Jaecoo J7 fire in Sarawak caused by improper aftermarket dashcam installation – dealer statement

Following a publicised case of a Jaecoo J7 having caught fire, an internal dealer circular issued by Jaecoo Malaysia has been sighted, and which states that the incident was caused by improper installation of a dashcam.

The following is the internal statement by Jaecoo Malaysia:

Statement

Isolated J7 SUV Thermal Event in Malaysia

Safety is of the utmost importance to JAECOO Malaysia. We are aware of an isolated thermal incident involving a parked J7 SUV in Sarawak. The JAECOO team is in contact with the owner and after a thorough investigation can confirm that the incident was caused by improper installation of a dashcam at a third-party workshop outside of the JAECOO network. We can also confirm that the incident did not cause any injuries, loss of life or damage to other property.

JAECOO thanks the Sarawak Fire and Rescue Department (Bomba) personnel for their speedy first response, and we strongly advise customers that in the interest of safety, to avoid performing modifications at non-authorised service centres that can void the warranty of your JAECOO vehicle. Kindly ensure all maintenance and repair work is performed by authorised JAECOO service centres only.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
The Management
JAECOO Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments largely discuss improper dashcam installation as a possible cause of the Jaeecoo J7 fire, emphasizing that unauthorized wiring, such as bypassing fuses or connecting directly to the fuse box, can cause short circuits and fires. Several point out that proper installation by skilled technicians minimizes risks, and connecting via the USB port is generally safe. Others mention that hardwired dashcams or aftermarket modifications, like changing head units, can contribute to electrical issues if not done correctly. There is skepticism towards the dealer’s statement, with many believing the fire resulted from improper wiring rather than vehicle defect and criticizing the blame-shifting. Some comments also touch on similar incidents in other car models, emphasizing that improper electrical modifications can cause fires across brands.

• FireAce on Feb 10, 2025 at 10:49 am

Normally, when wrongly wired a low powered device such as dashcam, it mostly pop a fuse. This is more like the investigation found a “non-dealers authorized” installation and straight become the scapegoat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • pakcik on Feb 10, 2025 at 12:29 pm

Yeah someone must take the blame. But cant deny also lah since my waifu proton aftermaket dashcam always drain car battery

• Lol Whut? on Feb 11, 2025 at 10:39 am

Yeah sure its owner fault, just like axle tercabut is caused by user error as well. LOL!

• EV Car Mafia on Feb 10, 2025 at 12:32 pm

You are spot on. The whole idea of a fuse is to pop and prevent unwanted issues such as burning the entire wiring/circuit board. It’s a dumb excuse/reasoning. if that’s the case every attached equipment including the phone, its charging cable and other peripherals should all be dealer-authorised. Lame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • Mike Tee on Feb 10, 2025 at 4:39 pm

I could be wrong but I have seen dashcam installations plugging into both ends of the fuse (bypassing the fuse) for continuous power (park your car and it still records). Think it’s called a fuse tap.

When dashcam or the power supply goes kaput, no fuse to pop. Bad idea

• opmanmy on Feb 10, 2025 at 1:01 pm

Someone take the blame. Alway find something to fault. Probably the next thing they say tinting will also cause it. Or even tyre change too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Fisch on Feb 10, 2025 at 7:58 pm

Yeah you already jumped into conclusion without digesting more time to understand, sighhh

• Abang2 Bomba on Feb 10, 2025 at 1:40 pm

Car Dashcam internal battery overheated bulging burst into flames it’s called thermal runaway. No harness fuse safety can prevent this incident KEK

• Fisch on Feb 10, 2025 at 8:00 pm

Drove old Nissan X-Trail with dashcam but just installed months ago and suddenly catches fire but only burned windshield and inside mirror part

• Guys, I just installed the dashcam and Android player on my Myvi also… Got problems too and battery fault code pop up.

• ang moh on Feb 12, 2025 at 9:00 am

I agree with you. Also, most dashcams merely connects to the USB port anyways.

But thinking again, this may well be an isolated case where the owner tries to wire it directly onto the fusebox (thus bypassing fuses) as is common if you install a parking monitoring system (when the engine is off). Rare, but possible

• improper installation can be bypassing the fuse, in order to avoid using usb or cigarette plug hole for charging/powering the dashcam.. but again, many brands car owners do this, and unless its not reported, we hardly hear about the car burn issue.

• All brands have issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • Parki on Feb 10, 2025 at 5:06 pm

Yup, only haters will make excuses by making their own stories due to scared that haters from rival company will lose sales to this car brand…sad

• Then the owner should get proper dashcam then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Good info

• Delux on Feb 10, 2025 at 11:57 am

Well anyways, at least quick response after found out issues not like toyota, always apologizing after scandal but more problems and recall is growing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 51
    • vios dnga owner on Feb 10, 2025 at 4:28 pm

Spot on! I bought Vios 2024 Nov, but few weeks later, already got problem for unknown parts and have to go to aftersales endlessly when cant solved

• Parki on Feb 10, 2025 at 5:07 pm

Yup, only haters aka toyota fanboys will make excuses by making their own stories due to scared that toyota will lose sales to this car brand when spec is low while quality look cheap…sad

• Somucfun on Feb 16, 2025 at 5:44 pm

The way you comment seems like you work for Jaecoo. Stop calling those who disagree as haters or Jap brands lover.

• Absolutely true!!!!

• S1r1us on Feb 10, 2025 at 7:50 pm

Even corolla cross also catches fire too, according from one of the social media post not only more toyota models also caught fire too from video virals

• is this going to be the beginning of downfall for this hot selling model? seen similar case in omoda5, to which the negative news burnt down the electric version sales figure as it happens just around the ev launch. and the timing of this fire is also similar, right before the launching of the phev version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 38
  • pertw on Feb 10, 2025 at 12:21 pm

Another hot seller.

• Peppa on Feb 10, 2025 at 12:39 pm

When the owners says they bought a cheap Range Rovers, they really meant it lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • What to expect when real Range Rovers are prone to fire…

• Only the fake rich buy china, copies and rip offs. Same crowd as geng hongda

• Vtec kick in yo on Feb 10, 2025 at 1:35 pm

So they accuse car owner install a bomb instead? Kekeke whats the odd to install a chaplang dash cam . J7 no front dash cam? China car cam very clear wor need aftermarket meh? Dash cam cause fire such a rare incident

• Mike Tee on Feb 10, 2025 at 4:40 pm

I am guessing the owner used a fuse tap to draw power for the dashcam, very common. AKA no more fuse.

• Ongck on Feb 10, 2025 at 2:11 pm

Dashcam can be installed easily. Just plug in the usb cable, stick the cam on the windscreen that’s all. How can it cause fire?

• Squid on Feb 10, 2025 at 4:26 pm

‘Improper dashcam installation’ without detailed explanation is just simply finding fault la

• Parki on Feb 10, 2025 at 5:07 pm

Meanwhile haters will make excuses by making their own stories by not accepting this official statement

• Peppa on Feb 10, 2025 at 5:10 pm

My dad pasang a very cheap dashcam front and rear in his car all by himself. Its been 4 years and no such burn issue occur yet. I have never heard a car catch fire due to poorly wiring dashcam. Jaecoo/chery is probably wrongly blame it on someone else and become their scapegoat

• Najib on Feb 10, 2025 at 6:31 pm

This article..is sponsored by 80mai

• Bertime on Feb 10, 2025 at 6:49 pm

All cars have issues, common la

• Keep it up on Feb 10, 2025 at 6:50 pm

Well quick response

• Jaecoo is a subsidiary of Chery. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree eh?

• J.Co brand of Jaecoo

• Possible….When they didn’t do proper connection, that means will get panas

• S1r1us on Feb 10, 2025 at 7:51 pm

Meanwhile corolla cross also catches fire too, according from one of the social media post not only more toyota models also caught fire too from video virals

• Fisch on Feb 10, 2025 at 8:01 pm

Even my old Nissan X-Trail with dashcam but just installed months ago and suddenly catches fire but only burned windshield and inside mirror part

• Well said. Quality can’t be trusted for any aftermarket parts, even aftermarket av receiver that installed on my car also have issues – Civic 2007 owner here

• He Long Must on Feb 10, 2025 at 9:23 pm

Jakun gay67 no sentry mode unlike Teslas

• Management JAKUN Maleise on Feb 10, 2025 at 9:32 pm

Actual statement reads like this

No owner will mess with his/her brand new car’s wiring. Not even an owner with the slightest common sense unless they are from the confused group who needs the pulis to help them think straight by making pulis repots. You mess with the car you forfeit your warranty so don’t cry over spilled milk. Harap maklum. Sekian.

• Normal la. I just installed the dashcam and Android player on my Myvi also… Got problems too and battery fault code pop up.

• doesn’t the J7 has a builtin dashcam like the byd??

• Autodriver on Feb 11, 2025 at 11:36 am

Those who think the Jaecoo pushing away responsibility then you need to change your mindset. It is completely safe if we put a normal dashcam connected to “USB port”, but not connecting to fuse box. It is still consider safe to connect to fuse box is performing by experience technician or authorized workshop. The problem is some unskilled technicians from 3rd party maybe cause short circuit if not install properly tapping to fuse box.

Another part is change of head unit. Some people change the original head unit to aftermarket with additional features that consume higher power that the connector can’t take the power voltage. There are some cases the head unit get problem or smoke due to overheating while the car is running. But it is still safe compare to dashcam that tapping to fuse box because it is considered working non stop even if the car is off.

If the owner of this Jaecoo J7 do not satisfied with Jaecoo statement released he or she can challenge and sue the Jaecoo Malaysia. But I highly believe Jaecoo hold the evidence to prove the car wasn’t burn itself.

• TempeKeras on Feb 11, 2025 at 5:03 pm

Topu Bakar sedap jugak dgn sos cabai

• install dashcam cucuk usb port cukuplah, why go touch the fuse to make it record while the car is not running. nobody is going to touch your cheap car okay, really think you are driving range rover?

• normal la in China this kind of practice, many people in malaysia dont exactly understand especially the malays the chinese car quality. every china citizens complaint of quietly or sued by the dealers