The land public transport agency (APAD) has defended the enforcement action taken against an express bus operator that recently ceased services in Kuala Lumpur, stating that the company had been given nearly five months to relocate to a licensed terminal but had failed to comply.
As reported by the New Straits Times, the agency said the operator had been granted sufficient time to move its operations from unlicensed pick-up and drop-off points to approved terminals and transport hubs in the city, but remained unwilling to do so despite repeated opportunities.
While the operator was not named by the agency, it is known that the matter revolves around Aeroline. The company had on May 30 officially announced its exit from Kuala Lumpur, citing that the directive to use the location alternatives that were presented had placed it in an impossible position for its Kuala Lumpur passengers.
The issue began last year when the company was instructed to stop using unlicensed locations and shift operations to licensed facilities. A temporary enforcement moratorium was later granted after Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre ended its arrangement with the company in January following the site’s acquisition for redevelopment.
Previous reports indicated that Aeroline had then temporarily shifted operations to Tun Razak Exchange (TRX), but a directive issued on May 13 restricted services to three approved locations, these being 1 Utama, Lalaport and IOI City Mall Putrajaya. The company had said Lalaport, the only approved city-centre location, imposed commercial charges that would force fare increases.
Despite sufficient time for compliance, the company remained unwilling to relocate to any licensed terminal or transport hub, the agency said. The agency added that TRX had never been approved as a licensed terminal or transport hub, and no application had been submitted by its management. It added that the location did not automatically become an approved terminal simply by virtue of prolonged use.
APAD said an enforcement directive was issued last month (May 19) after the operator failed to take corrective action. It added that the enforcement policy, which applied to all express bus operators, was aimed at improving passenger safety, easing congestion and ensuring compliance with regulations. Aside from the three above sites, Terminal Bersepadu Selatan and Terminal Bersepadu Gombak are also approved locations.

The rakyat has given you 4 years to comply not to do funny things like no physical road tax and license, aerotrain outage, LRT outage, mydigital. Patience is running thin.
You parents have given you don’t know how many years to make something oit of your life, yet you are sitting here typing useless comments..
If only they put this much effort into tracking and stopping bus drivers with 29 summonses
This thief company did not return my unused credits for tickets I bought before pandemic, after that I came back to Malaysia for good no need to go back to SG anymore but these thugs wont refund my unused credits. Who should I approach to take this thief to task?
Consumer Claims Tribunal
Lodge a complaint via SISPAA
Dulu ada sahabat merata, boleh la abam. Sekarang sahabat dah bersara, dah lari luar negara, dah jadi tikus… maka semua pun tamat.
Sekali air bah, sekali pantai berubah kata pepatah nya.
eliminate the competition under disguise? or like what some said…hati dah ubah…tarak kasih sayang lagi…makan sendiri…or rather…bungkus la