The Penang state government has purchased 15 new ninth-gen XV80 Toyota Camry 2.5V sedans for use by the administration. Penang chief minister Chow Kon Yeow said the new fleet was acquired at a total cost of RM3.31 million, with the vehicles being delivered in March, the New Straits Times reports.
“Of the total, 10 are allocated to state executive councillors, three to ex-officio members (the state secretary, the deputy chief minister and the state legal adviser), and one each for the state legislative assembly speaker and deputy speaker,” he said. Chow added the new cars were replacements for the previous Camry fleet, which was now over five years old.
“The total cost of the cars includes taxes and excise duties. On average, each car cost RM220,783,” he told reporters on the sidelines of the state legislative assembly sitting yesterday. The pricing is very close to the 2.5V’s retail price, which is RM221,800 on-the-road without insurance.
The subject of the new purchases cropped up following a query made by Mohd Yusni Mat Piah (PAS – Penaga) during the opening of the sitting last Friday, in which he questioned the state government over the new vehicle purchases, especially in light of reports on the state’s financial difficulties.
“We see state executive councillors using new Toyota Camrys, yet this has not been reported publicly. The state even received a RM100 million advance from the federal government to manage cash flow, and yet new vehicles have been procured. Can the state government provide clarification?” he had asked.
In August 2019, it was reported that the state government had purchased 15 units of the eighth-generation Camry 2.5V for official use, with the fully-imported model taking over from the earlier seventh-gen XV50, which in 2013 replaced the previous fleet of Mercedes-Benz and Proton Perdana cars.
Still burning fuel, at least a hybrid pleze
Haha promote EV sendiri tak berani pakai takut bakar mati takut kete mati tgh jln.
Got buy for Mr Lim? He rich no need or what?
Rakyat use own salary to purchase car and pay taxed. This government state official has salary in excess rm40K/month and still use taxpayer money to buy car for the ride. Even old 5 years car still in good condition why purchase new? How rakyat is milked……
Its okay this is just a repeat of LGE era corrupt cronyism buying Mercedes S class for himself and Camries. Now just replace that with Chow corrupt cronyism. But will islanders care? Naw they will still blindly vote DAP.
While one of the state government cannot even pay their own civil servants as revealed back in 2018 and needs sponsor from federal tax payers money but still buys Mercedes Benz now that is even maximum power.
That was LGE Penang state during his ineffective CMship. It was the reason they kicked him all the way back to Melaka or else DAP will sure lose the state. Still didnt absolve their corrupt cronyism of buying themselves Mercedes and Camrys, which today we continue to see their hubris in Chow. When will islanders wake up?!
the car may be 5 years old but the mileage may have reached beyond 250k km… government vehicle normally have very high useage hence must judge based on mileage not just year of service
Toyota cars can be use up to 500K, so that just an excuses
If it were true these cars are no longer economical to maintain & need to replace, then why Chow Chow came out to say their still keeping these old cars WHILE insisting to buy new ones? They aren’t getting rid of the old cars instead the new will add onto the old fleet. Where are they gonna end up, I betcha in their house porches as their wives & misstresses cars.
Dafuq, normal citizens have to drive their car to 10+ years and these numb nuts think it’s ok to change car using our money every 5 years
I change cat every 3 years. Ofcourse not Japanese so cheap I just drive German. But yala..use our money not ngam la. Kekeke
what’s the point of having national car(s) but time and time again the government official fleet are foreign brands…and this is not only criticism for the penang govt it’s pretty much every single state…
and to the “takkan la govt officials pakai proton je” people…so what ? it’s a car given to them during their service. want a fancier car ? buy it with their own money lah…
Proton still has no new segmen D car.
then make do with whatever they have idc. point is: official car paid by taxpayer money so just take whatever is given and if they want something else, they are more than welcome to purchase it with themselves considering their exorbitantly high salaries
also: if it’s size that’s of concern the X70 or X90 is more than big enough no ? and with the push of EV why not get the proton emas 7 ? cost concerns ? you cannot tell me that to maintain a proton will be RM100k over 5 years (assuming the a RM120k purchase price of an X70 vs RM220k price of this Camry)
To replace 12 year old fleet… Ok la boleh la
should support local product – E.Mas much cost saving
U tin kosong la… emas manalah local product
Penang govt. want to show off their wealth buying unnecessary luxury vehicles whilst ordinary Penang motoring folks suffering paying monthly vehicle installments.
So enjoy life , Ph guy have to pay high land tax , packing fee , water bil …etc , because of them enjoy 5yrs car can’t use , on the road 90% over 5 yrs car , so rich for Pg gov , next election need to change no more DAP.
Better than those Germans with super high maintenance cost.
Sorry la little boy, BMW 5 year warranty 6 yr free service maintenance apa? U drive a german before ka? I got 7 German car all after 2020 because Im rich. I only service once a year and they drive to my house or office in a special van doing service tak payah go to center. And every service is free aside from brake pad. U still pay for service at Myvi proton center?
Biasalah…within normal purchase price..move on
Every few years the quit rent, assessment rates, parking rates etc. are increased, with the excuse it is “long overdue”, and proceeds to purchase new fleet of cars. How is this serving the residents?
Y cmary,musts buy 7 series or Mercs S class as we r developed country and money no issue maa ,Camry not reliable at all that’s y every 5yrs change ,
government servants driving better and newer cars than majority of tax pay masters .
PAS barking as usual. Tell them to ask their cronies about their Mercs. What a bunch of hypocrites.
Pot calling kettle black doesn’t change the fact every politician is selfish
Do we really need to buy new cars every 5 years?
only 6 years car… why need to change if it is broken? after all toyota provides 5 years warranty and Penang government can get whatever that is broken replaced or repaired. Malaysians are driving cars and riding bikes over 10 years old and trying to manage the rise in inflation. Meanwhile ministers get to enjoy new car at the expense of taxpayers’ money.
Over 10 years? Sorry we are not the same rank. Im S rank u are E rank. I m Msian so pls dont talk like u represent Msian. U shldd only mention B40 or some entry level M40.
Goverment should buy car made by local brand (& Parts) only. Why a always traffic jam city need a Camry?
If the government did do their job. No comment
Still within a reasonable year of car age, so why waste money on buying a new car instead of helping the people in many aspects. We need to change the government if this repeat occurrence happens every 6 years. For others, that support this government should be neutral in these aspects because it involves people’s money, where many people still struggle on the main island and mainland.
Seriously! Malaysia don’t have a local brand to support is it? Malaysia brand don’t have a segment D car is it?
X70 not sufficient? X90 cannot use meh? e-mas 7?
even petrol engine some more? not you guys are encouraging the people buying EV and all but then you guys bought ICE Camry.
If bought the most expansive X90 can save RM1 Million ooo, then wonder why the government having more debt.
All subsidies are going to be cut, increase tax everywhere, but then they spent like crazy
13th consecutive year budget deficit government still spend taxpayers money like they deserve the good life while ordinary Penangite suffer traffic jam, stagnant pay, run down infrastructure, etc.
https://paultan.org/2023/12/28/terengganu-new-mazda-suvs/
Complaint pula other state government bought new cars, in 2023 Terengganu state government bought bunch of new Mazda SUVsjuga.