Seriously, when will we be truly rid of the nationwide problem that is fancy number plates? We’ve got fake ones, funny-looking ones, ones that have been creatively shaped or positioned to spell something out, and now there’s apparently a new ‘in’ thing – microscopic number plates, Harian Metro reports.
Imaginatively referred to in the story as ‘germ’ (kuman)-sized number plates, road transport department (JPJ) enforcement director Datuk Muhammad Kifli Ma Hassan says these are becoming a trend, especially amongst young bikers, and can be subject to stricter action under Section 108 of the Road Transport Act (APJ) 1987.
“JPJ is also taking action against the use of fake, fancy and extreme registration numbers that are misleading under Section 108 of the APJ 1987. This case will be taken to court and strict action will continue to be taken, the minimum penalty imposed is a fine of RM5,000 and can reach up to RM10,000,” he said yesterday.
A number of motorcycles with fancy number plates were detained in the operation. Speaking to Harian Metro, several bikers admitted that they installed tiny number plates just for fun and were not aware of the fines awaiting them.
“We have received feedback from the public prosecutor and obtained permission to take action under Section 108 of the APJ 1987. So I warn all parties and based on the case that was charged in the Kajang Court last week for these extreme fancy number (plates), fines have been imposed. This is a new action that we are taking because we have found that lately many motorcycles and cars are using extreme numbers to the point of confusing the enforcement agencies,” he said.
Check out the screenshots from JPJ’s enforcement HQ TikTok – bike number plates are already small to begin with, but you’d really need a magnifying glass for some of these! These are germs we really don’t want spreading.

Simple solution. Any vehicle with non-compliant number plates should be declared as possessing fake registration documents with the intent to deceive the authorities. That vehicle should be seized and scrapped with no avenue for appeal. As long as the authorities have no balls to do such drastic measures, this stupidity will never end.
Their brains are also microscopic too.
totally suitable for germs on our public roads
Lol..matrempit smua ni ingat nombor plat tu utk fashion
Regulate la accessories shops. As long as they can sell these tiny plates, loud exhausts, stupid bright lights, our road will only get worse.
Stupid trend loved by Mat Rempit with below room temperature IQ.
Only the authorities acted dunno this dunno that…We as road user, noticed alot of this..some even, don’t have the plate number mounted on the bike..
characters this small? maybe owner penis is as small as that….
Under Madani apa pon boleh. Just threaten not to vote him and he get scared then fast fast give 70% saman diskaun somemore.
A major problem in this country is we are unable to specify the root cause of these issues in public
it’s the typical b40 culture of a very specific race (this is statistics, not racism). where they think behaving like chimpanzees equals cool and points. But to the rest of the world, they are simply society’s trash
these vehicles all of a certain “entitled species
expensive sports cars…another group of entitled species..
In Malaysia there is always 2 systems..
Just look at all those who said 1MDB is really donated money… no action on all of them
The rich can afford a 1 juta rm syiok number plate.
So,the not so affluent come out with microscopic number plates.Dont blame them,alto it is against the law.
So,best of all..ERADICATE and put a stop to all special number plates..they are an eyesore.
JPJ..u want to raise funds..there r other ways.
Personally,I dont give a damn…in fact special number plates distract,and a horrible eyesore.
JPJ can be the sole issuer of number plates right. Nothing to stop the government from doing that since it is entirely within their purview. But nooooo…must jaga accessory shop tauke…
Anti-establishment sentiment is strong among rebellious youths
It was PMX and PH that relied on this anti establish youth to rise up to power. Now they are the establishment in Govt they should face the brunt of their creation. That is why people shouldn’t vote them to power.
If PM9 had been reelected, he would have made these rebellious youths happy by building a racing circuit for them in each state at the taxpayer’s expense of RM20 million a year, and this ‘kuman’ number plate phenomenon would have been prevented, saving the nation from certain doom…
as if anti-estalishment is only exclusive to the youth? in fact all malaysians including senior citizens were anti-establishment back then because of the major corruption from 1mdb and your beloved MO1 so that is what propelled PH into power.
Can’t blame them, it matches their brain size
Mak bapak setan. Anak pun jadi setan
Best way is to make all number plates government issued only. No confusion no arguements. We have many inmates in jails. Can pass the job to them to earn some income while incarcerated.
Well, It’s just a car plate. If you want, you can customize it yourself.
Just need a printer and stickers. How hard?
JPJ complaint vehicle alphanumeric plate should be certified and issued via motor-insurance company on annual renewal basis
IQ78
Have reported countless times to JPJ on these bikes, not enough data or picture not clear enough to take action.
Location given clearly.
Think outside the box la, focus on parking areas or where they live.
B40 areas plenty ma.
are we the only country without a standardize license plate?
Just saman and sita. At this point its already nonsense!
This is becoz their brains are as small as those plate numbers
These Mat Rempits no money to buy nice number plates. All they can afford is to take whatever number that the motorcycle shop gives them. If they can afford to pay for a nice number, i’m sure they are proud to flaunt it.