According to a report by NST, the government has engaged Petronas and other oil companies to ensure Malaysia’s fuel supply remains sufficient for about a month.
This is to allow the government to sustain the current subsidy mechanism, which enables motorists to purchase RON 95 petrol at a subsidised price of RM1.99 per litre – the unsubsidised price is now at RM3.87 per litre pending today’s fuel price update.
Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said fuel pricing remains a key concern and must be managed based on facts and clarity. “Fuel prices is an issue dear to my heart. We have to deal with it carefully, guided by facts. That is why we decided on RON95. Following discussions with Petronas and other oil companies, we can contain the situation for the next month or so. The people should be the last to bear the burden,” he said.
While the price of subsidised RON 95 petrol is still kept at RM1.99 per litre, the government announced last week that the 300 litre monthly quota for RON 95 petrol under the Budi Madani RON 95 (Budi95) petrol subsidy programme will be temporarily reduced to 200 litres a month effective April 1.

Stop selling your IC details for cheap petrol. Subsidised RON95 must be freely available to all rakyat without hassle or quotas, even to those Malaysians who drive foreign registered car, and for foreigners who reside in Malaysia driving local car.
JPN already has your details to issue an IC in the 1st place. Of course, budak kecik like you don’t know this..
stupid gomen, just subsidise ev sale kau kau all problem solved.
one more ev in market = one less petrol buyer = one less person utilize budi95 = one less subsidy payout
Fossil fuels are still being used to generate electricity needed to recharge EVs. More EVs to recharge creates greater electricity demand & together with higher fossil fuel prices, leads to increases in electricity rates. Then, will the govt also need to subsidise electricity rates so that the cost of recharging EVs will remain cheaper than refilling the fuel tanks of ICE motor vehicles?
gomen can give Solar incentives
Most EV users recharge their batteries at home when they are asleep at night, the time when the sun is not shining in the sky for solar panels to work.
PMX, you know you could help the Rakyat tremendously if the Rakyat can buy EVs which are budget friendly and competitively priced compared to Bezza, Saga, Persona, Myvi and other ICE equivalents. Then those who are driving these kind of EV no need to reply on Budi95 compared to if they are driving Bezza, Saga, Person, Myvi. Then PMX tak payah pening on how to resolve the fuel issue and later GE16.
Oil supply volatility reinforces the demand to accelerate sustainable planning and reduce reliance on petrol.
Advancing electrification, energy efficiency, and alternative mobility aligns with Paris Agreement 2015, strengthening long‑term resilience, decarbonisation, and energy security.