A Malaysian motorcyclist lamenting his bad luck at receiving a JPJ (Road Transport Department) summons was a little taken aback to find out his 155 cc motorcycle was classed as having an engine capacity above 250 cc. Social media user Afiq Danial posted copies of his summons for not having a mud flap on his motorcycle, as well as a “Forbidden to Use” notice from JPJ.
The summons, dated October 12, states Afiq was found riding his motorcycle without a mud flap at the Penang Bridge toll plaza motorcycle lane. Afiq was found to have broken the law under Section K 31 of the Malaysia Road Traffic Rules 1959, with a mandatory appearance at the Magistrate’s Court scheduled.
Moreover, a notice was also issued forbidding use of the motorcycle until all defects are rectified, taking effect from 8.00 a.m. on October 22. What is perplexing to Afiq is the classification of his motorcycle as being above 250 cc in capacity, as detailed on the summons.
Readers may already know this, but the Yamaha R15M is a single-cylinder motorcycle with a 155 c displacement. Considering the issue at hand here, could any paultan.org reader(s) with legal qualifications or experience care to chime in if such a summons, with incorrect vehicle details, be valid?

aniq or afiq?
> 250cc means up to 250cc
250cc > means more than 250cc.
the Simmons is correct
please go back to school
if less, it should be (MOTOSIKAL =<250CC). it is in JPJ list of compoundable offenses.
don't simple create your own code.
Dear Sir,
What I learned in school a long, long time ago was the symbol means is greater than (or is more than). Hence, 250 means more than 250.
Law enforcer failed mathematics in his primary school.
U surly meant arithmetic… Mathematics is rocket science for these half literate JPJ guys
azzrie, sekolah mana ko pergi? 155 bukan atas 250. Summons pun Salah eja. bengap.
Sekali baca dah macam cerdik dah azzrie ni. Sekali baca je la
Wrong.
> 250cc means greater than 250cc.
< 250cc means less than 250cc.
Simmons itu biasanya nama orang. Manakala summons bermaksud surat saman.
Invalid since the code (KEN50) is specific for 250cc and above bike. I once got stop by JPJ and the newbie officer couldn’t even tell B2 full lesen until her senior pointed it out.
Mudflaps? What are we, farmers?
You deserve only to because farmer due to your ignorance. Mud flaps are fixed at the rear of the bike to prevent the sand and debris from being propelled towards other road users. This is simple common sense.
Is there a law to state that a bike must have a mud flaps
Exactly .jpj took right move here. Even im the one of victim
Hmm, I still kena muds,pasir,etc from bikes with mudflaps on though….
Setuju perlu ada mud flap. Kita punya ikut peraturan dia ingat ikut dia nak cabut. Ada sekali tu batu dari tayar motor takde mud flap kena visor helmet nasib baik ada visor kalau tak entah apa jadi.
The bike shop sabo him and he never check
JPJ enforcer did not know things? ( tak kenal barang )
: B2 motosikal tidak melebihi 250cc. ,pastikanbanda lessen Salah B2
Eventually there is no RTA guideline on motorcycle mudflaps that was accesible to the public and presume that the rider should proceed into the court and fight for his rights as there is no guideline as per summons. Can collect extra money from gov for punitive damages as well.
I think it’s ridiculously lame that motorcycle manufacturers are trending to making bikes like that… The rim size tire size, chassis is really a 600 class. You can park it next to a 600 cylinder and it would look practically the same. But they put a spindly 155 engine in it. And then it’s equally really lame that people look at that and maybe don’t even ask what size the engine is and buy it anyways. Knowing that little about motorcycles. So really… We could care less about a story like this
it really not duh, r15 is small
What lamer is acting like you know about bikes… the R15 rim size and recommended tire size is small compared to any 600cc class bikes (duhh). Chassis is also small since it’s a 150cc bike (duh), park it next to any 600cc and you’ll notice it’s smaller. Also there’s no 600 cylinder you mean 4 cylinder? Talk about knowing about bikes and rlly asking what size engine?? You gonna try it on like clothes? Next time a 5 mins google search can save some ignorance…
600 cylinder, really ahh? You have just exposed yourself buddy.
Jpj suit me for not having a di DGL driving licence for a dumped truck. but i was using motorcycle that day. that was not a mistake just ther way.
The offense is sebenarnya “Tunjuk No. Plat terlalu tinggi”. Hence no mudflap. No mudflap since when become an offense? Should reword and avoid confusion. I think it’s like that.
Perhaps the officer simply assumed superbike looking must be more than 150cc vehicle.
removing the mud flap can increase how many horsepower? hahaha sudah kena saman nk bising pulak
Removing mudflap will increase performance & hp by 23.33%
want more horsepower, just lekat sticker VR46
They are not trained for that job .
I have not riden a bike for many years. I check with Gemini. It seems R15 does not come with a rear mud flap. So it is owner’s resposibility to install one. I will surely get a ticket for this mistake too. Very unfortunate for the owner
That’s a rear fender. Removing it is actually an offence.
The bike,R15, is 155cc. The original design does not have rear mud flaps!
I ride frequently on highways. I have seen many bikes with engines larger then 250cc WITHOUT rear mudflaps.
I ride a CB500X… also does not have read mud flaps
Afiq Danial should sue JPJ for causing duress and distress to him!!