Despite the police stating that driving against traffic is an offence that can result in harsh penalties, there are still those that do it, willingly in this case. This is evident in a recent video posted by user @daydayeric on TikTok, which shows multiple cars going against the flow of traffic, supposedly on a road in a residential area of Mahkota Cheras.
In the video, which was since gone viral, the TikTok user repeatedly honks at the errant drivers while refusing to budge, forcing them move out of his way or backing up to make space. Another video posted months earlier in May showed the same thing occurring on the same stretch of road.
According to some netizens replying to the video, many of the cars drove against traffic as a shortcut to drop off their children at a nearby international school. Others applauded the TikTok user’s constant (and frustrated) honking as a response to the situation that apparently occurs frequently.
Driving against traffic is an offence that can have action taken against the driver or rider found guilty under Section 42 (1) of the Road Transport Act (Amendment) 2020 for reckless and dangerous driving. Those convicted can face imprisonment for a term of not more than five years and a fine of not less than RM5,000 and not more than RM15,000. A person convicted under this section shall also be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving license for a period of five years from the date of conviction.
@daydayeric Korang suruh hon kan? HARI NI AKU BUAT! 😤🔊 #LawanArusLagi #HonChallenge #MalaysiaRoad #DashcamMY #AkuDahHon #KeretaGila ♬ original sound – daydayeric
Very good, hope they penalize those selfish idiots. Never in my mind: “If the road is congested, I try to drive against the traffic”
Permission to burn their cars
Road planning and building developments are so poor.
driver is the idiot… why other people can queue , these few mfker cannot queue? You damage your brain when you landed on earth?
The most satisfying video ever as the saying goes evil thrives when good people do nothing
I always wondering why Makhota Cheras house price is cheap like 450k for 20×65 double storey. Until a day I visited there during noon time non peak hour and I felt it. The less than 2km distance from traffic light it took more than 20 min. Everyone was stuck because of the traffic light. I heard some stay there saying in morning it may took 45 min just to get thru the traffic light. That’s why many cars can’t stand with it and go against the traffic by cross to opposite lane. It is wrong definitely and dangerous.
This include motorcycles too. Please saman RM5000 for those break red traffic lights
Good! Don’t give face to those who lawan arus. These days there are way too many dumbos breaking the laws on the road. Where is JPJ and PDRM, stop minum kopi and do your work!
When police never took action, the small snakes now are becoming dragon.
Reassign polis traffic outrider untuk actually enforce rules, instead of jaga politicians’ quality of life.
Inb4 ini semua salah bandaraya jalan sempit & long traffic light timing causing super long traffic jam on that junction (can see the line of cars these idiots tried to potong).
Also usually such congested area will have polis trafik to manage the traffic flow but where is the polis officers. Ini pun salah PDRM, so they should give 70% diskaun if saman layang comes.
sungai long area used to be a livable place a very long long time ago. then became inhabitable when mahkota cheras was built. now they are ‘sheet-hold’ places along with c180 balakong. the new people moving there are ‘simply lovely’.
PDRM please dont go after car only, motorcyclist always lawan arus, tak kena saman pun? especially short cut turn ramp dari highway…
Can JPJ app used for reporting these drivers and motorcyclists?
Many young parents drive like gangster in school area. And their child after grow up? I saw many of them driver BETTER than their parents. Brovo! Best education system.
its a common thing for motorbike. Every day and every where you can see