Proton S70 R3 getting ready for Sepang 1000KM; powered by 1.6L naturally aspirated Campro engine?

Proton is returning to the Sepang 1000KM endurance race for the first time since 2019 with the Proton S70 R3, when the carmaker won with the Iriz for a tally of three consecutive wins at the endurance race, including in 2017 and 2018.

The Malaysian carmaker has released footage of the production-class race car undergoing tests at Proton’s test facility, and it is scheduled for shakedown at the Petronas Sepang International Circuit today. The S70 R3 is the first Proton model jointly developed with Geely that will be campaigned by Proton’s motorsport division, R3 which will be entering two cars into this year’s edition of the Sepang 1000KM (S1K).

Externally the S70 R3 appears much the same as the road car it is based on, albeit with competition car additions such as the large rear spoiler, wheels as seen on the S70 R3 Malaysian Touring Car show unit which are a set of 15-inch Raxer RP10X flow-formed alloy wheels in 195/55R15 tyres. These house a set of high-performance brakes, and alignment appears to have been set for added negative camber.

The interior of the S70 R3 appears to be kitted with the expected fitout of equipment for competition cars, namely a rollcage, racing bucket seats, Motec instrumentation, racing driver’s pedal box, competition fuel tank, and more. In the clip, the S70 R3 being tested on the rolling road can be seen to employ a H-pattern manual gearbox.

Powertrain for the S70 R3 has yet to be revealed, though from the audio of the clip the car sounds more like a four-cylinder engine is under its bonnet, rather than the 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine as specified for the road-going production car.

Being built to MTC specifications for the Sepang 1000KM and the Malaysia Championship Series (MCS), this is likely to be the 1.6 litre S4PH naturally aspirated Campro engine which has been built to produce around 200 hp in the Iriz race car.

GALLERY: Proton S70 R3 Malaysian Touring Car

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• opmanmy on Oct 02, 2024 at 11:46 am

Duh…4cyl instead of the stock 3cyl?! No confident in your own 3cyl stock engine? C’mon la…don’t blind sight ppl P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Jurassic Campro syiok sendiri engine on Oct 02, 2024 at 1:40 pm

The outdated,unreliable Campur engine..is only good for a one day race.
      Other than that,the Geely engines r more reliable and can tahan lasak a bit.
      As usual,the Roslan dude is giving his hypocritical thumbs up for a Jurassic park engine,that no sane motorist desires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • it is the spec requirement for the race bro. can’t use turbo engine. dont know anything just stfu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
      • Dr.Li Shu Fu on Oct 02, 2024 at 7:25 pm

you stfu..whats so cool about an engine for only 1 f..ing race?U bastards like to gloat n celebrate some syiok sendiri event like the roslan dude.Shame on u n the R dude.PMX busy repairing the broken economy,u people like to waste time and resources on an event ,only fools celebrate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Fakehunter on Oct 03, 2024 at 4:06 pm

Here comes the troll who mock other people’s name and have the galls to call himself Patriot

• NRP89 on Oct 03, 2024 at 5:59 pm

why you crying like they using your money to build the engine?
          its regulation dog face!!

• Trolls like that dont even know what stfu means…

• You really like to make a fool out of yourself.

• Viper on Oct 03, 2024 at 10:53 am

Sohai , 1000km endurance race prohibit the use of turbocharged engine . If don’t know , just shut up jangan tunjuk bodoh.

• Why take the trouble to change the engine? The 1.5 T engine not reliable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • If I’m not mistaken, S1K has to be NA and not forced induction. Due to this, they have to use their existing powertrains that they have. Also, using Geely NA engine and to develop into a race engine would incur heavy cost and development. But hey, 200hp NA develop by R3 ain’t that bad, and it’s NA. No idea why P1 didn’t promote parts to the consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • Gesbh on Oct 02, 2024 at 2:41 pm

The regulation lorr

• ehehehe on Oct 02, 2024 at 11:52 am

What’s this, a headline to distract from the MG5?

• stranger on Oct 02, 2024 at 12:11 pm

I wonder if S70 engine can endure the endurance. why proton using Iriz engine instead?

• Bcos of regulations. No turbo engine allowed for the 1000km race.

• Frankc on Oct 02, 2024 at 1:01 pm

Is campro engine production coming to an end? Or will it be further developed for coming models?

• Bob Mal on Oct 02, 2024 at 1:50 pm

Should at least get the CPS version tuned by Lotus

• Squid on Oct 02, 2024 at 2:36 pm

So many commenting on the engine having no clue about MCS engine categories. 1600cc NA makes the most sense for Proton R3 as they already have the powerplant and transmission in hand. If they use the 1.5T engine, they will be competing with engines up to 2000cc as that is the capacity limit of the turbo category. Lots of modification needed and it would no longer be the stock S70 engine, so whats the point.

• carazy on Oct 02, 2024 at 5:45 pm

Why stick to the outdated Campro engine when they could use a more modern engine, like the 1.5T, even if it requires modifications? If they’re promoting a new model, it should come with the latest technology. Using an older engine and calling it a new car feels misleading. There’s no reason Proton couldn’t upgrade their older models with the Campro for R3, but for newer models, customers expect better advancements—not just a rehash of old tech.

• Been Yappin on Oct 05, 2024 at 5:18 pm

What are you even talking about here? It’s the race regulation ohh FFS. Why not tell that to the organizer instead of blaming Proton on a forum?

• carazy on Oct 02, 2024 at 2:59 pm

Why is Proton still using the Campro engine instead of a more efficient 3-cylinder turbo engine? It would be a great upgrade. That’s one of the reasons I decided not to go for the new Geely-Proton models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • MyNameIsJIY on Oct 02, 2024 at 3:33 pm

LOL lots of ignorant here didn’t know l racing regulations

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • James on Oct 02, 2024 at 8:04 pm

2017 was not won in an Iriz.

I won it in a Suprima.

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 02, 2024 at 9:01 pm

cam tak pro

• dumdeedum on Oct 03, 2024 at 9:29 am

If ‘Petronas E01’ still being used today, that’ll be interesting.

• Ong Lai Fresh Fruits at Pasar Bukit Gambir on Oct 03, 2024 at 10:35 am

Wah so many smart people here very experience racing boy I think tell you truth don’t be angry ah Geli engine is pakai buang one. I using my CPS built tahan many years like conti car so many people bad moth because jealous Malaysia can make. I tell you something if geli make CPS surely so many red citizen will say good thing GBU

• Dont blame others for explaining bcos there are too many ignoramus like you around here…

• dun wan eco idle or adas on Oct 03, 2024 at 12:57 pm

If won the race, produce 1 s70 variant with the current persona campro 1.6L na engine. Sell rm60k +.

By the way in year 2024, it’s it so… difficult to produce a proper 4 cylinder 1.5L timing chain engine like the one in vios first gen year 2002? If yes, just buy old model from hyundai or toyota, like buying hyundai/jatco 4at gearbox for saga.

• AhmedJ on Oct 04, 2024 at 9:16 am

LoL… Great opportunity to showcase new engine (even if non turbo)… Went to use old campro… Hahaa

• Camlow 1.6 200 hp on Oct 08, 2024 at 3:28 am

i think proton have the capability to make a volvo, geely version of racing engine for the S70 to promote their new engine or car , such a waste that and weird , why they still wanted to used campro engine into s70 , she was a old engine only good for the suprima s , saga iriz ,or satria for that old design proton car , i do know this race is not allow turbo , but i think proton geely volvo should put some effort to create or modified their new engine no matter the cost , to show their capability and confident on the new engine , even its not a turbo , but rather they research a new race engine , they go though a short cut by retuned AGAIN the Oldies CAMLOW engine lol soo lazy oneee.(lol but true feeling)