MyJPJ app users must have a MyDigital ID to use the app beginning Oct 10, 2024 – here’s how to register

Users of the MyJPJ app will be required to have a MyDigital ID account to log in to the app beginning October 10, 2024. If you open the latest version of MyJPJ, you will receive a notification along with a direct link to download the MyDigital ID app via the Apple App Store, Google Play Store or Huawei AppGallery.

The MyJPJ app is integral as part of the road transport department’s (JPJ) digitalisation initiative and contains important information such as your driving licence, vehicle road tax (can be shared with others) as well as vehicle ownership certificate (or geran). Services such as road tax renewal are also available through the MyJPJ app.

As for MyDigital ID, it was first announced in November last year as a national digital identification system for Malaysians. With it, Malaysians no longer need to log in into different platforms using different passwords, as only one verification system is needed for digital government services. Fun fact: prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim became the first individual in Malaysia to possess this digital identification when he registered with MyDigital ID on December 1, 2023.

In addition to being a simplified verification method, MyDigital ID also serves to enhance the security of online transactions through a cryptography-based system certified by the Malaysian Common Criteria Evaluation and Certification (MyCC), with international recognition at the EAL3+ level.

The MyDigital ID app was developed by MyDigital ID Sdn Bhd, which is a subsidiary of the ministry of science, technology and innovation’s (MOSTI) Mimos Berhad. The company has assured users that the app odes not collect, monitor or store personal data, nor does it monitor users’ online activities. Keep in mind that MyDigital ID does not replace your MyKad for identification purposes.

How to apply for a MyDigital ID account

First up, download and open the app on your mobile phone. You can choose to register via a kiosk (list of locations here), which will require you to scan a QR code on the kiosk screen and using your MyKad and thumbprint for verification as part of the registration process (follow the on-screen instructions).

For more convenience, you can opt for online registration, which begins with entering your email address. A one-time password (OTP) will then be sent to your email that you need to key into the app, after which you have to fill in your name (the one on your MyKad) and IC number.

Next, you’ll need to take a photo of your MyKad (front and back), followed by a photo of yourself (the app will guide you on framing).

After that, simply key in your preferred password and you’re done. The MyDigital ID will be valid for one year, after which you’ll need to renew it when it expires.

When registered, the app will display a blue button labelled ‘Imbas QR (Scan QR), which allows you to use your MyDigital ID by scanning QR codes.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Oct 02, 2024 at 10:30 am

menyusahkan orang je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • munkay on Oct 02, 2024 at 10:47 am

we won’t use the app then lol

• Sang Kaciwa on Oct 02, 2024 at 11:19 am

Another apps to register. And guess what, tried today, it did nothing. Stuck at white screen. And have to repeat step 1 and resubmit. And it happen again on white screen. Wanna call stupid, but yeahh….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • man…

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 02, 2024 at 11:22 am

this looks really poorly made

• Frust user on Oct 02, 2024 at 12:38 pm

When submit step 3, it says unmatched entry and cannot proceed further. So how? Is jpj going to be responsible if I am unable to login to renew my coming road tax?

• Kejap PADU, kejap JPJ app dan sekarang Digital app.
    Tak habis2 nak ambik data orang.

• Batman on Oct 02, 2024 at 2:23 pm

Please NO. Too many apps already….

• Ollie on Oct 02, 2024 at 2:48 pm

What happened to Pizis Padu?? How much data we need to give? Why is the kiosk in Tealive? Why is the app non responsive and stuck after requesting otp? Why does the app look like it was designed by Shenzhen sweatshop minimum wage developer? What is mimos and why are they relevant? Did they outsource development at how much cost to taxpayers? Why is the id linked to my phone that can be stolen or replaced anytime,?

• dicapati on Oct 02, 2024 at 3:11 pm

Aduhai these app and software engineers…… littered with bugs

• Sohai on Oct 02, 2024 at 3:11 pm

Just issue me back my physical License and Roadtax… forget about this app that doesn’t do much.
    Menyusahkah rakyat je. Not to mention wasting public money.

Last time ask us to sign up PADU but till now is no benefit.

Please go and solve traffic safety and congestion issues instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • SomeGuyDude on Oct 02, 2024 at 4:24 pm

So which crony getting side income here? Tealive boss? Yes, Tealive, because after failing you the app will tell you to head to a kiosk, which are mostly in Tealive branches. Rakyat details in the hands of a glorified kopitiam. Only in Malaysia.

• dangdut on Oct 02, 2024 at 4:29 pm

why digital ID need to be renewed every year?

• marcus on Oct 02, 2024 at 5:22 pm

Be aware that if it’s biometric data, if it gets stolen, there’s no way to change your physical attributes used for the biometric verification and that stolen data could be used again and again as your identity for conducting transactions.

I do not trust our government and their cronies of securing my biometric data.

It could also be used against you in future should you say or do things the government do not like.

They can just turn it off and you lose access to portals/apps that mandate it.

This is the same power that CCP has in China to control citizens.

• anwar menang, rakyat dikencingkan on Oct 02, 2024 at 7:07 pm

1. Do not use digital ID. they will track you and all your personal detailis. They can also geo-fence you fromg going out anywhere you want.
    2. Why do I need an app when I go to JPJ once a year.

In US, UK and the west people are boycotting digital IDs because it can curb our freedom…
    Look up Christine Anderson, a EU MP who advices peole against digital IDs

• KC272 on Oct 03, 2024 at 2:04 pm

This is outdated, U-turn d

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2024/10/02/govt-u-turns-on-mydigital-id-login-for-jpj-app/