Chery Tiggo 7 Sport – Jaecoo J7 with Evoque face

If you’re one of those who deem the Jaecoo J7 a Range Rover-lookalike, this is on a whole new level. How Evoque is that? Hexagonal mesh grille, inverted U-shaped lower intake and vertical bumper cut-outs (here they hold headlamps; they’re intakes on the British car) with a central spar.

This is the RMB87,900 (RM52k) Chery Tiggo 7 Sport, which we actually showed you last year. This is actually a Jaecoo J7 underneath; it’s got nothing to do with the Chery Tiggo 7 we know.

Except it’s got more streamlined door mirrors and a new engine choice – a 156 PS/230 Nm 1.5 litre turbo unit that’s connected to a six-speed wet DCT. This is a lesser powertrain than the existing 197 PS/290 Nm 1.6T + 7DCT (which Malaysia’s J7 uses) that continues to be offered in China. The alloys are 18s; one inch down from the Jaecoo J7’s.

The side and tail are pure J7, as is the interior, save for a few changes – Chery-badged steering wheel (obviously), split-opening armrest box and the gear lever is now smack dab in the middle of the centre console (as opposed to closer to the driver), with buttons on either side. Because of that, the cupholders which were along the length of the gear lever have had to be rotated 90 degrees and moved to below the gear lever.

New trim materials and colours too, from what we can see. According to Car News China, which also posted these images, new features include driver seat ventilation and heating, front passenger seat heating, vanity mirror lights, a 540-degree camera and auto climate control. Although the instrument panel remains a 10.25-inch affair, CNC says the centre touch-screen is a 13.2-inch unit, which is smaller than our Jaecoo J7’s 14.8, though it looks the same size in the pictures.

Goodies such as auto high beam, panoramic sunroof, ventilated front passenger seat, dashcam, 50W wireless phone charging, curtain airbags, power tailgate with motion sensor and ADAS including AEB and ACC are reserved for the top variant.

2026 Chery Tiggo 7 Plus

It’s clear that the Tiggo 7 Sport is positioned as a more affordable, youth-targeted offering. For the more mature family man or woman, Chery has also launched the RMB91,900 (RM54k) Tiggo 7 Plus. This is closer to the Tiggo 7 we know, although it’s based on the 2025 facelift (the PHEV version of which turned up at the Malaysia Autoshow 2025).

The powertrain is a 1.5T + nine-virtual ratio CVT combo, and key features include a 24.6-inch dual-screen cockpit, Lion 5.0 infotainment system, and a choice of black or brown interiors. Powered and ventilated passenger seating, a power tailgate, a panoramic sunroof and curtain airbags are top-variant exclusives.

2026 Chery Tiggo 7 Sport

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Kononnya mainland no longer ripoff other people’s design.

What they really do is make copying a new normal and low resale value a new normal because they are powerless in these 2 aspects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 96
    • Vitagen on Jun 18, 2025 at 3:03 pm

But in the end, but LR also produces by chery nowadays, even JLR jv with Chery, if you do research more

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 25
      • If you learn how business works outside mainland, you will know that JV doesn’t give you the right to copy other people’s design and sell it under your own brand name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
    • If you don’t like it, then you don’t buy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 25
    • Boh suan on Jun 20, 2025 at 7:17 am

In 80-90’s ,mitsubishi , toyota , Nissan and hyundai do copy Europe cars design, did anyone complaint?

• poor man’s range rover. hopefully your family, friends and neighbors don’t drive a real range rover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 85
  • stick on Jun 18, 2025 at 1:21 pm

this kind of junk should be banned altogether

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 48
  • Nenny on Jun 18, 2025 at 1:46 pm

Like a Landrover

This can deliver daily economical confident, fun, and lifestyle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 21
  • Waeee on Jun 18, 2025 at 2:06 pm

No matter how clever one spends on a Jaecoo, in the end still a Chery also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 38
  • Celup King on Jun 18, 2025 at 2:57 pm

Previously copycats like Landwind kena screwed for sub blatant copying. Now buyers dont mind such copycats and as long as the price is cheap. What happen to Msian buyers now accepting these laoya copycat brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 45
  • Cool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 14
  • kilimanjaro on Jun 18, 2025 at 3:09 pm

What!? This is the RMB87,900 (RM52k) Chery Tiggo 7 Sport

• Momos on Jun 18, 2025 at 9:43 pm

LOL… You won’t see that price in M’sia, if it does, I won’t mind to get one and try it out…

• lime barbie on Jun 19, 2025 at 9:06 am

Too bad china is left hand drive else straight import to malaysia sell rm90k sapu all dy.

• albag on Jun 19, 2025 at 9:27 am

got demand got supply mah.. copy pasta onot as long as wallet friendly, conlanfirm still got ppl buy and love

• Wiliamton Soo Ah Tak at SunPower Nilai on Jun 19, 2025 at 5:12 pm

Apa lanchow kereta ini saya bawa Range Rover Ori.