Bermaz Motor has begun accepting bookings for the Mazda 3 1.5L High Plus, which will be offered in both sedan and hatchback (or Liftback) body styles, both estimated at RM119,620 on-the-road without insurance. This marks the return of a 1.5L option, which was dropped when the Mazda 3 got updated back in October 2023.
As the name suggests, the 1.5L High Plus is a step above the previous 1.5L Mid, although we’re not getting a full spec sheet for now. Referring to postings by local dealers, deliveries of the new variant are expected to commence in September. It is claimed to come with 18-inch alloy wheels, LED signature lighting, front and rear parking sensors, rain-sensing wipers as well as keyless entry and start (with walk-away auto lock).
Inside, there is a seven-inch instrument cluster display, paddle shifters, dual-zone climate control (with rear vents), a powered driver’s seat (with memory function), leather seat upholstery, a 10.25-inch infotainment display, wireless Apple CarPlay (and presumably wired Android Auto) support, eight-speakers and a wireless charging pad. Other mentionable features include a reverse camera, seven airbags and G-Vectoring Control Plus (GVC Plus).
A full ADAS suite is also welcomed – the previous 1.5 Mid had none – and includes features such as steering-responsive headlamps (AFS), auto high beam (HBC), blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, lane departure warning, lane keep assist, driver attention alert, front and rear autonomous emergency braking (Smart Brake Support), Mazda Radar Cruise Control (MRCC) and Cruising & Traffic Support (CTS).
Under the bonnet, the 1.5L High Plus carries over the 1.5L Mid’s Skyactiv-G 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated inline-four petrol engine making 118 hp and 153 Nm of torque. Also familiar is the Skyactiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission that sends drive to the front wheels.
The October 2023 update brought with it a number of notable improvements to non-Ignite Edition variants, including USB-C ports instead of USB-A, the aforementioned 10.25-inch infotainment display, wireless charging pad, wireless Apple CarPlay support, (MRCC) with stop and go function as well as CTS.
If the spec sheet local dealers are advertising is true, the 1.5L High Plus seems to be a good deal if you’re in the market for a Mazda 3 – fully-imported (CBU) from Japan – and want the High Plus’ features, but can make do without the 2.0 litre NA four-pot petrol engine with 162 hp and 213 Nm.
The most affordable 2.0L variant of the Mazda 3 currently available is the 2.0L High, which is only offered as a sedan priced at RM156,059. As such, the 1.5L High Plus is RM36,439 cheaper and gets more kit than the 2.0L High, with the only (if you care) downside being the smaller-displacement engine.
The 1.5L High Plus looks to be comparable, in terms of equipment, to the 2.0L High Plus, which is also available in two body styles. The latter retails for RM166,059, which is RM46,439 more than the 1.5L High Plus, but again, it gets the 2.0 litre engine. Also worth pointing out the estimated price is less than the 1.5 Mid, which was launched way back in July 2019 at RM139,620.
As with most Mazda models, the 1.5L High Plus comes with a five-year, 100,000-km warranty and free maintenance package. Also included is Activ-e window tint, and buyers will get to choose from seven colours: Machine Grey, Soul Red Crystal. Polymetal Grey, Deep Crystal Blue, Snowflake White Pearl, Jet Black and Platinum Quartz.
We’ll have more information when the 1.5L High Plus is officially launched. For now, you can register your interest and share your thoughts on whether the new variant is worth it in the comments below.
Too bad no skyactiv g 1.8L.
continue to take advantage as reputable brand, and not upgrading the product, this is the formula to failure
Waiting for price & spec list, intrigued for this new spec
What about 2.0L pricing? Any revision?
Hahaha! 118Hp? Proton S70 could easily smoke this dinosaur (heavy and underpowered). Skip la boss … not worth your time considering them .
S70 also smoked City and Vios but how was the sales?
S70 3 cyclinder engine .. ya.. cry after few years.. shake like shit..
Enjin pun minum minyak mcm minum haram
i guess this is Bermaz realizing people want a great overall packaging with attractive prices for their cars. not that i care too much for the 1.5L engine on this car (fairly underpowered) but i know most don’t care for going vroom vroom anyway/will do aftermarket mods post purchase but features like the full adas isn’t something people can necessarily add on later. hope they reduce pricing for the remainder of their offerings because at this point only this and the yet to be launched CX-60 is actually worth it lol.
The cx-3 should be below RM100k and need the updated infotainment and adas like the Japanese get
We always talk about should be, if it’s less than 100k we will say it should be below 50k. Even then would you buy it?
Outdated car..nowonder so less on the road
So as a 2.0 high plus owner am I an idiot? Even BMW Malaysia came to their senses to differentiate the 320i from the 330i in the recent update. What’s the point paying 160k plus for a car when a variant costs a staggering RM46k less looks exactly the same inside out? If the 1.5 launches at this RM119k as a Mazda 3 2.0 High Plus owner this will be my last Mazda regardless how good it is
Sorry for your case, sadly your 46K difference is just purely on the 2.0 NA Engine and the 1.5 NA Engine, if I were you, definitely this is my last Mazda, there are other more attractive choices out there.
No. You are not an idoit. It would not affect the value of your 2.0L and most people who bought Mazda 3 doesnt care about the resales value. If you say you are an ediot then the biggest ediot ia those who bought the 1.5 L high for 139k when it first launch.
So how’s the new pricing structure gonna be for the remaining 2.0L models?
That’s some good pricing considering it’s CBU from Japan. Guess they must be feeling the pain coming from the Chinese.
Maybe CKD will be RM99k?
Previously, Mazda3 1.6L RM 99k in 2011
https://paultan.org/2011/03/02/mazda3-ckd-launched-starts-from-rm99k-for-1-6-sedan/
2011 mcdonald how much? talk so much about old days price
glorified city with civic price
Mazda, you’re DONE!!! Obsolete rubbish against China car XD!!
It’s time to change my car, please take my money…
I suggest you test drive it before you make a judgment, it’s really a good car, even if it’s a 1.5 liter…
update: 1st batch of stock fully booked within 1 wks, sold out, need to wait for 2nd batch….
meaning Bermaz has been ripping us of real bad. They actually can sell at this price before but decided to rip customer first by selling 143k with kosong spec.. kesian yang beli 143k tu (Lampu DRL pon warna oren.. aiyakk).. Anyway, its good that they learnt their lesson and started to provide better features slashed price. Thanks to all chinese cars for pressuring japs brand in Malaysia. at 118k price it is really a good value and so worth it to buy. This will sell like hotcakes here.
Absolutely true, consumers win –
Good to know brands that compete for a market like ours
I like this fuel economy compact Sedan,
1500cc adaptive cruise control autopilot
12s to 100km/h is enough too
1.5 with 118hp? What a joke for a c segment weight car. A min of 1.6 or 1.8 is needed.
who is chasing u?
It’s time to change my car. I think 1.5 litre is fine with me.
its not cheap but remember honda siti hybrid is also 120k nowadays
Toyota corolla should takes same approach – reducing the price…
1.5cc NA for rm120k??? Bye2 mazda..Go Chinaaaa!!!
disappointment for Vroom2 guys…
Slowest car among sedan like altis & civic..meh
ok Mazda 3 updated but no news on the BT-50?
Bro, at this point you’re not buying horsepower, you’re buying good taste, nice stitching, and the illusion of premium.
“Bermaz, which mainly assembles Mazda and Kia vehicles, attributed the steep drop in profit largely to China-made vehicles flooding into the local market.
“The continuous influx of Chinese vehicles had also impacted the sales of other marques in the country,” it said in a bourse filing yesterday.”
They do know what features and specs available to Malaysians at that price, yet they bring this specced & featured car
clowny malaysia always cant understand the quality of CBU direct import JAPAN comparing to CKD local made.. everyday yapping about cheaper price to be CKD and lousy quality
Mazda 6 2.0 will some updated spec and roughly same price CBU following this Mazda 3 way would be great..
looks like it is selling like hot cakes, now drop the price for CX-30 and CX-5 also