The Damansara-Shah Alam Elevated Expressway (DASH) has seen another life claimed by a motorcycle incident, reported Malaysia Gazette. A woman was reported to be on a motorcycle with her husband, and has died in the incident after falling off the elevated highway, according to the post on X. The first fatal motorcycle crash on the DASH occurred in October 2022.
In 2023, a motorcycle crash fatality occurred at KM22.2 of the Sungai Besi-Ulu Kelang Expressway (SUKE) when a motorcyclist tried to avoid another motorcyclist that was travelling against the flow of traffic, and crashed into the barrier, falling over the highway barrier as a result.
In 2015, the Malaysian government was considering the reinstating of a motorcycle ban on the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (Akleh) and the Maju Expressway (MEX), from requests by the operators of both highways to re-enforce the ruling on restricting motorcycle usage.
On the subject of banning motorcycles from highway spaces, in 2016 then-deputy transport minister Datuk Aziz Kaprawi announced the transport ministry’s intention at the time to ban motorcycles from the fast, or overtaking lane. In response, we considered the implications of a blanket ban.
As for elevated highways such as the DASH where the incident occurred, do you, readers, think motorcycles should be banned from elevated highways?
Suami Meraung Lihat Isteri Maut Tercampak Di Lebuh Raya DASH
Seorang wanita maut apabila tercampak di bawah lebuh raya DASH dari arah Penchala selepas motosikal yang ditunggangi bersama suaminya terbabit kemalangan.#malaysiagazette #kemalangan
Video : Jamieshah Jamil pic.twitter.com/qKre20nJIG
— Malaysia Gazette (@MalaysiaGazette) February 25, 2025
another solid reason to banned motorcycle from all the highway, including federal
You ban riders,they go to congested normal roads.
Let them use highways,but limited to left lane.
Only thing is enforcement on rogue riders needful.
DASH or SUKE..can u see any enforcement? Virtually zero.
The peronda suvs only come when got accidents.
Semi Value said..”mereka semua dah gila” talking about the bastards carrying pink,orange,green delivery bags who have zero respect for traffic laws.
how come you can say this is solid reason to banned motorcycle from all the highway but not reckless driver like the one from genting and both victim is honda. sei sohai la if mentality like that .
By following this rationale, cars should be banned from all roads… /s
Yes. Should be banned. They are not paying toll after all.
Motorcycles are a menace, not only at elevated highways. Even regular highways. It’s just impossible to impose a law over this.
Education matters, manners matters.
As for elevated highways such as the DASH where the incident occurred, do you, readers, think motorcycles should be banned from elevated highways?
Yes..I totally agree with this matter as motorcyclists are much prone on accidents especially on elevated highways. Have to consider also with high winds at that area can also contribute to the factor
Enforcement will be uphill task once banning motorcycle on elevated highway. AFAIK Your country lawmakers emphasized empathy over paramount safety
Is not about baning the motorcycle, it is about the rider..
Ban those rider who rides reckless and dangerously,
There are numerous times I almost accident with food delivery rider due to they speeding, dodging around in busy traffic, running red lights, not stopping at junction, changing lane without signals. Riding in opposite directions Etc etc and many more
I noticed most of the dangerous riders are from food deliveries riders… Normally when I use Grab to order food I will put a note “ride safely, don’t rush….”
Agreed
To paraphrase the legendary Ling Liong Sik regarding the high rate of motorcyclist accidents and deaths, “Mereka mahu mati, apa boleh kita buat?”
If they ride with a death wish with no regard for the safety of other road users, no amount of banning, restrictions, etc will ever reduce the fatality rate. They will just find other ways to kill themselves and harm other road users.
Agreed
just outright BAN it. easy.
lately motocyclists have been using paid car lanes causing trouble for other users. something must be done to eradicate these viruses.
May her soul rest in peace. No blanket ban. Seriously enforce normal road traffic rules to minimise accidents . stop all these weaving in and out between lanes at breakneck speed
Need more road bumps +
Speed traps on downhill
Don’t talk only ok.
Just ban motorcycles from using all the highways.
Not that they pay any toll.
please include car who follow closely when you pay the toll too, bebalisme.
The highway operator should install high railings to avoid these type of casualties happen
agreed.
Agreed
and who absorb the costs? motorbikes dont even pay tolls.
it’s unpopular… but, yes… unless elevated highways have dedicated lanes for them. If they are allowed on, they should pay for the privelage too, why should it be free for them.
Remember when LDP was completed, all bikes were instructed to not use the flyovers/bridges/viaducts but not much has changed until today. Same thing with AKLEH, both more than 20 years ago.
No action, talk only.
Ban lorries ban motorcycles then build highway for what?
For class 1 vehicles lah of course.
Like that also need to draw picture.
Even a small flyover also got no bikes/bicycles sign but everyone ignored
Ini hangat tahi ayam only. After awhile, it’s back to seperti biasa. M-cycle zip there and there and hog middle lanes.
It’s time to revise the law to manage the riders. Current law over protected them. Especially at highway they ride high-speed in between cars regardless left, middle or right lane. No stop at junctions, offence red light, fancy super tiny plate, ride opposite directions, ride opposite at double lines to overtaking cars and many more. Traffic surveillance camera can easily capture over 100 incidents everday. Also, insurance company shouldn’t cover this type of reckless rider if have solid evidence that causes the accident. I have seen the rider bang into peoples crossing the road even it’s red light for vehicles and green light for peoples crossing. Penalties and punishment won’t help because they have caused people into death and fatal injuries. Anthony Loke, did you hear citizens’ voices?
Motorcycles by logic should be ban from all highways. Only Malaysia logic will allow then to fly high on it.
In other country all expressway, highway etc motorcycle below 125-150cc is not allow because is dangerous not just the speed but also during overtaking. Only our country allowed because of personal gain
the motorcyclist that rode against the traffic should be hanged for murder.
I drove by that night and saw the husband being comforted by other motorcyclists. Condolences to the husband and the family. DASH highway is really high. Even crawling bumper to bumper you can see LDP way far below you. Its scary. DASH should put safety nets on some of these areas.
I was surprised motorbikes are actually banned on interstates highway… A country like Indonesia where there are more motorbikes than cars and yet they took the hard stance! Here even on Federal highway n Kesas where there are dedicated bike lanes n a ruling that bikes aren’t allowed on the main highway(bikers don’t realize their insurance doesn’t cover them in event if accidents!), the tidak apa attitude aided with almost zero enforcement, motorcyclists rules… No use talking if No enforcement!