We normally concern ourselves with land transport here at paultan.org, but this is pretty novel – according to various reports including the Sarawak Tribune, Grab Malaysia has submitted a Grab Sampan Proof of Concept proposal to Sarawak’s transport ministry, and the ministry will study it together with the Sarawak Rivers Board (SRB).
“This initiative aims to strengthen first- and last-mile connectivity, improve the safety and reliability of river transport services, and promote heritage and tourism mobility along the Kuching Waterfront corridor,” Sarawak transport minister Datuk Seri Lee Kim Shin said in a speech yesterday at the Sarawak Rivers Day Conference 2025, adding that a six-month pilot would be implemented, with eight designated pick-up and drop-off points.
“This initiative exemplifies how innovation and digitalisation can rejuvenate traditional river transport, creating modern, sustainable and inclusive mobility solutions for the people of Sarawak,” he added.
“In Kuching, we are piloting the Grab Electric Sampan Proof of Concept, a modern reinterpretation of our iconic river transport,” said premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg, whose speech was read by his deputy Datuk Amar Dr Sim Kui Hian at the same event, according to the Borneo Post
“This initiative embraces innovation while honouring tradition using electric propulsion and digital platforms to enhance first- and last-mile connectivity along the Sarawak River,” he said, adding that the electric sampans would be able to be booked digitally and paid for cashlessly.

I thought Bezza is already the Grab Sampan. Oh wait, you mean this is Sampan for rivers? My bad, got confused with Sampan for roads Bezza.
can grab offer ladders and ropes also, to climb trees to get good internet mobile signal
how about grab can offer boat service to SG4 states which are flood prone
need to pay river toll