The government has said it is looking at the use of MyKad (identity card, or IC) as well as e-wallets as a means to carry out targeted subsidies when the rationalisation programme for RON 95 petrol takes place in the middle of next year.
To find out the suitability of employing these as methods for disbursement, the government said it conducted a 20-month pilot project two years ago to trial the use of MyKad and e-wallets, the Malay Mail reports. According to economy minister Rafizi Ramli, this was done to see their feasability.
“A pilot project was conducted between 2022 and 2023, utilising identification cards and e-wallets at selected gas stations. So it has already been tested. In terms of eligibility verification at the back end, the central database hub (PADU) has been operational and applied in several use cases,” he said in the Dewan Rakyat.
Rafizi revealed this in his response to a supplementary question from Kuala Krau MP Kamal Ashaari, who asked whether the government had tested the implementation and was not utilising an “announce first, research later” approach. “The ‘announce first, research later’ came only from the opposition,” Rafizi said.
The possibility of utilising a two-tier price mechanism was also brought up again, when Rafizi replied to a question from Pulai MP Suhaizan Kayat, who requested details about the mechanism for using identification cards to verify eligibility for the RON 95 subsidy.
“Generally, the first part, determining eligibility, is developed by the economy ministry, while the second part, implementing the two-tier pricing mechanism for RON 95 purchases at petrol stations, is handled by the finance ministry,” Rafizi explained.
He added that the economy and finance ministries are currently reviewing and refining the detailed mechanism for implementing the subsidy. “The final criteria and mechanism will be presented to the Cabinet, in line with the implementation timeline, targeted for mid-2025,” he added.
He said the government acknowledges the challenges in implementing the project. “These include infrastructure issues, particularly, slow internet access in rural areas and damaged ID card chips, risks of identity verification and potential misuse of ID cards,” he explained.
Rafizi said that there is no perfect method for implementing the fuel subsidy system but the government will choose the best one that will not cause a drastic increase in the prices of goods. “Most importantly, the government will emphasise efforts to control the prices of goods and inflation,” he said.
Sabah Serawak disel ramai guna –> TAK NAIK
Semenanjung petrol ramai guna –>TAK NAIK
so to all who condemn rafizi for announce first research later, this is the answer. if i were the opposition, i feel so embarrass kena tembak macam ni, mana nak sorok muka weh. so the research has been done, and rafizi told us there are 2 methods, which is i think the second one is the best (not using mykad), to avoid inflation and price hike.
Brok..he didn’t tell which petrol stations, how much sample of population involved and what’s the findings. Sound fishy for someone so good at inventing methametical formulas for economy.
Anyone here can verify what lapizi said? I’ve pumped petrol in several states in several stations yet I was never asked for my IC
Kesian! Why never asked for your MyKad?
Konfem YOU were not selected for 2022 trial program
Subsidy on something that can’t be digitally is always an issue. Please implement the e invoicing as soon as possible. On the other hand, by picking up the economy , Malaysian people enjoy imported goods. Reducing tax imposed and increase tariff. If the revenue generated from tax couldn’t feed the government, reduce the size of the government. If keeps going about how to avoid fraud on subsidy, printing more ringgit to sustain the large size government. Its only harder for the country to pick up once again.
One day,Rafizi comes out with surprise A.Next month,surprise B…better dont believe anything until July next year.
We already got badly hit by the covid surprise.
Folks,lets work hard ,put food on our table.
At GE 16,lets give the underperforming dudes a big surprise.
Wee Ka Siong has a huge discrepansy dispute with Rafizi on the actual sum reported by Rafizi for Padu expenditure.Rafizi was left speechless,by the accurate facts given by WeeWee.Whoever is the trojan horse,not important.Whats important is the prevailing truth.
Cool…how much does it cost for that trial?
lain janji, lain dapat
I beg to differ that there is a perfect method and that is why don’t you start earning money for the rakyat instead of making money from the rakyat like any good government would. No brains or capability? Step down then and let someone more capable to replace your government
I don’t think he knows anything about 80/20 for implementing this for the purpose of squeezing small group T15…shame
Turun lah si gemuk yg bodoh!