The Malaysian Transport Ministry is open to a reassessment of motorcycle e-hailing services. Speaking during the winding up the 2025 Budget debate for the ministry in the Dewan Rakyat, Transport Minister Anthony Loke said he is willing to listen to requests from operators.
Loke indicated the possibility of conducting a proof of concept (POC) including operators wanting to implement a test field (sandbox) for the service. “If there are any operators who wish to create a ‘sandbox’ or similar pilot projects, we are open to conducting a POC if Putrajaya can identify a suitable area,” said Loke in a The New Straits Times report.
The minister added, “however, I wish to share my thoughts first. The culture in Malaysia is not particularly inclined toward using e-hailing motorcycles.” Loke also said he could be wrong in his assessment and if the POC is successful he would be open to the idea and would help alleviate the burden of first-mile and last-mile transport.
Loke also said a discussion for approval for the POC would be held with the Road Transport Department and the Land Public Transport Agency if any applications are submitted. This was in reply to a question about e-hailing motorcycles from Petaling Jaya MP Lee Chean Chung, suggesting his constituency in Petaling Jaya could serve as a test location.
Motorcycle e-hailing was previously trialed in Malaysia in 2019, with the Transport Ministry – under the Pakatan Harapan government at the time – preparing a regulatory framework to govern service providers, including delivery riders. In January 2020 Grab launched a six-month pilot of their on-demand motorcycle service, GrabBike, in the Klang Valley.
The pilot programme was available for travel within a 10km radius from passengers’ current location. However, permission for motorcycle e-hailing was withdrawn in 2021 with the then Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Henry Sum Agong under the Perikatan Nasional government citing the death rate for motorcyclists and pillions in Malaysia.
In Vietnam, motorcycle e-hailing service Gojek left the market after six years in 2024 while it ceased operations in Thailand in 2021. Parent company GoTo found that the Vietnam market contributed less than 1% of its turnover in the second quarter of 2024.
Don’t we have enough nuisance on the road?
I agree with you but if you think is too dangerous you can excuse yourself from using it. I welcome this as this will definately reduce traffic jam thus reduce pressure in traffic.
Please stay at home.
Please don’t reproduce.
Well, I’ll wait for a court case on a mishap involving these services to set a precedence.
So no mishap when walking, cycling, driving?
Past TMs LTL & WKS did not allow mbike ehailing for good reasons when you see how our mbike riders behave. This Loke fella doesn’t care at all for public safety, he just keeps coming with stupid ideas to rake in more money for his pockets. Meanwhile we have near weekly incidents of heavy vehicle accidents, electrocution deaths & whatnot but does he care. Naw!
Not happy go repot MACC la
MACC will give this fella 50 DNAA so what’s the point? You forget who MACC reports to hah?
Look at how bikes behave on the road &federal highway. Even there is a bikes lane tht no jam in fd hwy, they still prefer to squeeze tru between cars in the main road and honk/curse u if u switch lane, like they r legally & entitled. Many bikers prefer to ride against the flow for short cut even on main busy road. U cant sound them, but if u accidentally drive against the flow especially in shoplots area tht road marking and sign truly faded & disappeared , they act like enforcer pulak. Plzlah loke, solve current problems first b4 doing other thinglah. Many of ur implementation brings more headache, like fully tinted, digital roadtax, vep, ehailing regulation.
agree. motorbikes in KL are the most entitled road users, ever.
Not all motorcyclists mostly that certain type M for Masalah
Then Type C for Corrupt?
You have not seen penang bikers yet
Their another higher level of assholism
looking at those grab rider banging red light like nobody business… type M M’bike ehailing? LMAO… try it if you want to die.. or is there a option to choose superman type type M mat rempit?
open this open that, kept sucking the soul out of everyone but zero enforcements. another blood sucking minister
Not again
Hell no… Those food delivery mbikes are already bardee dangerous like want to suicide trip.
You want let them have passengers?
More shitty traffic hazards for everyone.
Why not? Despite the petty nay sayers. Nothing that better enforcement can do to help. I don’t mind the idea, even if I have to bring my own helmet. Technically, this is the future. The alternative of improving public transport orvbuilding more roads to ease congestion are costly solutions. So immediate, alternate solutions are not worthwhile in the present moment
Gila this Loke. No eye see.
Seems like this minister has lost some brain cells…what a GREAT idea! Good way to “improve” the accident statistics!
I won’t even let them carry my pets let alone another human!!