We’ve been awaiting the arrival of the fourth-generation X-Trail ever since its North American counterpart, the Rogue, was revealed way back in 2020. And while Malaysians will have to wait a while more, the C-segment SUV has finally been launched in Indonesia at the ongoing Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS), marking the first time it’s being sold in ASEAN outside of Singapore.
Available solely as an e-Power hybrid with e-4orce all-wheel drive, the seven-seater X-Trail looks to be fully-imported in Japan because it’s not cheap, priced at 795 million rupiah (RM205,300). That makes it slightly more expensive than the CR-V, which starts at 759 million rupiah (RM196,000), but significantly cheaper than the RS e:HEV hybrid version, which costs a whopping 825.8 million rupiah (RM213,300).
That money buys you dual electric motors – the front one makes 204 PS (150 kW) and 330 Nm of torque, the rear churning out 136 PS (100 kW) and 195 Nm. This being an e-Power vehicle, of course, both are juiced by a petrol engine, in this case a 1.5 litre KR15DDT turbocharged three-cylinder with VC-Turbo variable compression. The mill functions solely as a generator to charge the 1.8 kWh battery, with zero mechanical connection to the wheels, and you also get e-Pedal one-pedal driving.
As we’ve seen years before, the X-Trail sports a fairly modern design with dual-tier headlights, a large V-motion grille, prominent front and rear haunches, a kinked D-pillar, reverse-direction C-shaped taillight graphics and optional contrasting black roof.
Inside, there’s a clean horizontal dashboard with a tall centre console, a low pebble-like gear selector, a split-opening armrest and twin 12.3-inch displays for the instrumentation and infotainment. A rotary selector on the centre console lets users choose between Auto, Eco, Sport, Off-road and Snow drive modes. The boot measures 485 litres with the third-row seats folded.
The single variant comes fully equipped with full-LED lighting, 19-inch five-spoke two-tone alloy wheels, triple-zone auto air con, ten-way power-adjustable front seats, leather upholstery, a panoramic sunroof, a 10.8-inch head-up display, wireless Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, a 15-watt Qi wireless charger, a 360-degree camera system with Moving Object Detection (MOD) and a nine-speaker Bose sound system.
Driver assists include autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, a driver attention monitor and auto high beam.
With the X-Trail finally making its way to other Southeast Asian markets, might we see it arriving in Malaysia next? Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) already previewed the car way back at the Kuala Lumpur International Mobility Show (KLIMS) in December, so here’s hoping we see some movement soon.
Nissan deadend brand waiting for sale to China. Hahaha
with the current distributor ? we’d be lucky to see this even after it’s been given a facelift. perhaps have to wait for the next gen model to launch baru this one launches here kot lol
Tak usah berangan angan. TC lembab macam siput, tunggu generasi keenam keluar, baru generasi keempat masuk Malaysia.
Hmm, what kind of pricing is this?? 205k for an x trail? Prepare to be a sales flop .
For that price i could have bought 2 mid spec proton x50, but then again many nissan supporters here.
I would take a Tiggo 7 PHEV rather than this