queries kindly contact the Chery Malaysia Customer Careline at +603- 2771 7070.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Dah Menang Semua on Apr 30, 2024 at 8:56 pm

Buy Cherry
    Free Brembo
    Free Safety bar
    Free Life insurance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
    • Chery Malaysia on May 01, 2024 at 5:05 am

Good idea! We should throw in free brembo calipers, ultra racing bars, takaful nyawa & personal accident takaful. The B40s will come back to sapot us again. After all they’re only attracted to the red calipers & race bars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • Jepun quality on May 01, 2024 at 9:48 am

You will never hear this kind of joke on japanese cars. Likewise german italina france..etc have no such joke

• Richard Teo on May 02, 2024 at 2:09 pm

Potong Saga also
          never that Potong

• Pro-Palestine on May 03, 2024 at 9:56 am

Japan car semua Takata airbag pun recall worldwide. Keta Jepun bayar 2 kali ganda tapi specs 2 kali ganda lagi kurang.

• carazy on May 03, 2024 at 8:47 pm

B40 will not buy any cars over 100k. Those M40 acting to be T20 I suppose.

• President Xi on May 01, 2024 at 2:26 pm

Chery will rename all their models to “Death Trap” and “Moving Coffin”

• munkay on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:14 pm

gotta say man, their after sales and traceability is pretty good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 58
    • Taknak china on May 01, 2024 at 5:48 am

Not bad for damage control but reputation is gone

• Capati on May 01, 2024 at 9:03 am

You actually believe what they say?
      How dumb are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 26
      • Hammer and sickle on May 01, 2024 at 10:24 am

In chairman mao we trust. You should too, comrade

• MuthaFucca on May 04, 2024 at 1:34 am

Lao Mao gone to Western Maryland ady. Now only RMB we trust.

• At least Chery is being quite transparent whenever there is an issue. If things like this happen to a Perodua, UMW going to just put out a statement saying everything is fine, nothing to worry about and no need for recall. Remember the “Alza gandar tercabut” issue few years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Tommy on May 01, 2024 at 10:24 am

Bro, you must be joking

• Hong Yee Hong on May 01, 2024 at 1:18 pm

What a joke you are telling. You’re making confuse of how business should work…

• 4GR-FSE on May 02, 2024 at 10:19 am

It is the similar story with Volkswagen Malaysia last time, very good in honoring goodwill warranty. I claimed a few goodwill warranty from them no question ask.
      However, the fundamental and reliability of the car is questionable and I can’t be having anxiety all the time while driving on the road no matter how good the after sales service is right?

• We need lemon law on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:21 pm

As above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Bob Mal on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:26 pm

Well told cya it’s the cronies vendors no doubt but what’s more puzzling is that the problem happens with upgrading exercise so need to beware is it an upgrade or downgrade?

• Ollie on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:32 pm

I’m quite amazed by how many of these cars are on the road. That many people would just drop 100k on an unproven brand with questionable track record. I’ve never bought a new car, only used and every car I’ve bought took months of research, talking to mechanics before buying, checking spare parts shop, sourcing my own parts, identifying a panel of reliable workshops before buying – 1st car Nissan 15k 2nd car Forte 55k current car Merc 150k. That’s all the cars I’ve owned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 33
    • Taknak china on May 01, 2024 at 5:52 am

“That many people” not smart like you lorrr

• Niama on May 01, 2024 at 9:53 am

Not everyone is B40 mate.
      Too much effort for something costing 100k
      You are better off putting those time and effort in your career and business. Put more thoughts in earning money, then you don’t have to put so much when spending them.

• Hong Yee Hong on May 01, 2024 at 1:27 pm

Wonder what is the used value of this #chery #omoda5.

• hazri on May 01, 2024 at 9:17 pm

how to dm you? i wanna ask about your 150k merc. what model. and recommended workshop.

• pengguna ploton kecewa on May 01, 2024 at 10:08 pm

yep.korean parts are easy to source online or in klang valley. ive got 14YO forte and find only minor issues and wear n tear.

• Tok Mudim Kulop Bana on May 02, 2024 at 2:22 pm

You have anxiety disorder and problem with committing yourself to anything.

• Well, some people still buy car insurance, unit trust, travel insurance etc via agent, when those things can simply be done online.

these people simply don’t want to be bothered doing those things.

• Cherry Blossom Sakura on Apr 30, 2024 at 9:57 pm

Happy Labour Day to all.
    Next time don’t ever use cast iron rear axle, must only use titanium rear axle confirmed unbreakable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
  • Sohai on Apr 30, 2024 at 10:10 pm

“The company assured its customers that the affected batch of cars are still safe to be driven”

Hahaha. You ask the directors’ family members to drive it lah. Diu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 6
  • Omother fai on May 01, 2024 at 4:03 am

Can we still drive our cars before the torsion beams are replaced? Are they still roadworthy? I’m so scared my axle tercabut in the middle of the road. I resorted to taking grab. Are you gonna compensate me for my grab rides?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
  • He Long Must on May 01, 2024 at 4:20 am

Please watch “china fact chasers” and “china observer” YouTube channels before plunging your hard earned money into china brands. You’ll thank me later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 24
    • Hammer and sickle on May 01, 2024 at 12:38 pm

Finally these kumunis cars are showing their true colors in mesia. Let’s see what those pejuang PRC gotta say now. President Xi not paying you guys to defend these brands anymore?

• SipekSmartGuy on May 01, 2024 at 1:35 pm

It’s funny to see there’re people dislike your comment.

• Those channels portray themselves as impartial but in reality they are leaning more towards anti-China. Sure, they have shone light on seedy aspects of daily life in China but the way they made it sound like land grabs, unregulated industries, government corruption can happen in China mainly due to communism made me realise those channels are part of a propaganda campaign.

They cant claim to be impartial if they only showing (sometimes wildly sensationalized) negative sides of things without ever showing the positives, can they?

• Kariayam on May 01, 2024 at 6:53 pm

US propaganda channels that posts literally nothing but everything negative China does.
      Videos brought to you by the most arrogant nation on Earth that claims their cars can drive itself when it keeps crashing into stationary objects on a regular basis. Well done you’ve been brainwashed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Richard Teo on May 02, 2024 at 7:57 am

The latest is being Xiaomi SU7 but the Chinese Porsche Taycan don’t make it here

• suomynona on May 02, 2024 at 10:50 am

You want anything negative about the US to balance out the bias, can go watch America Uncovered. Thank me after that

• davenport on May 01, 2024 at 8:03 pm

China Observer is famously anti-CCP because they are funded by the Falun Gong cult.

If you sincerely want to spread unbiased news, good or bad, about China, you should look elsewhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • Pro-Palestine on May 02, 2024 at 9:23 am

Yes you are right @Davenport. Falun Gong supports those propaganda channel and the CIA funds Falun Gong movement. Same with the old Dalai Lama. All seperatist are similarly funded by the CIA. Only weak human will fall trap to CIA propaganda (those race that falls below the top 10 high IQ raceand you can easily google up the list and you will know which race in Malaysia that is in the bottom of the IQ list- those are the weak ones that will believe any CIA funded media)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • DonkeyKong on May 04, 2024 at 12:52 am

Wow CIA sabotaged China EVs by using death rays to make them combust. CIA SOG operatives sabotaged Chery torsion beam assemblies so that Falun Gong has propaganda material to post on YouTube.

• Scrap metal dealer on May 01, 2024 at 5:09 am

I offer the best scrap price per kilo. I cover whole Malaysia so I can cart away those 600 torsion beams. Please dm me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Bengkel jinjang on May 01, 2024 at 1:59 pm

What makes you think Chery won’t reweld and fit them into new cars? Or sold as spare parts?

• DonkeyKong on May 04, 2024 at 12:53 am

Re-weld, repaint, and passed off as new CKD parts for assembly in Brazil

• Omother fai on May 01, 2024 at 5:19 am

I believe the 600 owners can see their lives flashing before their eyes whenever they get into their vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Consumer protection on May 01, 2024 at 5:36 am

Why jaypigjay didn’t issue a ban on all omoda 5s and take them off our roads? Chery sudah kawtim dorang ke? Are those 600 cars roadworthy until Chery replace the torsion beams? What if my axle breaks before Chery replaced it? Worst, if anyone encounters injuries or deaths then how? Is Chery gonna provide towtrucks to bring those cars in for repairs? No mention in the precaution statement

• hayoh on May 03, 2024 at 4:46 pm

Because when Honda’s airbag is literally killing people, nothing was done also. Fair game.

• Chery Malaysia on May 01, 2024 at 5:40 am

The reliability of our cars look exactly like the face of the omoda 5. Go figure

• Latino mamasita on May 01, 2024 at 5:46 am

Didn’t know omoda 5s have this lowrider feature. Can the cars go bouncing up and down?

• Omoda 5 owners club on May 01, 2024 at 6:36 am

Didn’t know our cars came with lowrider function. Press which button to activate?

• Bangala on May 01, 2024 at 7:51 am

Big co sub to tenderer, tenderer sub to cina pek, cina pek sub to metal shop, metal shop sub to foreign workers, foreign workers sub to kawan kawan…customers get this loh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Cipai on May 01, 2024 at 8:40 am

Chery not just kill themselves, but drag all the China brands along with them.

All china car should go through periodic puspakom check like lorri to ensure road worthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Pussykom on May 01, 2024 at 9:40 am

We checked, no problem. Money come

• Ketua pemuda terpaling nabi on May 01, 2024 at 9:51 am

Let’s do a kepci on all china brands

• Capitalism on May 01, 2024 at 10:33 am

Who cares about china brands? They’re substandard bordering lethal. Other kumunis brands should blame Chery for accelerating their downfall in kesia. These brands are dead in their motherland anyway

• Anjing Laut on May 01, 2024 at 2:40 pm

Exactly! This puk gai Chery really toh sui ka. How are the other PRC brands gonna do business in mesia? Chery will Bankrupt Your Dealers!

• Songklan at pinoy coast guard boat on May 01, 2024 at 4:23 pm

Tesla, Smart and Lotus also comes out from China factories. Inferior intelligence and emotional species tendency to become hypocrite

• Newme on May 01, 2024 at 9:13 pm

What drag? It is the posterboy of china brands.

• razak on May 01, 2024 at 9:21 am

1st time see good old Torsion Beam problem

• Chery Not Cute Cute Anymore on May 01, 2024 at 11:33 am

Why would people buy the most FUGLY car on the road today ?

Because its cheap and full of colorful gawdy leds/screens they become blindsided ?

To those owners . Understand this . Its damn fugly

• If I’m anyone of the 600, I’ll return the car and ask for refund. Poor fellas

• Idrive on May 01, 2024 at 11:39 am

Those that bought this model wanted to be different

They got their wish

Owners damn ashamed driving this around now. All eyes on them and mouth mummering with comments

• Peppa on May 01, 2024 at 12:07 pm

The owner of the Bezza in the first picture probably laughing at this car

• China blame game on May 01, 2024 at 12:08 pm

Yeah blame the “local” supplier

How sure are we not China supplier

• Goofy on May 01, 2024 at 12:23 pm

You get what you pay for

• SipekSmartGuy on May 01, 2024 at 1:31 pm

For those youngster who are looking forward to buy a #Chery:
    Buying a car is different from buying a phone. Fancy feature in the car can be interesting, but you’re buying a car. Please consider things like fuel efficiency, handling, and RELIABILITY.

• Likedat on May 01, 2024 at 1:54 pm

CKD, turns out its local Vendor. Not china crap but malaysia crap. Malaysian quality equals no equality. #likedat #understandnot

• Raymond on May 01, 2024 at 1:57 pm

Chery divorce Malaysia twice before the latest marriage! Would you marry the same person trice! NO FOR SURE.
    Forget about Chery, I am sure Perodua is much better for point to point mobility.

• warning july 2024 year on May 01, 2024 at 2:05 pm

saya mahu polis rampas kereta toyota vios you?kmc buy blackview hero 10 and kmcsee buy samsung galaxy s24 and grandson kmr buy nintendo switch lite for saya?kalau tidak beli esok saya panggil polis rampas kereta toyota vios?saya kecewa tidak ada s24 belum bagi saya?polis lesen kuasa?kmc pinjam kereta perodua kancil atau rahsia kereta lain dari rumah ibubapa akibat polis rampas kereta toyota vios?saya piagr boleh bonus duit rm500 ribu ringgit malaysia untuk kmc,kmcsee dan grandson kmr selepas tiga barang bagi saya?mengapa kenapa why duit mahal money expensive kerana abang kmc marah saya kata polis sudah rampas kereta toyota vios dan kmc dapat duit bonus untuk beli kereta baharu elektrik atau kereta mewah jenama lain atau tanpa kereta toyota vios bida sudah jual atau percuma dalam balai jpj dan balai polis?

• Radzi on May 01, 2024 at 2:10 pm

never trust this brand and other China-made car. I’d rather stick to old Japanese car.

• Carfan on May 01, 2024 at 3:45 pm

Local assembly is a potential cause. Not sure how local assembly can be set up so fast. I have yet to read about such problems in other markets. Such problems should lead to global recall.

• Komen alternatif on May 01, 2024 at 4:08 pm

Dont buy chery! Manis di mulut sahaja.

• Clean King on May 03, 2024 at 10:00 am

Warranty 1 juta KM apa risau. Jenama lain ada berani macam Chery?

• Karlwinston Wan Tuck Soon 888 on May 01, 2024 at 4:43 pm

Chery is good brand also selling in USA under Chevy. Best car in the world I am proud owner my car no problem. Some more saving money use for Grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • James KWON on May 01, 2024 at 6:07 pm

Chinese cars shelf life maximum 2 years. reason. they are built as ultra mass production and OEMs want you to replace them after that not to use them for long time. but Chery shows its made for max 1 year or less.

• seitha on May 01, 2024 at 6:51 pm

My 24 year old proton, with all the rattling, still going strong and only the fuel consumption is slightly higher in city driving. Outstations still very good!!

• Frankc on May 01, 2024 at 6:59 pm

This vehicle model should be declared unfit or failed roadworthiness immediately!!! This part failure will cause total loss of control and potential loss of life is real.
    The model re-evaluation of road worthiness should be carried out.
    Liability and responsibility fully borne by vehicle distributor. Act now before any life lost!

• penguin on May 01, 2024 at 8:59 pm

if i own one i wont even dare to drive anymore even if it’s not affected. Cherry fanboys still defending it hard lol because they praise it high thinking they bought a luxury car with low price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Proton alis geely. China. Ada kes macam ini ? Shall I buy proton geely. ???? Buy. Iriz only lor

• David on May 01, 2024 at 11:08 pm

Buy Chery fruit, make sure you buy PA.

• KarimunBesar on May 02, 2024 at 12:43 am

Orgasm can stop now, I told you before too much eating kichap with your food is not healthy. Haha sosej grow small and sperm count pun kurang. Stay healthy ok.

• DonkeyKong on May 04, 2024 at 1:00 am

Too much tofu from tofu dreg and soy from their beta male soy drinks. Lelaki pun tumbuh tetek woi. Umur 30 tapi muka masih nampak macam tengah akil baligh.. pucat dan berjerawat merah. These are among the curses of chingchong diet..

• proton geely cars also china wan..dont buy

• Sick of everyday EV promotion on Paul Tan Website. Should seperate Ev and Combustion Engine. EV sale is quite slow nowadays, with a lot of quality and safety issue EV is still in adaptation stage.

• newme on May 02, 2024 at 12:25 pm

It’s because China is sailang on EV now. To some, China will do no wrong.

• John Lim on May 02, 2024 at 7:58 am

Gotta avoid Omoda 5 when seeing one on the road. I don’t want to be the victim if the Omoda 5 suddenly lost control!!

This is seriously dangerous.

• opmanmy on May 02, 2024 at 8:14 am

Probably better to have the infamous power window (P1) rather than axle beam coming off. Wonder what have happen if these were to happen after warranty period.

• tricycle on May 02, 2024 at 9:05 am

Good job Chery, all cars also got problems. It is how fast and how responsible you are in handling problems.

I need you to succeed in Malaysia not because I like you, but as a consumer we need competition. If not we will get uncompetitive car choices in Malaysia.

Thanks again for entering challenging Malaysia market.

*Now pay me, because going against the current trend of hating Chery brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on May 02, 2024 at 9:42 am

bising la this pompuan. people repair already and still ask for explanation. you already mentioned that you are not car expert and tell you also you won’t understand. people offer you courtesy car but you reject then say stranded on the road.

• Axle Patah become Mocking the Owner on May 02, 2024 at 12:25 pm

Without going viral, Cherry might give an explanation

After going viral, noone can find Lemon Law needs to give explantion to Owner

WITHOUT explanation, k/tards manpus also CHERRY not die
    No more ingredrients

• Doctor at klinik kesihatan on May 02, 2024 at 1:44 pm

i book one, but already call and cancelled. Sorry,i just dun want to put my family members at risk! Besides, i had told my colleague to cancel his booking too. Say no to this brand, pls !

• newme on May 02, 2024 at 3:11 pm

This Stephanie pun satu. Their focus is not on you. Their focus is how to change the narrative from dangerous, bad quality to telling people that they are fast in responding. Their focus is on new potential buyers and not you. They got your money, why bother.

This is why you hear youtuber praising them left right and centre about how pro-active they are, except some that never been invited to China. Those will tell you the real opinion.

• With this kind of quality, you can expect other components with similar quality as well.
    Looking forward for other news, but not with casualties.

• Hahahahaha on May 02, 2024 at 10:46 pm

Hahahahaha

• Panjang on May 03, 2024 at 6:44 am

On one hand they said they have identified 600 units affected by similar issue but at the same time said the axle snapping off incident is an isolated issue.

Layman welder like me can clearly see there is not enough ‘heat’ durig the welding process, from the looks of it, welding is done by robots. This just makes me wonder how frequent and if at all they conduct QC on welding process. Even worst, who gave the buy off after a ‘facility upgrade’ was done. If the vendor is a small player then for sure they bungkus as need to cover the cost.

• Panjang dan Lebar on May 04, 2024 at 7:32 pm

Haha he who laugh last laugh the longest.