The cost of driving into Singapore is set to increase from next year, as the Singapore Land Transport Authority (LTA) has announced increased Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) and Goods Vehicle Permit (GVP) fees which will take effect from January 1, 2027, reported The Straits Times.
The Singapore LTA said that it reviews the fees periodically so that the cost of owning and using a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore is commensurate with that of a Singapore-registered vehicle, adding that the cost difference between Singapore-registered vehicles and foreign-registered ones has widened in recent years, “giving rise to the need to increase” the fees.
For foreign-registered cars and motorcycles entering Singapore, the VEP fee will be increased to S$50 (RM155) a day for cars, up from S$35 (RM108) day, and to S$7 (RM22) a day for motorcycles, up from S$4 (RM12) a day.
In addition to the higher prices, the 10 free days per year and free VEP hours on weekdays will also be removed, the Singapore LTA stated. From January 1, 2027, the new VEP rates will apply on all days, except on weekends and Singapore public holidays.
At present, those operating foreign-registered cars and motorcycles will get 10 free VEP days per calendar year, and are exempt from paying the VEP if they enter Singapore from 5pm and exit by 2am the next day, or when they enter from 12pm and exit by 2am the next day during the Singapore school holidays in June and December, according to The Straits Times.
For foreign-registered goods vehicles, the GVP fee will be increased from S$40 (RM124) to S$70 (RM217) per calendar month. Owners of foreign-registered goods vehicles may continue to purchase the GVP at the current rate of S$40 (RM124) before the revised fee takes effect in the new year, however GVPs with a validity period from the effective date of the revised fee will be charged S$70 (RM217) per calendar month, according to the LTA.
Meanwhile for electronic road pricing (ERP) in the city-state from January 1, 2027, foreign-registered vehicles without an OBU (on-board unit) must pay S$3 (RM9.30) for motorcycles and S$10 (RM31) for all other vehicles for every ERP operational day that the vehicle travels on Singapore roads.
The OBU is optional for most foreign-registered vehicles but mandatory for Malaysian taxis, which must have them for tracking and enforcement purposes in Singapore. Motorists can install the new ERP2 OBU in foreign-registered vehicles from April 1, priced at S$158.70 (RM492) until December 31, excluding installation which must be carried out in Singapore by authorised workshops and technicians.

They increase because we don’t let their people to pump out RON95 kot. Talk about pettiness.
malauysia can afford to donate millions to TalesPine and Zaga so we can also afford to subsidize foreign neighbours petrol right
What a heartless person, i’ll pray one day your house, assets and land will be taken over so that you will feel the suffering of those ppl. Then you know……
you know that already happened before right ? ww2 devastated china thats why many migrated to Asean. then in malaysia in the 50s we had the New Villages concentration camps, and after that limatigabelas happened.
How can that be? Did some Singaporean tell you this? Do you think these Singaporeans will be so unhappy of being forced to pump RON97 in Malaysia when RON95 in their own country costs more than twice per litre?
what do you mean “their people” ? malaysian citizen using NRIC to pump budi95, why u wana discriminate against our own people ?
all malaysian citizens who hold NRIC should be entitled to pump ron95 and entitled to equal rights and opportunity.
full stop.
its morally wrong for govt to discriminate based on each citizens car registration number plate, or ethnicity, etc.
Don’t buy sg car lo. Coe sgd 100k per car leh, kiamsiap man.
Any Malaysian who has PR in Singapore & can afford the extra high cost of owning & driving a Singapore registered car, should be able to easily afford to pump RON97 in Malaysia which is less than half the price per litre of RON95 in Singapore. If such a Malaysian wants to enjoy the BUDI95 benefit, he/she should then bring a Malaysian registered vehicle to the petrol station in Malaysia.
Do these people working in Sg pay income tax in Malaysia?
foreign white-collar expats work in malaysia, drive malaysian car, pay tax to lhdn.should they be entitled to budi95? think.
nice a.. less carpool to jam the causeway
How about SG cars filling Malaysian subsidies petrol?
those are using malaysian IC to get budi95 meaning the drivers are malaysian citizen.
abit too excessive? i fetch my elderly mom to visit her family there, at least give like 5 free vep days? malaysia should counter then.
weekend and public holiday still free. Enter after 12pm and
exit before 2am next day still free in school holiday.
In the old days, highways in singapore were ERP free. Only in town centre must pay. But today, ERP gantry is everywhere. Including crossing the causeway, which incidentally, really need to e replaced with a bridge.
Malaysia should reciprocate for foreign vehicles at least at southern checkpoints. Remember when Malaysia introduced the toll charges not so long ago, Singapore said they will match Malaysian side. Come on Kementerian Pengangkutan, do the same! Then maybe Singapore will rethink this insensible hike.
if Malaysian gomen got any principle, backbone or even dignitty left, we should have imposed RECIPROCAL CHARGES to SG for charging us; like when we started charging VEP to SG, SG even increased the VEP charges for MY on top of the previous charges. but as usual, our gomen has no backbone, a pushover & takde maruah – other countries imposed so much on Malaysian (high VISA fees, ridiculous entry requirements etc), but our madanon just bend over like a good doggy & accepted all like a good slave with no principle nor dignity left.
Malaysians expect foreigners, including Singaporeans, to follow Malaysian rules & regulations when visiting Malaysia, but when Singaporeans expect Malaysians & other foreign citizens to follow Singaporean rules & regulations when visiting Singapore, there are Malaysians who complain a lot & expect the Malaysian government to do something about it when it currently has no jurisdiction in Singapore. Nobody is forcing all Malaysians to visit Singapore, and therefore, if Singaporean rules & regulations are not agreeable, don’t bother to visit there at all.
the situation is not apples-to-apples comparable because malaysians visit singaopre to work, while singaporeans visit malaysia to enjoy vacation, thanks to SGD3.2 strong currency
It’s actually a matter of own choice whether want to work or go for holiday in another country, as long as willing to follow that country’s rules when being over there. Nobody force Malaysians to work in Singapore & nobody force Singaporeans to have holiday in Malaysia.
What a bunch of cheap fks. Don’t wanna pay? Don’t go to SG la you cunts. All you guys do is bitch and whine. Geez
Last time SGD100=MYR313
Today SGD100=MYR300
Next year gonna be SGD100=MYR250
That is the why lah
follow your forecast, SGD 1 will equal MYR 1 somewhere around year 2040, so this strong ringgit was thanks to whcih PM and which govt?
Heard the roads in SG are already packed because of the increased in COE numbers issued. Anyway, MY Gomen, please reciprocate and introduce similar fees’ increases, especially for SG registered busses.
The Malaysian gov will not increase VEP fee for entering JB. If that happens, the SG flow to JB will reduce, and the Johor economy will collapse. The Malaysian Gov is aware that Batam and Bintang islands are close by for Singaporeans to travel over the weekend.