BYD Seagull/Dolphin Mini reportedly planned for RHD Australia – will the sub-Dolphin EV come to Malaysia?

According to a report by Drive, BYD could add a sub-Dolphin model to its Australian line-up as it looks to offer an even cheaper electric vehicle (EV). The Seagull is expected to be the model on its way down under to take on the MG4 and GWM Ora (we know it as the Good Cat here).

The Seagull was unveiled in China last April and slots in below the Dolphin in BYD’s EV range. In February this year, it was confirmed that the Seagull would be sold in international markets, albeit renamed to the Dolphin Mini. Uruguay will be among the first countries to get the compact EV, with Brazil set to follow soon after.

These countries are left-hand drive markets and if the Seagull/Dolphin Mini does go on sale in Australia, which is a right-hand drive market, it opens up the possibility that we will get the model ASEAN markets too.

The suggested introduction of the Seagull/Dolphin Mini in Australia is due to BYD’s need to compete on price with other brands. The Dolphin was previously the most affordable EV in the country but has since lost that title with models from competitors undercutting it.

Slashing prices isn’t what BYD wants to do, according to David Smitherman, CEO of BYD’s Australian importer EVDirect, who told Drive, “we always want to be competitive with our competitors, but we’re also cognisant of residual values as well.”

“We’re just wanting to make sure we protect the brand. We’re here for the long term, and I want to make sure that we always put the brand first. I think fluctuating any price damages a brand and, for us, we just want to make sure we are very sensible in our approach to business,” he added.

Smitherman did reveal previously that the brand plans to expand its product line-up, with a sub-Dolphin model on the cards. “Yes, there are plans for smaller vehicles [below the Dolphin], smaller SUVs as well,” he said. The smaller SUV is rumoured to be the Yuan Up that is positioned below the Atto 3.

The goal is to have a vehicle for every segment, with the Shark 6 (a pick-up truck) set to be launched soon and joined in the future by the Sealion 7 as well as offerings from BYD-owned brands like Denza and Yangwang.

GALLERY: BYD Dolphin Mini

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• See how many ANCAP stars it get first.

• Dah Menang Semua on Oct 29, 2024 at 9:11 pm

Easily better-looking than Dolphin
      But review from China said
      Seagull more cheap inside

• kancil replacement?

• ThePolygon on Oct 29, 2024 at 3:17 pm

Skip Sime Darby and just work with Perodua for this particular model. Sime Darby don’t so greedy lah. Give this to Perodua to sell.

• Kariayam on Oct 30, 2024 at 10:36 am

If this car is brought in by perodua the base model wouldn’t have doors and windows. Better just leave it to sime darby

• FrankC on Oct 29, 2024 at 4:59 pm

i am more interested if byd will build an assembly plant in malaysia for shipment to aussie or even better have malaysian part supplier participation… he he

• ROTI CANAI on Oct 30, 2024 at 8:40 am

cheap ev exists, dont burden the rakyat anymore

• evlincar on Oct 30, 2024 at 12:23 pm

REMOVE the “BIAS/ABUSE/MAD” ..EV law which ROBS the Rakyat to CHEAPER EV under Rm100K!!! BYD Dolphin in China sold at Yuan 70K or ( Rm 43,000 ) Allow shipping, etc … Say Rm 60,000 (Max). Government MUST amend this as soon as possible.

• Richman Goh Hong Tak on Nov 01, 2024 at 3:11 pm

Cheap EV for cheap skate la

• TempeKeras on Nov 01, 2024 at 3:12 pm

Topu kecik